We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Downtowner Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Downtowner Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there recently for 4 nights it wasnt bad..our room was in the building across the steeet by the pool..u have to get the pool key to get in and return it by 8pm or theres a 50 deposit..very good location..like 5 min walk to freemont st restaurants n casinos..only bad thing only 1 ice machine outside across the stret... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Kathy M, thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the great value and convenient location. Please visit again soon! More 

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The Downtowner has an excellent location, just 1 minute off Fremont Street and 5 minutes from the Fremont Street Experience. The lobby staff were all really friendly and helpful. Most budget travellers are accommodated in the annex across the street. On opening the door you get an awful smell, a cross between disinfectant and stale alcohol. However, the room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cowheelpieman
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello cowheelpieman, thank you for your review. Happy to read that you enjoyed the value and location of the Downtowner. Please visit again soon. More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

That's right, $32for a quiet Queen sized bed two blocks from Fremont Street and Old Downtown. Not many frills,but clean, quiet and close to the action. Did I mention it was only $32!! There was a bit of a funky smell in the hallway,but my room was fine.

Helpful?
Thank Jagdpanther
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Jadgpanther, thank you for your review. We indeed offer great value and we are so happy you enjoyed your visit. Especially during the week we oftentimes have super rates! Please come back soon! More 

honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Let’s face it, staying at the Downtowner isn’t the same as staying at one of the downtown hotel casinos. There are very few amenities, your room isn’t very large (a little smaller than average downtown rooms), the bathroom fixtures are a little old and you don’t see much security for the place. The motel is located right around the corner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello hawaiitraverllerinsf, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Downtowner and found the accommodations to be a good value. It is now July and we can assure you the A/C's are humming and keeping the rooms cool :-) We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night building seems older, my room door was hard to open and close because of the million layers of paint that has been put on over the years. And a alarm on the building across the street kept going off until about midnight. Other than that the room was clean, the staff were very friendly. I cant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Matt S. Thank you for your review. Although the hotel building is older, it was newly remodeled in 2015. We do offer great value and are happy you enjoyed your visit to Downtown Las Vegas. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We booked a room here for a 3 Doors Down concert. When I pulled up I was very worried that I might find a scary, dirty motel. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean it was! Bed was soft, pillows plump and it was walking distance to Fremont which was PERFECT since the concert was there. Lady who checked me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shianne Stilson A
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Shianne, thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that the Downtowner met your needs and you enjoyed your concert and Downtown Las Vegas within walking distance. Thank you for your suggestion on the drapes as well. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I went online to the downtowner website, stating $19 a night. I reserved two rooms, a week away. I was never charged so I called to verify, the original downtowner website never booked my rooms. I provided my reservations , but nothing came up. Was irritated. But I found something cheaper and better.

Helpful?
Thank Geralyn C
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Geralyn, we are so sorry for your inconvenience, we can imagine this is quite annoying. Sometimes we experience a glitch, but in most cases we can just book you in at the desk and of course honor the rate. Hope to see you at the Downtowner in the future. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised but unsatisfied that it had to be the last nite of my spontaneous rendezvous with old Vegas that I came across this gem. Compared to the dumpy shalamar I stayed at my first nite becuz everywhere was booked. The front desk gal (dawn) was very warm and welcoming and made my late nite more enduring.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josh P
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Josh P, thank you so much for your review and feedback. Yes we are still somewhat of a secret, but more guests are discovering us. So glad you enjoyed the service from Dawn and your stay at the Downtowner. Please visit again soon! More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

I don't mind a cheap hotel room, because I'm only going to be there long enough to sleep and shower. The location is great. I like the fact they are renovating a classic tenement into cute hotel rooms. They are cute, with details in the carpet matching the bedding, matching the bathroom curtains. The fact that the furnishings are cheap... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFREY P
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello Jeffrey P, thank you for your review and feedback. Our ice machine is located next to the hotel lobby. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and will continue to work on improving our rooms and service. Thanks again. More 

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016

We stopped at this hotel to be close to Fremont St which it is but that is the extent of its charm. There was no hair dryer in the room. The staff bought her own hair dryer to lend to people who ask. Also there was no blankets on the bed in January. I would expect this of a $30... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank john2ethan
Erna B, General Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review

Hello john2ethan, thank you for your review and feedback. We apologize for your inconvenience and continue to work on improving our rooms and service. Thanks again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#127 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#99 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#117 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two story Motor Inn with stucco exterior; modern guest facilities; centrally located in the downtown area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Downtowner Motel

Address: 129 N 8th St, Las Vegas, NV 89101-4207
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Price Range: $30 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Motel Las Vegas
Downtowner Hotel Las Vegas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay