We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Stanton Creek Lodge

HC 36 Box 2C, Essex, MT 59916
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stanton Creek Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
West Newbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Reserved ahead and stayed here in a RV. This was advertised as having all sites with full hookups. When we arrived, only one site was actually a full hookup. There were no public restrooms or showers for RV'ers. We were told that we didn't need them because we had a full hookup. They did let us use the restrooms in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marylou H
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

My cousin was flying in from Oregon and I wanted to show her what Montana was all about so I found Stanton Creek through Google. I was very happy when I arrived, everyone in the lodge was very welcoming. They checked me in and we got to park right by our cabin. The cabins are super clean - never saw... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
Bangkok
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Friendly, warm, hospitable, helpful people. We stopped here for some eats and had their 10 )Z sirloin steak (best steak I have had in many ears) ( I live in Thailand). While at their restaurant/bar we phoned the motel we had reserved in the morning and our earlier stop there found no one there to let s in our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kruzon
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We didn't stay here in the cabins or RV park so can't comment on the accommodations but we stopped by in the bar for a drink in the late afternoon. This was a nice, lively spot with good service and the staff were very friendly. Convenient to stop by as its just off the highway.

Helpful?
Thank Roscovitch
Mitch H, Owner at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a nice review! It was great to meet you, and we're glad you enjoyed your experience! More 

Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

I cannot believe what I've seen in the bed that we slept in last night. We booked this Cabin through Booking.com and arrived on the next day.They did not have the decency to change the sheets and be prepared for our arrival. It was located right next to a highway anrailway so u can imagine how noisy it can be,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Degi C
Mitch H, Owner at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

I am not sure what happened here, but I do not recognize those sheets as being from our property. Cabins are always cleaned with sheets, comforters, and blankets changed after each guest, or any time during a stay upon request. We strive for cleanliness in ALL areas of our facility, and recently received one of the very few A+ RATINGS... More 

Travelers are raving about these Essex hotels

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

We booked our 9 night stay in an RV site back in february. Unfortunately on our way up our truck broke and we are still sitting in New Mexico waiting on repairs, the delay means we won't make it to the park this year. When we called we did find out gerry no longer owns the place and the new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lub2rv
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

As new owners, we kept the cancellation policy of the previous owner. This cancellation policy, which says you may cancel up to 30 days in advance, is common throughout the entire area in and surrounding Glacier National Park. The tourist season is very short (90 days), and many bookings are done months (or even a year) in advance. A week's... More 

Pace, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stay there for 2 night, visiting Glacier National Park. It's located at around 40 min from West Glacier. Our Chalet had 2 king size beds, small bathroom, fridge, microwave and table. It's located along highway and railway. Trains with goods make noise until late but not during the night. Owner is very friendly. Good Hotel! Hotel gives normally free... More 

Helpful?
Thank nonobut
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

THANK YOU for staying! Our apologies for the weather causing a 3 1/2 hour power outage, which interrupted all of our power, including wifi. We enjoyed visiting with everyone who joined us in the lodge for drinks via lantern light! Thanks for being understanding! More 

Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

4 of us Stayed in one of these hot, cramped, crowded, out of the way, right on the highway, "parking lot sale style set-up", sheds and found them packed in too close for comfort. Some of these characters that get out to become one with the wild I'd just as soon made the leap and slept under a rock in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinyiceparticle
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience. As new owners, we would love the opportunity to serve you in the future. We have expanded hours of the restaurant and bar, are open 7 days a week, and open year-round. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future! More 

Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

It was the middle of summer when we stayed at this property. The caretaker and the owner were extremely friendly and hospitable. We got a cabin with two twin beds in it. The cabin was nice and clean. The neighbors were great. The disappointment that I had was the internet was bad. I had to drive seven miles down the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara A
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience. As new owners, we have purchased the fastest internet available to us, have expanded the hours of the restaurant and bar, purchased bug zappers to cover the acreage, and spray for weeds and bugs. We would love the opportunity to serve you in the future, and improve your experience! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

Clean comfortable cabins in a nice area. Gerry really knows the area well and gave us lots of ideas on what to do. Would stay again. Clean fluffy towels and a hot shower were welcome at the end of a busy day sight seeing. Nice to sit and have a cold beer and something to eat as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan D
Mitch H, Owner at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the thoughtful, honest, and well-stated review. We have just ordered a building for a shower house next season, which will add 3 women's and 3 men's showers. We are also contracting with a portable toilet company to add multiple toilets throughout the property for next summer season. Additionally, to better serve our customers on wifi, we've added... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
7.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
8.1 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#2 of 5 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
4.6 mi away
Summit Mountain Lodge
Summit Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
8 secluded RV spots with full hook-ups, 30 amp service. Water and Sewer and deluxe bathhouse.Just 15 miles from West Gate, and 25 minutes from East Gate. Lowest price on HWY 2.Pet Friendly! No charge! Only pet friendly establishment on Hwy 2 between East and West Glacier. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanton Creek Lodge

Address: HC 36 Box 2C, Essex, MT 59916
Location: United States > Montana > Essex
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanton Creek Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Stanton Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay