We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Hungry Horse

Historic Tamarack Lodge

302 reviews
Save
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (258)
Dining (32)
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“beaver pond”(30 reviews)
“full kitchen”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Accessible rooms
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (302)Write a Review
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
153
84
30
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
153
84
30
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaver pondfull kitchenglacier national parkthe ownerfamily cabinscoffee makerback porchfront porchplace to staythe grillbear spraytwo nightsfire pitribscomfortable bedrestaurant downstairshiking trails
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient, quiet, helpful staff. About the only year-round lodging as the area closes up at the end of the summer. Former Hunting Lodge relocated and property expanded to motel rooms, cabins, short walking trails. Note that additional payment required for any extras. Restaurant and ATM...More

1  Thank jimzak56
Response from TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for reviewing our property!

Reviewed October 12, 2017

We stayed 3 nights in the Kintla Cabin and really enjoyed it. Good space for the two of us, a very comfortable bed and linens, very quiet and private, and seemingly a decently stocked kitchen. We didn't really use it much as we ate most...More

Thank dharvey512
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

This is a nice enough place. Close to the park without dealing with park prices or traffic! The staff we interacted with were very nice but they had a significant staff shortage as we had to wait on a cook one morning for breakfast. It...More

1  Thank JLMCGEHEE85
Response from TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack LodgeResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! Please email us and let us know which of our cabins you stayed in so that we can investigate missing items. We have recently hired a new cook who is a much better...More

Reviewed October 1, 2017

My family and I started to head out west for our vacation on Sept. 8th 2017. We had booked a cabin at Historic Tamarack Lodge for the night of Sept. 10th. Our first two nights were in chain hotels so we were looking forward to...More

1  Thank RKolder
Response from TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack LodgeResponded October 7, 2017

Hello there, Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am so sorry that your trip was impacted by wildfire activity. Unfortunately, this year was a particularly bad year and many people and businesses have been affected. As a small business, our...More

Reviewed September 30, 2017

They do not have a customer friendly cancellation policy and the lodge is very noisy. Both the kitchen noise and the highway made for a difficult sleeping experience. A cabin may be better but there a lot of other options I would try first before...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bemcnamara
Response from TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack LodgeResponded October 7, 2017

Hello there, I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay with us. Our cancellation policy is very clearly stated during the booking process, on our website and in our literature. We are very open about it and ensure our guests are...More

PreviousNext
12345659
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (258)
Dining (32)
Pool & Beach (2)
Hotel & Grounds (197)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Bathroom (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting Rooms
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$66 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
$66 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite