We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino

Traveler (4262)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (1630)

About

#111 of 268 hotels in Las Vegas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. In the heart of downtown, we offer something for everyone including the most popular slots and table games, race and sports book, poker room, world-class dining, nightly entertainment, exhilarating nightlife and a truly must-see pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Car hire
Valet parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Hot tub
Sauna
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:No Resort Fee Summer
Hotel deals
12,753Reviews
414Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,342
  • 4,601
  • 1,991
  • 1,025
  • 795
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The rooms are a little dated but everything worked, they were clean and the hotel has everything you need if you don’t want to go out and melt in the July Vegas heat. You can step right onto Fremont Street from the casino. The pool was popular and if you are into sharks, they have a tank of them. It’s a short drive to everything really. Parking is easy, we stayed in Carson Tower, so very convenient to the garage.
Read more
We were in an upgraded room in the rush tower. We checked in Thursday 7/11 to our non smoking room. Had to have them come spray our room because it smelled like smoke so bad. The spray did not help. Saturday morning I went to the front desk to ask why my room was never cleaned Friday, no good answer but was told they would send someone up. We had a friend decide to fly in last minute so we upgraded to a one bedroom Saturday afternoon, this was a nice room. When we checked out Monday morning no one ever came to clean this room either. At check out I asked if you need to request your room gets cleaned and I was told no it should be done. Two rooms and not once were they cleaned (they did remove our resort fee because of this). I booked a cabana over a month in advance since it was our 18 year anniversary. The room I booked included a 25% coupon which is part of the reason I booked that room. When I called to book the cabana, I asked how to use the coupon and the girl told me I would get the coupon at check in and just present it the day of the cabana. This did not go as planned. I was told the coupon was not good on Saturdays even though the actual coupon said valid 7/11 to 7/15. Nothing about exclusion on the 13th. I had to leave the pool area to find a manager inside the hotel which took almost 45 minutes away from my time at the pool to get them to honor the coupon. When I booked my cabana I was told the price was roughly $315 (I remember thinking $250 with the discount is a good deal so I booked). What a joke, when I went to pay I was told after the coupon the price was over $300 and that the price for the cabana was $445 minus the coupon. I told her that is not what I was quoted when booking and her answer was there are no notes about the price and this is what the cabana cost. What a shame, by this time it was to late to back out of the cabana. When in the pool we ordered mojitos, we should have asked how much. $26 per drink seemed a bit excessive.
Read more
Yes, I have read all the low star reviews and I was very leery of our stay here. We didn’t choose this hotel, it was chosen for us any a group of friends. But let me say this...this hotel was not as bad as others make it seem. This was my first stay in Las Vegas and I am somewhat of a hotel “snob”. I also am pretty honest about these things, because I appreciate others being honest also. But, I am also a realist. So, here is my (long) review of this hotel. Check-in—we had a very friendly clerk and check in was quick and efficient. This is a big hotel and they do not have on line registration so there was a wait, but nothing too painful. We also had to go back to the front desk (we left our credit card on file at a restaurant and had to cancel it) and the clerk who helped us was very friendly and took care of us quickly. We did not encounter many employees, but the ones we did were very friendly. We are pretty easy going though. Room—I was afraid the room would smell icky (I hate bad odors) because of other reviews and the fact it is a casino also. It smelled clean and fresh. We stayed in the older tower (Carson?) on the 17th floor. It was a non smoking floor (which we requested). The linens were fresh and the bathroom clean. We had no plumbing or bug problems. The bedding was comfortable. We did not face Fredmont Street, so we did not experience any noise issues. We did bring our sound machine in anticipation of the noise. It’s not the hotels fault if the outside street is loud. If you don’t like noise, bring a sound machine. But just plan on it possibly being loud. Resort Fees—There is a $39 a night resort fee. But that includes parking. Most hotels we stay at charge for parking (in places like NOLA, Boston), so we didn’t have much issue with the resort fee. It does include bottles of water. If they don’t replenish your water there is a number for you to text. They will get you fixed up. Just be aware all hotels on the strip will also have a resort fee. The Pool—This is where the 4 stars come in. They pool is not very big. It’s neat, just on the smaller size and seating is limited. There is a adults only rooftop pool, but when we went to check it out there were limited spaces there too. I’d definitely suggest an additional pool! They also close at 8, but you can sit on the deck and enjoy a drink outside. The H2O bar by the pool makes great daiquiris. They are $16/18 for a 16 oz but they uses Tito’s and it’s well worth it. Drinks are high everywhere in Vegas. If you want to drink cheap, bring your own! Haha! Overall, hotel and casino was nice and clean. We only walked through the casino but the cigarette smell was low. The Fredmont experience is entertaining. It not my cup of tea, but was neat to see. You can walk to lots of casinos and restaurants from the entrance of Golden Nugget. If you plan on staying downtown this is definitely the hotel you want to choose!
Read more
Response from CourtneyGoldenNugget, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate your honest and understanding feedback. We are so happy that our employees lived up to our outstanding customer service goals. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Chosen for location only. Delivered on that, failed in other areas. We stayed for 1 night for budget room in the carson tower. Poor check in experience, short queue, but 3 times, people arriving after us, supposedly VIP were ushered in front of us. Hotel clearly didn't value our custom as much, but clearly didn't rate them either to have a separate VIP check in. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, albeit some of the light fittings were a bit tired we had a pleasant quite night, after earlier partying. If you want a basic downtown hotel at a reasonable price – I couldn’t fault golden nugget albeit it seemed those who wanted a good poolside spot were almost fighting over it – Go early. The location is perfect if you want downtown Fremont street and we had great time in downtown casinos and on Fremont street on a buzzing Friday night, and did the zip wire!. I personally rate the strip over downtown, for occasional visitors – but we have visited las vegas before and this time had 2 separate single night visits to Las Vegas either end of our trip – so we chose 1 strip and 1 golden nugget. The whole experience wasn’t the best, I do not like Vegas or large resorts where hotel guest convenience is an after thought. We walked a long way from parking, past reception due to poor signage and doubling back, and then ages for elevators several times. But the room met expectations. Didn’t exceed or fail, just average for a mega hotel. We did meet people who absolutely LOVED the hotel and sung its praises. My advice to them is get a life, it was far from special.
Read more
Response from CourtneyGoldenNugget, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino
Responded 2 days ago
HI Dave! We do have a separate "VIP Check-in" that anyone can add to their stay. This is in a different area than the main check-in. Yes, our pool is incredibly popular. We do not allow guests to hold chairs that are not currently enjoying the pool and offer a secondary pool option on the third floor which is adults only. We offer a variety of room types and categories. We are sorry that your room didn't exceed expectations. We have many valued guests that come back year over year, please let us know if we can offer recommendations for your next visit to property that will show you why people love us.
Read more
The room, the amenities, the pool, and the casino were all very nice. Enjoyed sharing the hotel with the Houston Rockets for NBA Summer League. Very easy access to the Strip area via Las Vegas buses. Did get to experience the 7.1 July 5 earthquake from our room 20 stories up. This wasn't on our bucket list, but we'll cross that one off anyway!
Read more
Response from CourtneyGoldenNugget, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the review, Bill! Although not common, earthquakes can happen in this part of the country. Aside from the earthquake, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Rush Tower, as well as the entire Golden Nugget, is beautiful!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden nugget las vegas, downtown las vegas, las vegas golden nugget, golden nugget hotel las vegas
LOCATION
United StatesNevadaLas Vegas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2419
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing