We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

103 West Main St Intersection Of River Street, Cooke City, MT 59020
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$178
View Deal
$170
View Deal
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (48)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mountain View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Wild Life Watcher Special
248Reviews11Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 61
  • 11
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were in the hotel part. My sister and brother-in-law took the upstairs room because we had too much stuff to drag up the stairs. The rooms are furnished old but clean. The bed was very comfortable and not old. They had little niceties like a bucket of rags with a sign to use them to wipe down snowmobiles. That was really nice because I use one to wipe out our cooler. The property is obviously staffed by couples using it as a chance to get in the region. There were two really nice middle age couples. When we checked out, we went to the coffee shop down the street. As we were sitting there, one of the guys came in with the prescription glasses that I had left in the room. That took a lot of extra effort and I can't thank him enough. Then, from the coffee shop, my sister went to a shop across from the hotel. One of the women came in and asked if she left her nightgown in the room. Again, another returned item that took great extra effort! So even though the furnishings are oldish, I wouldn't skip a beat in choosing to stay here again. Thank you for all your kindness.
Read more
Response from Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you found your bed comfortable and your room clean. We treat our customers they way we want to be treated so it's not unusual for us to find someone to return an item. We have even shipped stuff to people. We are so delighted you recognize the fact that we go the extra mile. You our correct our motel furniture needs a face lift and we are working on making that happen. We do have new mattresses, linens, carpets and all walls have been freshly painted and the popcorn ceilings removed. We started on the things that would make your stay comfortable first instead of just going with the cosmetic items. We are a work in progress. One of the couples was the owners who live here year round. The other couple is here working for the summer season. If you're ever in the area again stop by! Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
I think Cooke City might just be my favourite town ever! I’m not sure why, can’t quite put my finger on it but just loved it. The Elk Horn Lodge was a great place to stay, we only had one night there but wished we had booked longer. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The WiFi was reliable (I know that’s important to a lot of people in a town with not much phone signal). Would deffo stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Responded Jul 2, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! We are so pleased you found your room spacious and your bed comfortable. Thanks for mentioning the WIFI because it's important to people just like you said. We would love to have you stay with us again on a return visit! We got hooked on Cooke City when we first visited in 1999 and now we live here. Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Read more
Elk Horn Lodge was a nice place to stay after a long day in Yellowstone National Park. Check-in was quick and easy as this is a family-owned business with only a few rooms. The room was clean and neat with comfortable beds and pillows. It has a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, box fan and hairdryer. The bathroom is a little small but adequate. No elevator but only 3 rooms upstairs. There isn't an air conditioner but the temps were cool outside. We used the fan to keep the air stirring and provide a little noise. We would stay at the Elk Horn Lodge again if passing through the lovely town of Cooke City.
Read more
Response from Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you found your room clean and neat and with comfortable beds and pillows. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities. If you are ever in Cooke City again please stop by we would love to have you as our guests again. Thanks, Lisa, Jeff, Ellen and Mark
Read more
It is difficult to find a reasonably priced place to stay near Yellowstone park at the best of times...lol-but we came across the elk horn at Cooke city while searching trip advisor...and so we gave it a go. We generally stay at name brand hotel chains, so it’s a bit more difficult for us to know exactly what bar should be used as the standard with a private family run operation. As mentioned in many reviews, the owners are very friendly - which we appreciated greatly. The room was comfortable. There is no breakfast included, but there is a great place to eat just a short walk away (beartooth bakery I think it was called). The biggest problem we encountered was exceptionally slow wifi speed...we are very reliant on wifi in the evenings at our hotel so we can research and plan/book our next day. The wifi was non-existent at times which made planning our next day very time consuming and frustrating. Just a heads up for other travellers who may find themselves in a similar situation to us. I had hoped to mention it in the morning to the owners, but the office was closed. In conclusion it was a good stay-we wish we could have had a chance to mention the wifi issues as that is fairly important to us. Aside from the wifi issue we would say there is good value here for sure relative to what is available. Good job elk horn :)
Read more
Response from Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Glad you gave a Mom and Pop motel a chance! We are delighted you found your room comfortable and the owners friendly. We are sorry you had issues with the wifi speed. Our wifi is broadband and not fiber optics like you are accustomed to . Here in our mountain town we are so excited to have broadband and not the satellite wifi we had previously. The Elk Horn has the best connection available in our Mountain Town as every establishment has the same. Thanks for staying at the Elk Horn and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Read more
+1
Clean, spacious, comfortable beds and pillows as well as fine sheets but the extremely old, gray and (my apologies for the adjective that follows) disgusting towels dragged this rating down. One face towel has grease(?) stain (ref. 1st picture on the left) that washing cannot remove. That should have been turned into a rag and not for occupants’ bath use. Before use the towels smelled washed. After use, the smell became that of clothes that did not dry properly. We left a note for Housekeeping to give us white towels. What we found on our 2nd night were the same (ref. Stacked towel pictures). In fairness to Management, they have a sign that requests guests not to use towels “For wiping down windshields, motorcycles, snowmobiles, etc.” Ms. Lisa gave us towels for the jacuzzi that could be used until 9 p.m. It was a welcome facility; however, lots of mosquitoes in Cooke City prompted us to skip the jacuzzi. There are no conditioner, shower cap and no tea bags. There was coffee for my friends though.
Read more
Response from Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Responded Jul 11, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad that you found your room Clean, Spacious with Comfortable Beds and Pillows and Fine Sheets. I would now like to address some of your issues that were never relayed to us: We found your note left for us and was happy to provide you with all new towels. We however, were not able to provide you with White towels as we use nice beige towels as you have shown in your pictures. As far as a smell this was never mentioned to us. We take a compliant like this seriously and we have checked all towels for smells to no avail and reviewed our cleaning and drying procedure due to this complaint. We also provide all our guests with a black makeup wash rag for use to wipe off mascara. In picture #1 you show a WET wash rag which appears to have mascara on it. This wash rag would have been located in the basket dry when you arrived. See picture provided by guest of dry wash rags in basket. We are also sorry that you encountered lots of mosquitoes and you were unable to use the hot tub. That is something that is out of our control. We do provide our guests with amenities of conditioning shampoo, soap, and hand lotion. If you had needed more conditioning shampoo or would have liked some tea bags we would have been happy to obtain these items for you. In all fairness to us, we would have liked to known of these complaints so we cold have addressed them during your 2 day stay instead of hearing about them afterwards in a review. Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cooke city`s elk horn hotel cooke city
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaCooke City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing