We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Lodge

Save
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“the kitchen”(33 reviews)
“one night”(9 reviews)
“family room”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
73
24
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
73
24
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenone nightfamily roomrecommend this placetrain stationelectric blanketsother guestsfour nightscomfortable bedhome away from homeeasy accessbeautiful locationan amazing viewbig windowssitting roomshared roomplenty of space
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 107 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Moana belongs to the BBH network of backpackers in NZ. We booked it long time in advance as it seems very popular. Here everything depends on the room you get. Unfortunately ours was (too) small and facing the bathroom corridor. So, noisy. Nice owner. You...More

Thank jobst56
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded December 13, 2017

Hi Jobst56, thank you for your feedback as we always like to hear from our guests. This includes both the positive and also other useful points raised. From how you commented on the room that you had, and that you stated you booked a long...More

Reviewed November 21, 2017

It is a great little place to stay. People friendly and overall very comfortable. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Easy access to Wellington without the Wellington prices!!. Excellent value for money, would use again.

Thank Mark342
Reviewed September 23, 2017

An awesome House & Garden, we stayed in a large room with Queen size bed and two single beds. This room has a view of the Harbour. All the shared facilities were clean, also a computer lounge on the upper level with kitchen, dining etc.,...More

Thank Dave C
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded October 5, 2017

Dave, thank you for your review as it is always good to get feedback from our guests. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our backpackers and appreciated our great kitchen, which we know many of our guests really enjoy. Please feel free to...More

Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

This place suited our budget for a short trip to Porirua and Wellington. Nice and handy to local shops and the train station for trips into the city. We also enjoyed being so close to the sea to explore the local beach with its rocks...More

Thank nin132
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded October 5, 2017

Hi Nin, we are glad you enjoyed exploring area during your stay as there is quite a bit to look at, including our great local beach with amazing sea views. And we are fortunate we have a number of rooms that look directly out onto...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Vienna, Austria
142
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for four nights in a four bed shared room. As it was the middle of winter there weren't many other guests and hardly any staying more than one night. I didn't understand that because I think if you want to visit Wellington...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded August 6, 2017

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as taking advantage of seeing the many things that Wellington has to offer. And being the capital of New Zealand, Wellington certainly has many great things to see and do. Please be assured, we do our utmost...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Moana Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"chose the room with the view"
Read review
"Wonderful and cozy lounge facing the bay, very friendly atmosphere"
Read review
"Room 9 is upstairs, is a double room, with the water directly opposite.....beautiful. Quite a few rooms enjoy..."
Read review
"Ask for a room upstairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing