We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

High Desert Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
High Desert Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Douglas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found it on line...looked nice. Couldn't see the sign from the freeway, it was too low, so I drove out of town several miles and had to turn around. Called the desk, the gal was very nice and helpful. She told me what exit to take and I found it. Checked in, got my key...key wouldn't work. Back to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry Jane for the problems you experienced during your stay, however it does appear that our staff went out of their way to quickly take care of problems. The items you report have been turned over to department heads and we will be addressing them. Again, our apologies to you. We do hope you will change your mind...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed January 3, 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to go explore the Ruby Mountains for New Years, and stayed in Elko for the night. We had no difficulty booking a room here for New Year's Eve, the night before, which I thought was awesome! The cheapest room had two twin beds, so we went with that, but when we got to the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Amanda, we are so glad you stayed with us on New Year's Eve! I enjoyed reading your review of our hotel. You mention all of our amenities, and outstanding customer service which contributed to your stay with us. We are sorry that our pool needed maintenance but we work hard to keep it open throughout the winter months. We very...

Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Update from my previous review. Pros: Check in around noon fridge/micro fitness center Albertsons right across street bed ok big spacious room Cons: elevator broken stinky hallways and room stains on carpet in hallways and room extremely slow Internet (ended up using my phone data) Lights above 1 sink too dim uncomfortable chairs only 1 out of many plug in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Sara, thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are sorry for the problems you listed above. We are sorry that you couldn't operate the room HVAC unit which does provide heat to the room. Department heads have been notified of the deficiencies you listed and we will be addressing them. Again our apologies to you.

Reviewed September 24, 2016

Out in this part of Nevada for business, I stayed in this hotel for four nights. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, and I appreciated the refrigerator and microwave. I felt very safe here, and the location, near the interstate, was convenient for me. I particularly appreciated the staff, who went well out of their way to accommodate my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Barbara, thank you for letting us know that you had a great stay with us - that you appreciated our room, facilities and amenities. Thank you for letting me know that our staff took care of you. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again, Barbara.

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed September 22, 2016

The room was spacious and clean, the front desk staff was very helpful when we went looking for a restaurant in the area to eat at, and the atmosphere was wonderful. The best part of the hotel, by far, was the pool and exercise room. The hotel seems to allow locals to buy a membership and come in to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J Albert E
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

J. Albert, thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to have welcomed you to our family for the night. It is great to hear that our staff treated you well and it is nice to know that our housekeeping staff provided a clean room for you! We very much look forward to your return visit! Thanks again.

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Was a quick visit. Nice hotel. Close to shopping and casinos. Front desk clerk was friendly and made sure our room was close to other family who made a last minute reservation. Although one elevator was not working and the pool was closed, which was a disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Christine, we are glad that you had a good stay with us and that our staff took care of you. We are sorry that the elevator wasn't functioning, but we have contacted Otis Elevator out of Salt Lake City to schedule a repair. Thanks again for choosing the High Desert Inn!

Reviewed September 9, 2016

Our vehicle broke down on our way home from Reno to Salt Lake City. Got towed into Elko from Battle Mtn. Stayed 1 night at another hotel. BIG MISTAKE!! We had to stay another night in Elko and stayed at the High Desert Inn. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with standing water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Michelle, we are so sorry that you had car trouble, but we are glad that we could be of service to you as you waited for your vehicle to be repaired. Our maintenance team took care of the tub water problem - apologies for that - but we are glad that we could quickly move you to another room. We...

Auburn, CA
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Room quality about $80+ but we got the room for just about $48 on booking.com. Nice desk staff and furniture. Spacious room. Downsides: misty, fogged window glass and badly torn window screen. Light bulbs very dim; hard to see. Also pretty loud; close to the freeway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Virginia, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that our staff treated you well and that you liked our large room and amenities. We apologize for the screen and will have it fixed. We will check the wattage on the bulbs too. Thanks for letting us know! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed August 8, 2016

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) routinely stays in Elko as we travel from California towards Colorado, and we've tried numerous motels in the city over the years. The High Desert Inn was, for this trip, the very best of all. The staff was very friendly, the rooms very clean, the beds were OK, and the location was perfect. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Scott, thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! You mention all of the good things that we are most proud of at our hotel. Glad to hear our staff took care of you and that you enjoyed our amenities. But we are most happy to read that you will be returning to visit us again. We...

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed August 3, 2016

We made a quick overnight stop here after driving from Billings to Elko and spending a good chunk of the day in Yellowstone. It was a long but great day! The room was adequate although a little outdated; perfectly fine for a quick overnight stay. we did not have time to use any of the amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekergirl77
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Glad we were here for your stop over. Many east/westbound guests find Elko to be the perfect place for an evening stay before heading out the next morning. We hope you will find some time to stop again and visit some of the sites here. Elko and the surrounding area has a lot to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
1.7 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#15 of 29 in Elko
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Elko
Super 8 Elko
#20 of 29 in Elko
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All The Comforts of Home. All The Convenience You Want. Whether business or pleasure, High Desert Inn offers the kind of amenities that make you feel right at home. • FREE Wireless High-Speed Internet • Flat Screen TV's • Bright, clean, comfortable decor • Fully-Equipped Fitness Center • Indoor Pool & Spa • Variety of Business Services • Free Courtesy Shuttle • Next door to Elko's Best Casinos & Restaurants at Red Lion & Gold Country! • Starbucks next door at Red Lion Hotel & Casino So if you're traveling through Northern Nevada, to or from Twin Falls, Salt Lake City, or Reno, this is the perfect place to stop a night... Or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Desert Inn

Address: 3015 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Price Range: $54 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your High Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Elko
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from High Desert Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from High Desert Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a different hotel”
  • There was a pill on the floor! Don't they vacuum?
 of 5 bubbles janeh906, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Any room seemed comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles JAlbertEdwards, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near SW entrance very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles horsenrosie, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“haven't had a bad room here yet.”
 of 5 bubbles jaimelynnb2016, May 20, 2016 | Read review
“my boys like being on the fourth floor, no reason.”
 of 5 bubbles nvmom2boys, Feb 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question