Summit Mountain Lodge

Summit Mountain Lodge

View from my cabin
Traveler (136)
Montana family cabin
Room & Suite (71)
Summit Mountain Lodge
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 lodges in East Glacier Park
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Opens typically the first week in June Glaciers top destination on the East side 10 minutes from East Glacier Village. A family resort known for its lodging, views, destination weddings, incredible food, hospitality and connection with nature! Summit mountain is a great place to get away from the crowds, and offers unsurpassed views and access to Glacier National Park. A top rated steakhouse awaits you as you leisurely make your way from your private cabin to the top rated steakhouse or the new 4000 sq. foot timber frame lodge over looking Glacier National Park. Offering guests a chance to breath in the fresh air, get lost in the tranquility, spot some of the numerous wildlife roaming on the hillside. Fall back in the chairs on the deck and gaze at the historic Great Northern Railroad as the trains pass by just as they did in the 1800's. NEW Our Glacier "open air"events pavilion can accommodate up to 100 people and is perfect for private parties, weddings and retreats.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

16900 Highway 2 West Marias Pass, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Glacier National Park Airport
48.3 mi
See all flights
274Reviews6Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 201
  • 44
  • 20
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tony C wrote a review Sep 2022
Leesburg, Virginia
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Summit Lodge for four nights while hiking GNP. Its situated in the perfect location and gives you the quiet surroundings of GNP. The staff is EXCELLENT and Ted, owner/operator was very friendly and made sure our stay was special. The restaurant food was amazing, and we ate there each evening of our stay. The cabin was clean and very comfortable! Great place to stay after enjoying a day of exploring GNP and staying at beautiful secluded lodge. Much better than staying at a larger facility or touristy area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Jan 28, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to make such a nice review! Sounds like you also enjoyed our peace, we call ourselves" Glaciers best kept secret". Thanks again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OWWTFO wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge is located at the top of the pass off highway 2. Our cabin had two comfortable beds, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker,and a decent bathroom / shower. No TV, no wifi except up at the main house / restaurant. It was peaceful and quiet and unbelievably beautiful. Moose came to the pond the 1st morning. If you are going to the east side of Glacier, this is a good location. Unfortunately, it was closed this year so we did a hike off the continental divide trail close to the lodge. There are VERY few people around so we had the woods to ourselves on a somewhat overgrown trail. Bring bear spray.

The restaurant was very very good. The only negative was breakfast. They were not werving in the lodge due to covid so they provide a pack of oatmeal and a yogurt with coffee. That's it. Not sure why it was ok to eat dinner at the restaurant but not breakfast.

The current owners took over 6 years ago after the facilities had been neglected for awhile. They still have some work to do but we were very happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Thanks for the kind words and compliments regarding our business and we are glad you had a great stay. We feel we have an amazing location away from the hustle of Glacier most seasons. The continental breakfast is a buffet setting and because of the covid we are respecting others during social distancing and keeping staff safe. Dinners we are able to spread people out throughout the restaurant and outside deck while still social distancing Hope to see you in the future, hanks again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John H wrote a review Jul 2022
Roswell, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this location twice in the past year, and hope to return in the future. This is an outstanding choice as a lodging option if you will be visiting the Two Medicine location at Glacier NP.

A number of spacious and well designed cabins are available, and I believe they were primarily built by Ted, the owner. They are equipped with fridges and microwaves, and in-room coffee is provided. You are really out in the Montana countryside here, which appeals to us since we don’t like crowded lodging areas.

They offer a fine dining steakhouse which we really enjoyed. A number of different entrees are offered, and the wine selection is well rounded. The steakhouse might be closed on Mondays, so you might want to check on that.

The cabins do not have internet available, but you can pick it up at the restaurant if you need your daily fix! We have ATT phone service and were not able to get much of a signal there. Verizon/T-Mobile might be better.

Overall, we just really enjoyed the get away from it all experience, with a fine dining restaurant to end the day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Nailed it! Definitely in Montana country side and most truly appreciate that aspect. Those who seek solitude away from the crowds with great food and views find summit mountain a perfect choice. To our future guests , verizon is about the only cell service that works in most of Montana. Thank you for the kind words Sincerely Summit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andree L wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Summit Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. You can access the clean rivers on Hwy 2, which borders Glacier National Park. Will come back if I am able in the future. Two cabins on the property have kitchens, I stayed at one for two days. The next week, I stayed at one of the cabins that didn't have a kitchen, so my eating was much simpler.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Dec 9, 2020
Hello and thank you for enjoying a bit of peace with us on both of your stays! We hope our paths cross again and we thank you for the kind compliments!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mhamor wrote a review Jul 2022
Gainesville, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Three Bears cabin. What a treat after a long travel day to find a very clean and spacious cabin and simply relax and enjoy the beautiful location. The beds were super comfortable and the linens were great. This cabin has a large kitchen area and living area as well as a front porch where we could sit with coffee or a glass of wine at night. The owners, Ted and Mara, were very attentive and seeking to make sure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Three Bears cabin is a beauty! Thanks for taking in some peace with summit mountain. We pride ourselves on being away from the crowds and sharing stories with our guests. We sincerely thank you for the kind compliments and review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EWolfe76 wrote a review Jul 2020
Sparta, Georgia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cabins were cute and roomy enough. Our ac/heater had an awful smell and upon looking, we discovered an inch of dust on the coils/filter. There was no breakfast because of Covid, so they left yogurt, apples, and instant oatmeal, which was great except there are no bowls in the room. Laundry facilities are handy, however there is only one washer, and although there are 2 dryers, only one was working. We found out the second was out of order after it took our $2.00. Beware if you are a light sleeper - the cabins are right by train tracks and you WILL hear trains all night! There were a couple that shook our cabin. You can not access the lake/pond from the property. The restaurant was extremely slow. The food was good and hot, but overpriced. There isn’t anything else nearby; all restaurants are 12-30 miles away. All in all, I wouldn’t stay here longer than a night or two, and only if you have to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Jul 23, 2020
We appreciate the review but are a bit sensitive to all the criticisms while in the midst of a pandemic. We had lengthy discussions about opening the business for the season and actually taking on risk from out of state guests. So due to the pandemic we had to change a few things without actually ever doing them before so we had some learning curves. We are perplexed our special guest didn't mention the views, gardens,hiking or anything peaceful during the stay. We have unparalleled access to hiking, camping, rafting and fishing. If you don't come to explore may just want to stay in the big city. Summit Mountain is a place to get Away and take it all in but sometimes we realize it may be better for folks not to travel, away from the crowds.. If anyone comes out to Glacier National park they should understand the history of Glacier. It was actually the Great Northern railroad which actually invested and founded the park so the railroad runs around most of it. Also in the midst of a Pandemic and the entire East side of Glacier shutting down yes the restaurants in general will be a bit slower. We are a steakhouse with fresh food so it will always be more expensive than prepared frozen foods. Not impressed with this review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarenDec wrote a review Jun 2022
West Bend, Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Summit Mt Lodge is about 10 miles west of East Glacier on Hwy2. We were one of their first visitors for 2022, so the breakfast & steakhouse weren’t open yet (missed it by 2 days). The cabins were overlooking a small lake, and were clean and comfortable, complete with a small frig & microwave.

New in 2022 is a beautiful guest registration center. The Mountain View’s are amazing! There were tables available (we played cribbage in the evening). There’s also a wonderful fireplace, great sitting area with internet, and a fooseball table.

The owners were wonderful in booking reservations & sharing information about the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available next to your cottage.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and it was great to see all of you enjoying the new lodge. Travel safe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucky Quokka wrote a review Jul 2023
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Summit was a overnight stay for us as our first point of call for Glacier National Park. We wanted something that was between Bozeman and Waterton in Canada and Summit fitted the bill. When we arrived it was a great location, individual cabins almost like they are in the woods. Views from our cabin were great (Huckleberry) and we ate at the attached Steakhouse for dinner (which looked great and was the reason we choose here over other places).

The room was really cute and the bed large and comfortable (in fact two queens in the room but we only needed one, nice big beds). Basic facilities in the room and the bathroom a little small but everything worked well and was clean etc. Parking right outside your cabin so no long move of your bags.

We noted that other people mention the train line which runs behind the property. You can clearly see the trains and boy are they long, with a bit of noise when they come around the corner and when they stop further down the line with the carriages ending up behind Summit. No big deal though and it was quiet over the nighttime when we stayed.

Had the continental breakfast included with the room, it was a bit spartan but enough to get you going for the day. The dining room where you eat breakfast was really nice, along with its views of the mountain.

Overall a pleasant surprise and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared for no internet or tv coverage in the rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angry Bear, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Sep 19, 2023
We thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. Hope to see you next time your in the area. Sincerely Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LizLarz wrote a review Aug 2021
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding food, great service and in such a beautiful location. We spotted in and it was a while until he could seat us, so the owner brought us wine in the garden. For dinner e had steak and the pork and both were great flavors, perfectly cooked and well served. We really enjoyed our dinner!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Sep 16, 2021
We are glad you could sit in the gardens and enjoy a little bit of our peace away from the crowds. Glad you also had a great dinner, thank you for taking the time to write a nice review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jjm5160 wrote a review Aug 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely setting and a delicious dinner at the restaurant made for a memorable stay. We were two couples in two cabins. We enjoyed the front porch for happy hour and fell asleep to the passing trains. Although situated close to the highway, at night the highway noise was not a problem. We were a little disappointed in the continental breakfast (expected more) but assume that was due to Covid restrictions. The only thing that could have made our stay more exciting would have been to spot the resident moose in the pond during dinner or in the early morning hours. I would stay here again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Chase, Owner at Summit Mountain Lodge
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Thank you for your review and the kind words regarding our business. We typically offer a continental breakfast but not with the Covid restrictions in place and the different levels of comfort during the pandemic. Hope to see you in the future Thanks again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ccjljl1 asked a question Apr 2017
Edmonton38 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi! Can I have breakfast there even if I am not staying there?
Answer from 12livelife
Seattle, Washington47 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello, Sorry for the delayed response. The continental breakfast is for our cabin guests but you can always stop in for a latte or espresso and enjoy the views!!
Tougholdbird asked a question Mar 2017
Mankato, Minnesota3 contributions2 helpful votes
Are there campfire pits/bbq near the cabins for cooking?
Answer from 12livelife
Seattle, Washington47 contributions3 helpful votes
No Im sorry there are not, we have large carnivores around the property and so we take precautions with cooking outside!
Maryk04 asked a question Dec 2016
Santa Fe, New Mexico9 contributions15 helpful votes
How far is the lodge and cabins from the entrance to GNP??
Answer from sb c
Cincinnati, Ohio245 contributions47 helpful votes
There are three entrances to Glacier National Park on the East side that we used. The closest is Two Medicine which is about a 30 min drive from Summit Mtn.. The next entrance is St. Mary's and it is about a 1 hour drive. The farthest is Many Glacier and it is about 1.5 hr. drive. The drive is beautiful and I don't ever remember the drive being a waste of time. It's part of the experience. There are closer lodging choices, but Summit Mtn is a wonderful place to stay! We even used the west entrance while staying at Summit Mtn!
CarolinaTraveler asked a question Feb 2016
concord,nc,usa165 contributions60 helpful votes
How far is the Amtrak station? Thanks
Prasanna S wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was told bear sightings in the river that runs by the cabins, so carry a bear spray always!"
Read full review
Lubslady wrote a tip Sep 2023
Crown Point, Indiana14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a book and enjoy off the grid. So peaceful!"
Read full review
Lori N wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a TV in your room, make sure you clarify that. There wasn't even a radio and I need white noise for sleeping."
Read full review
Jacob S wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take pictures and video of the cabin and any damages upon arrival or you too will likely be charged hundreds of dollars."
Read full review
Danica T wrote a tip Jul 2023
Bloomington, Indiana4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, lotion. There was var soap in our cabin; nothing else was provided."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Glacier Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaEast Glacier Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUMMIT MOUNTAIN LODGE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Mountain Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Mountain Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Swiftcurrent Pass Hike (0.3 miles), Glacier Gateway Outfitters (0.5 miles), and Marias Pass Obelisk (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Mountain Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Mountain Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Mountain Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Mountain Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Mountain Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Serrano's Mexican Restaurant, Two Medicine Grill, and Whistle Stop Restaurant.
Is Summit Mountain Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of East Glacier Park.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Mountain Lodge?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Summit Mountain Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Marias Pass Obelisk (0.2 miles).
Does Summit Mountain Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All East Glacier Park HotelsEast Glacier Park Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in East Glacier ParkHotels near Summit Mountain Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars