We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1102 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-0297
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (126)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 9 hotels in Gardiner
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
This property has been completely renovated and is very clean and comfortable. Yellowstone Village Inn closes every year during the winter months for deep cleaning and renovation, so our property is clean and inviting to our guests during the summer months.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Fishing
Children's television networks
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Patio
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
521Reviews8Q+A81Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 289
  • 156
  • 57
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ashlandfan wrote a review Jun 2022
San Francisco, CA80 contributions62 helpful votes
We stayed at the Yellowstone Village Inn for a couple of nights before the closure of the North Entrance to Yellowstone. For us, it was mostly just a place to sleep to use we were busy with activities in the park. We got a warm welcome upon arrival and were able to get a room even though we arrived before check-in. The front desk had good suggestions for things to see at Yellowstone and places to eat in town. We appreciated the style of the hotel - it has a nice, old west feel with a lot of wooden furniture and decor that appeared to be handmade. It's a nice antidote to the endless, sterile chain hotels on the interstates. I've read some of the criticisms of this place in other reviews, and they are ridiculous. We are not your typical family, but we didn't encounter anything other than kind hospitality here. One note - this hotel is still doing breakfast bags. There are lots of choices, but we prefer a hot breakfast, so we skipped the bags and had breakfast in town. We wish the folks who run this hotel well, and are very sorry they will have to deal with the park closure this year on top of having had to deal with 2 years of Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is guests like you that put a smile on each and every one of our faces. We are so happy to have hosted you and we hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venky Viswanathan wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed in this place for 8 nights and found this place excellent in every aspect. A well run family hotel right at the north entrance of Yellowstone National Park. Bert, the owner, makes you feel so comfortable that makes you blend in with them, not to forget the good tips on places to visit. The entire family - Wanda, Sarah, Taylor and Cody, were so friendly and ensured you had a great experience during your stay. Be it the breakfast options, extra towels, additional pillows, or toiletries, they provide you everything with a sweet smile. The room was comfortable for 4 adults to stay. I highly recommend this place to everyone and will no doubt stay here when I come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jul 10, 2021
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always happy to help, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rik wrote a review Jun 2022
19 contributions
We were stranded for two days in Gardiner recently during the devastating Yellowstone River flood and were very fortunate to find a room at the Yellowstone Village Inn. The customer service and hospitality provided by all the staff at the hotel was truly outstanding in every way! From providing bottled water (couldn't drink tap water due to floods) to putting together breakfast bags filled with food items for all guests, the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and reassured during a challenging time. The staff even went door to door to provide guests with updates on the road conditions and emergency repairs, and when we they got word that the highway crews had cleared a path and re-opened the only highway south for evacuations, the staff went door to door to notify guests of the evac opening. Absolutely above and beyond the call of duty and exceptional extra effort by the staff. Well done!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Mountain views of Electric Peak on west side of hotel are outstanding!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It has been a roller coaster of a year and we are so happy that we could bring some sense of peace to you in a crazy time. We hope to see you again in the future under different circumstances. Thank you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emmajane2000 wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It was in a beautiful location in Gardiner. This hotel is family-owned and the family is absolutely fantastic. Very personable experience. The hotel itself was very cozy and our room had everything we needed. Breakfast was served in a to-go bag which was super convenient. They have a laundry room and pool available as well. Hotel was within 5-10 minutes of good restaurants, bars, and shops, as well as 10 minutes from Yellowstone’s North Entrance and many rafting, horseback riding, and fishing companies. The front desk staff gives great recommendations. We happened to be staying here when the Yellowstone River flooded and Gardiner became isolated (this has only happened once in a hundred years so not really a concern for the future). I cannot say enough good things about how the family that owns the hotel handled this situation. They did everything they could to help everyone that needed help. They provided information as much as they could when little information was provided elsewhere. Even in an uncertain situation such as this, my entire party felt comfortable and cared for. Thank you so much to the entire staff at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NicoleW228 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hall Summit, LA3 contributions
A great place to stay when visiting the north part of Yellowstone! Family run and well done, I might add. Have a sack breakfast to take with you into the park or eat in your room before leaving out for the day. 6 of us, my husband and I and our 2 kids and my parents, stayed in a wonderful 2 bedroom cabin with a living room and kitchen. Bed in the living room gave us 3 beds. Nice setup! Charming little town!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
crocuslover wrote a review Jun 2022
Frederick, Maryland735 contributions216 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights and i was excited to use the "heated" indoor pool. I got all ready and went in and a man was there with his little daughter and she was in the pool. He said "it's not warm - FYI" Sure enough, it was cold and I left super disappointed. Breakfast is a situation where you pick a bag with certain items but they cannot be interchanged. There is a super small room with a couple of tables so I guess people eat in their rooms. It's just not a very friendly set-up. You go to the desk and pick up your bag and leave. Other than that, beds are comfortable and rooms are pretty big and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our pool is most definitely heated we keep it at 86 degrees compared to not heated which sits around 58 degrees. It is not a hot tub we do not offer a hot spring like experience however we apologize that the pool was not up to your standards. We have received lots of feedback on our Grab N Go breakfast some good some bad and so that people reading these reviews can be informed due to lack of staff and difficulty acquiring products we will be discontinuing our breakfast. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
999Nothappy wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Our stay at the Yellowstone Village was an amazing experience. From the hospitality of the staff, the cleanliness of the premises, the breath-taking views, our family enjoyed not only our experience in the Park but appreciated the accommodations the Village Inn & Suites provided for us and our kids. The location was very convenient to access the Park and many activities. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home and make certain we had a memorable experience. At the end of the day, we were able to relax while the kids enjoyed the pool that was definitely freshly painted. Thank you Cody and Taylor for such a memorable stay. We will return and book with you again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennifer B wrote a review Jun 2022
Littleton, Colorado7 contributions
We stayed at this hotel for one night on 5/31. I had prepaid on Expedia. Got home and I have charge of $60 direct from the hotel. I called them and they said I booked the room for only 2 adults and that they charged $30 for each of my CHILDREN for the night. I have never run into this in all my travels. I'm leaving this review so others won't be surprised. For the hotel price and over charge we could have stayed at a nicer hotel and went out to breakfast. Their breakfast is just a sack with a muffin, yogurt and granola bar. I would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for your review. When booking a reservation whether it be by third party or our direct website before you can look at any rooms or rates you have to input two things, the dates you are looking for and the number of adults and children. Had you entered your information correctly, you would have seen that there is a difference in price. We do not hide this information. On top of that when you check-in to our hotel we have you fill out a sign in sheet that states that every traveler over the age of 1 will be charged for at check-in which you signed by the way so it's odd that you found this as a surprise. What surprises us is that if you truly believed your children, which were closer to teenagers than infants, were supposed to be free then why did you not include them in your booking? It goes without saying you prepaid for 2 guests and arrived with 4 with most purchases 4 of anything costs more than 2. Not to mention it is really not fair for our family who provided the services and amenities that you and your kids used, to subsidize your family's vacation. You and your children helped yourselves to everything we had to offer as you should, but we will have you know that the pool, the breakfast we provide, the toiletries that your family used, the extra time it takes to clean up after you and your kids is not free. In fact, in this current time those items and services are more expensive than ever. Your kids used the same number of toiletries as an adult, ate the same breakfast as an adult, used our pool the same as an adult, and we had to clean up after them the same way we do an adult so yes, we do charge $30 for extra guests whether it is a 10-year-old or a 40-year-old. We find that it is fair that way, what's not fair is you taking from our family to give to yours the actual definition of using something you didn't pay for is Theft of Services. I don't think you would expect to order your children food at a restaurant, a plane ticket for vacation, or even clothes for that matter and it be free because they are children. What is truly remarkable however is that you have never experienced having to pay for your children in your travels, unfortunately our family will not be covering the bill for YOUR children. With all that being said we really do appreciate you letting everyone know that we charge for extra people, we thought it was pretty clear already as our prices show it plain as day but for the few people that might be confused at how paying for a service you intend to use works, you have done them and us a great service. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dana E wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington Boro, Pennsylvania284 contributions101 helpful votes
Room was fine—clean, big enough, and mostly quiet enough. The Inn is at the end of the town, making walking to restaurants a little more limited, but not undoable. We were there several nights and walked to three different ones. The breakfast was unique in that packaged options were available that included muffins or hard-boiled egg, or PB&J with bread, or a lemon tart. Each was served with a few other packaged items. Most of the guests were heading into Yellowstone Park, so the package method was a useful choice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels and we hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geminican wrote a review Jun 2022
San Jose, California1805 contributions538 helpful votes
Housekeeping – did a great job. No issues with the room. Easy check in. Plenty of parking. Responsive. Quiet. One of larger hotels/lodges in the area. Negatives: * No elevators - for a hotel size like this, hard to believe they don't have elevators. * The front desk staff, Codi, miscommunicated breakfast style. He said dine-in when it's actually a grab and go. Some of his word usage can be confusing, inappropriate, and odd. Shared with his manager to address it. Additional Info: This hotel is the last way before leaving Gardiner, the next closest one would be in Livingston, which is an hour way by car. It's on the main street, but on the quieter side, a good option for people who prefer quieter place with good sleeping quality. They have two types of lodging: hotel style within the main structure and cabin style. Lodging costs in Gardiner MT is expensive, but it's right outside of North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, with Mammoth Hot Spring Visitor Center being 5 miles away.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YVI Staff, Owner at Yellowstone Village Inn
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Hello Ina! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our main lodge does have two floors, and we work very hard to get those who need a ground floor room, onto the first floor. You asked if our breakfast was "sit down" and our front desk staff responded, "yes you can sit down at any of these tables", which is exactly accurate. We were a bit taken back by your criticism of our front desk, who is very well liked by the way, complaining that you did not understand why he would respond to another guest "yes, I can hook you up with some extra cups, no problem!". This is a very common phrase, especially used in friendly passing conversation. The guest who asked for the extra cups was pleased with the service and friendliness that he received. It is a bit of a stretch to call this phrase odd, confusing, or inappropriate. The next morning, our manager went out of her way to accommodate your dietary needs at breakfast, and hear you voice your concerns, to which you responded extremely rudely. In the current labor shortage, your personal attacks at staff, both in person and online, are what is inappropriate, confusing and odd. We are so grateful for all of our staff, both family members and not. Working in the service and hospitality industry was already notoriously difficult, and that was prior to a worldwide pandemic, 9% inflation, supply chain issues, and record unemployment. We are so glad you enjoyed our cleanliness, quick check in, lots of parking, responsive staff and quiet convenient location. We are sorry that our front desk staff's use of a common phrase with another guest had such an effect on you, context is everything.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yellowstone village hotel gardiner, yellowstone village gardiner
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaGardiner
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yellowstone Village Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Yellowstone Village Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mammoth Hot Springs (4.7 miles), Roosevelt Arch (0.7 miles), and Parks' Fly Shop (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Yellowstone Village Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Yellowstone Village Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Yellowstone Village Inn?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Yellowstone Village Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yellowstone Village Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wonderland Cafe & Lodge, Gardiner Market, and The Corral.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yellowstone Village Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Yellowstone Village Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Gardiner.
Does Yellowstone Village Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Yellowstone Village Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.