We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 750: English reviews
Fall City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

I travel to Helena frequently for business. The Great Northern is my favorite hotel in Helena. Well appointed, clean, comfortable, good location and Montana freindly. My colleagues all book this hotel whenever it is available.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Philip G
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip G - thank you for sharing the word about our hotel. We hope your colleagues have enjoyed their stay as well., We are proud to be Montana owned, operated and providing warm hospitality! We hope to see you back again soon. Marti Bara, General Manager More 

Billings, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

This hotel was super clean and very updated. The rooms were large and very nice. There was a note telling us to have a great stay from the housekeeper when we first got there which was a nice gesture. All the workers were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was located in a very cool part of town. This was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy W - I am so pleased you hear that you had a great impression your first visit to Helena. There is much to see and do, and it is a beautiful time of year. We take great pride in our team and are pleased to extend a warm welcome to our guests. We hope to see you back!... More 

Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Our family needed to check in super early and check out super late. The Great Northern Hotel was the only one of the five we contacted willing to work with us. The other hotels said we'd need to pay for three nights instead of the one we actually needed overnight. Fantastic services!

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David L - thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate your check in/check out needs. There are times we are not able to provide this - it is nice of you to have called ahead. Thank you for the great review. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Marti Bara, General Manager More 

Billings, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Good location for this clean and comfortable hotel. Have stayed here many times and will continue to do so. There are newer hotels in Helena and they are not as conveniently located as this one. Hotel owners are conscientious about keeping the hotel fresh and updated.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara S - thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. We appreciate that you have noticed the care we take at this property. Many of the team members have been here 8-10 or more years. A few of us have been here since we opened the hotel in 2003. We intend to keep... More 

richland, wa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

This is a great hotel, and I love that it uses the trademark of the old Great Northern Railway. The room was spacious and comfortable; bathroom great, and the in-room coffee service had real mugs! The location in old Helena was delightful.

Helpful?
Thank teresa k
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Teresa K - We are on the site of the old Great Northern rail tracks. It has been fun to see this area of the city of Helena bring on new life. Many of the photos you see around came from our MT Historical Society. We hope to see you back for a future visit! Marti Bara, General... More 

Whitefish
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

I visited here for a business related conference. The hotel is located near the Last Chance Gulch shops and restaurants - easy walk or drive. The hotel staff is and looks professional and is attentive and courteous. The room was clean, large and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The breakfast was good and offered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Schwick
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Schwick - your comments in your review reiterate our goal every day. We take great pride in our long term team members and our return guests. We enjoy what we do each day and feel our location in the Town Center has much to offer our guests. Thank you for your continued faith and patronage in our hotel. Marti... More 

Central Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Having stayed at this location several times now we are never disappointed with the quality of sleep and room amenities, the staff is always top notch and dependable, it's like home away from home for us. It is ideally located for walking and checking out local eateries, coffee shops or shopping. Off-season prices are better for those of us from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alana Holly M
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alana Holly M for being a frequent guest with us when travelling through the state! It is rewarding to have return customers that feel that we can and do provide consistency in our staff and property. We hope you will not have to make the decision to not travel to the US very soon! Hope to see you... More 

Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

This was my sixth stay in as many years and the quality of the experience has been consistent. Staff is well trained, courteous and efficient. The rooms and facility are well appointed, impeccably clean and comfortable. Really first rate! A special kudu to Vernisha, our housekeeper. Our room was immaculate!

Helpful?
Thank PearlG
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you PearlG - We realize that we are not perfect - but we do strive to exceed our guest expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Montana Hospitality where ever you were in the state! Marti Bara, General Manager More 

Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights while in town for a friend's wedding, and it is truly a beautiful hotel! This hotel is located right across the street from Carroll College and is adjacent to the carousel. There are lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance, and Last Chance Gulch isn't too far away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ash B
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ash B - thank you, thank you! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Great Northern Hotel. Helena has so much to offer our visitors, no matter the time of year. We hope you will come back for a visit soon! Marti Bara, General Manager More 

Sunburst, MT, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Housekeeping seems to be spending more time writing cute notes to the guest to "have a great stay" instead of doing their job. In my last two stays, I've found broken lights, a plugged toilet from the prior guest, and a full garbage can from the prior guest. For $140/night, this property is no longer a value.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tim T
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim T - I am sorry to read your review about your dissatisfaction with the Great Northern Hotel. We take great pride in our staff and our property. I personally called you to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As you can see from other reviews - this is not typical - however, it has happened to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#3 of 22 in Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#2 of 22 in Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#7 of 22 in Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Price Range: $146 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay