We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Desert Inn

Hotel website
3015 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
High Desert Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apparently they are in the process of upgrading, their lobby looks great, but they should have started on the rooms first. Hallway carpet was dirty, torn, and just generally looked awful. room carpet was only marginally better. bathroom counter had a piece of formica missing so they just sanded the edge, like that would make it look better. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoveNV
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

We are in the process of doing some upgrading, but unfortunately we can't do everything all at once. We are sorry that your bed was hard. We did have ample rooms and would gladly have moved you to another room. My apologies to you. More 

Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here this past weekend. We picked this hotel because my son's basketball team was staying here between their games in West Wendover and Battle Mountain. Admittedly, this would not have been my first choice to start with but I agreed because my husband wanted to be in the same hotel as the team and because the price was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TahoeMother
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the poor customer service we exhibited during your stay. We failed you. I will be meeting with the hotel manager to discuss your review. I can assure you that this is not our standard way of treating our guests. My sincerest apologies to you and I thank you for letting me know what happened. Again,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Elko hotels

Great Basin Desert, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the few places in NV without the din of slot machines, that's a plus. If you want a casino, Red Lion and others across the street Second stay for us. Winter freeze damage forced us out for a week and HDI was 1st choice. They have a guest laundry as well. The rooms are well appointed, quiet, clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trpster
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review of our hotel! Glad that you enjoyed our facility and amenities! We look forward to your return visit and thank for choosing the High Desert Inn. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

The High Desert Inn is often one of the cheaper options to stay in Elko, but is actually quite good. (By their own admission, only Motel 6 usually undercuts them). It has internal corridors and the rooms were clean and spacious, with a fridge, coffee maker and microwave as well as the usual facilities. And unlike many Nevada accommodations it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank MKMapman
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel, MKMapman. We are glad that you enjoyed our facility and that our accommodations were to your liking. We do offer health club memberships to the local community and that opens up the pool for use to members as well. We do not have any gaming/slots on our property, but believe that... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Good location, if you stay in elco you want to stay on this side of Idaho street by the Red Lion area. Very convienant location right across the street from the Red Lion casino. The room was clean and had a nice indoor pool. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank bryanh423
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Bryann H. - thank you for your review of the High Desert Inn. Thank you for letting us know that your room was clean and that you enjoyed our indoor pool. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Reno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

Excellent office space in tastefully appointed room. Pool, jacuzzi and fitness room are all very nice. The customer service people are very friendly and helpful. Easy access on and off the freeway, and near many large casinos if that is your thing.

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Chris J. - thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that as a businessman, you found our accommodations and our customer service to be to your liking. We very much appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your return visit! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

The person I talked to on the phone when making the reservation was very nice. The young man checking us in was polite and professional. The lobby leaves a lot to be desired. I chose this hotel based on other reviews. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms. The room was okay. It was quiet. The linens were clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Granny15
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Granny 15 thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are glad that our associates provided good customer service for you. I'm surprised of your comment about our lobby as it is almost finished being refurbished. Once the lobby is completed, you will be able to get to all rooms without having to use an alternate entrance. You... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

This motel is great! Check in was done with a polite person, the room was quiet, classy yet simple. For the money that was spent I am proud to have stayed here. The maid we had was polite and gave us the things we needed no question asked! Everyone and everything was excellent!

Helpful?
Thank 1Adam13
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Adam, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Thank you for letting us know that the staff treated you well. We look forward to your return visit! More 

Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We checked in at around 9 P.M. At 10 P.M. I called down to the desk and asked for two pillows and an ice bucket. Was told that she would get to it as soon as possible. At 10:50 P.M. I called back and was told she would bring it up in 9 minutes. Finally at 11:30 I had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you received such poor customer service. I will be speaking to the supervisor about your review. Our pool is not a community pool. We do offer paying memberships for people to use our fitness center and the pool and spa. Members must sign in and check out a card to use the pool and fitness... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Not sure that the person who reviewed the hotel actually stayed here. The room was clean, updated, quiet. We had a room that faced the mountains. The bathroom was beautiful, loved the wall treatments, double sinks. The 'fridge was a little noisy, but I'm a very light sleeper, so I unplugged it and plugged it back in before we left.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elise H
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Elise, thank you for your wonderful review! So glad to hear that you found your room to be satisfactory to your needs. Thank you for letting us know that Griff took care of you at the Front Desk. We look forward to your return visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Elko
Super 8 Elko
#13 of 29 in Elko
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay