We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Buffalo Hotel

236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
White Buffalo Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

My family of 10 recently stayed at the White Buffalo Hotel and found our experience to be very satisfactory. We found the staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, fresh and quiet, We enjoyed our stay and even extended from two to four nights. The location was terrific for grandchildren who enjoyed the park and playground across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank willibunch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. The service is good and the hotel fits nicely into the scenery of west Yellowstone. The staff are friendly and very competent. I'd definitely go back and stay there. Prices are reasonable for that town. Eating wise, go to Pete's pizza.

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. It will be our honor to serve you next time you visit Yellowstone National Park. More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

The White Buff is a great place to base your Yellowstone experience from. Nice clean and comfy rooms, a great breakfast buffet, and friendly and accommodating staff. Overall excellent place and well priced for Yellowstone.

Helpful?
1 Thank evan g
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review, short, direct and to the point. I of course like it a lot since it is complementary of our property and staff. We are working hard to improve the property and our services. We are pleased with the progress we've made since we took ownership at the very end of 2012. Please come again soon and... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We had a very nice visit to West Yellowstone, and were lucky to find the White Buffalo had rooms available. Our room was very cozy and nice. The bathroom had new granite counter tops and the bed was comfortable. Just what we needed after a day in the park. The staff was great and very helpful, gave us a map... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kmonte64
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your trip to Yellowstone was all that you wanted it to be. Its a great place where wonderful memories are made. Come back soon. More 

South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Our room was out of the way. We arrived late at night and it was difficult to find. No elevators. It was clean but a little outdated. Trick to the shower to get hot water, must pull on cord. Very small bathroom vanity. WiFi did not work. Wanted to get a bottle of cold water but they didn't sell any.... More 

Helpful?
Thank spsandi
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I'm a bit surprised that you said the hotel was hard to find. It is on the main town park and is the best lit hotel in town and the exterior is very bright at night. The shower cord is a test we are doing in a few rooms. It is a mechanism to prevent people from turning on the... More 

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Room was clean and more spacious than many newer hotels. Overall appearance is a bit dated and could use some upkeep. Rather costly, but everything is near the park. Breakfast buffet was good, with many items to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank PaleoTex
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to review. We are pleased your experience was positive. Thanks for noting the large spacious rooms, cleanliness and breakfast. Those are all thinks I like in a hotel as well. This hotel is an icon in West Yellowstone. It has been around a long long time and will be for years and years and... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

The exterior of the hotel is deceiving. West Yellowstone was completely booked up on a Tuesday night, and the white Buffalo was our only option. It looked decent from the outside, but rooms were horrible. Carpets were ancient and disgusting. Beds were old and uncomfortable. Everything in the room was old, and really gross. With the exception of the vanity... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph H
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take negative reviews seriously and, in so doing, we try to find out who you are and the room you may have stayed in. Unfortunately, I was unable to find you in our system. You may have been booked under someone else's name or with a tour group. It's... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

All the negative reviews are true. Do not believe the excuses by the management... They are all talk and no action. This is a matter of location, location, location and making money, money, money. If this place was in the middle of nowhere, no one would stay here. I gave it a one because it is just above sleeping in... More 

Helpful?
Thank GLN1947
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

You stated you were a member of a tour group. It's very obvious you were having a terrible time on your tour. As a tour member you stayed at our hotel at a tour group rate which is substantially lower than the normal rack rate. At any rate, you are entitled to your opinion. I would hope people reading this... More 

Lakeland, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

They had a monopoly. They were the only hotel in town with rooms open. I get it, but, they are a totally inferior hotel and charged an outlandish price. Not only is it below standard hotel, we had multiple minor problems. Then we found the TV reception was terrible & remote control did not work at all. We asked to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pkb52
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

One would be hard pressed to call our hotel a monopoly given the many hotels and motels in the town of West Yellowstone. If you were to compare our prices with other hotels in town, you would have found our prices were among the lowest in town. Your main issue seems to be the price you paid and your lack... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

I would advise all travellers to be wary of this place, not only did they gouge us with a US249 room with a broken TV they laughed at us when raised a number of issues with them including WiFi, TV and hygiene. They have obviously taken the view that they can jack up prices when town is busy but if... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt our staff was laughing at you when you raised issues about our hotel with them. They have been trained to respond with sincere concern and to try to resolve problems when guests express their concerns. My phone number is displayed prominently on the front desk. A call to me about disrespectful staff would have resulted... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#4 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#12 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay