We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Save
Share
31 Kersey Lake Road PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (6)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 01/14/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/14/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Cable / satellite TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
242Reviews3Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 35
  • 7
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mariana G wrote a review Aug 5
Asheville, North Carolina1 contribution
The ranch has an inviting, relaxing, laid-back atmosphere - the family and staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was thoughtfully decorated, the breakfasts hearty and delicious, and the late afternoon fires in the firepit a real treat ... perfect place for a book and glass of wine. Our highlight was the day-long horseback trail ride through the Beartooth Mountains ... just my husband, me and our guide. We rode and then hiked up to a beautiful lake, enjoyed a packed lunch along the way, and rode back. We also enjoyed dinners at the local restaurants in Cooke City, and a quick visit to Silver Gate, both close to the northern entrance to Yellowstone. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you! We loved having you here and are glad you enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Amanda T wrote a review Aug 4
1 contribution
+1
Everything about Skyline is wonderful! The Morris family are such a joy to be around, the lodge is quaint and welcoming, the food was delicious, scenery is beautiful and the riding and fishing was astounding! I highly recommend Skyline! We can’t wait to return! Our camping trip to Pebble Creek was the highlight of our whole trip out west!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 3 days ago
Amanda, Thanks so much for the kind words. It was great having you here! We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Julie N wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
+1
From the moment we arrived till our departure, the Skyline Guest Ranch BB felt like home. We enjoyed the fresh baked daily cookies, amazing homemade breakfast, the friendly duck, the free range horses, and spotting various wildlife, including a bear on our excursion. The rooms have comfortable beds with cozy sheets and blankets, clean bathrooms - good water pressure in the shower and soft towels. Our visit was about a month after the 2022 floods which closed the Northeast entrance to Yellowstone. While we were initially hesitant about not having access to Yellowstone, after a few phone calls and e-mails covering non-Yellowstone activities we opted to stick to our planned visit; so glad we did! We spent a day driving to the summit of Beartooth mountain stopping at the various lakes for quick hikes, played in the snow and lunch with an amazing view - they even lent us bear spray for the day. The best part of our trip was the full day horseback excursion with fishing and kayaking. The lunches were filling, even accommodated dietary needs. Kaleb and Belle were excellent guides and the kids had a blast. Truly some of the best memories were made. When the northeast entrance opens, you will have access to the splendor of Yellowstone and Beartooth mountain. But there is still plenty to see and do without Yellowstone access. Cooke City offers a variety of dining options, however found the food and service at Beartooth Cafe an great option and ate there each night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If visiting in July - while in the mountains, if still gets hot during the day so layers, water...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind words Julie! It was great having your family here with us, and we are glad we could be apart of your memories! We hope to see you back!
Read more
Dora T wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions
+1
We got lost on the way here due to the Northeast Yellowstone entrance being closed, but the woman behind the front desk was extremely patient, kind and helpful. She gave us directions and pushed back our River trail horseback ride for us to accommodate us. When we got there, we were greeted with Lemon Crinkle Cookies and a very equipped tea and coffee bar. I highly recommend taking advantage of their horseback riding if you are staying here. It was breathtakingly beautiful and we got to go through a RIVER on horseback and see sweeping Mountain Views. Lucas (a grandson of the original owners) was a knowledgeable and calm guide on the trail. The lodge is high-ceilinged, clean and gorgeous. It has a balcony out front, a hot tub out back and a warm little living room with couches and a TV. We stayed in the Yellowstone room which was cozy with a little loft. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and had quite a few options. They cooked it right when they saw you were sitting down in the kitchen. Also side note, the family has three golden retrievers which are so so friendly, a huge plus for us. The family that runs this places was very very patient with our onslaught of questions, our lateness and everything else. It was very cool to see this ranch owned and operated by an entire family unit. I highly recommend this ranch!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, General Manager at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks Dora! We loved having your group stay at the ranch! Thanks so much for posting the great pictures of your stay and ride! We would love to have you back!
Read more
William L wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Had a two day stay at Skyline Guest Ranch, reserved months ago with the goal of fishing in Yellowstone with one of their guides. The June flooding changed our plans dramatically. Fortunately they were able to get us into the upper meadow of Pebble Creek Valley. Our guide Luke took the two of us on horseback deep into the backcountry where the fishing proved to be very good. As the day warmed and the fish started biting he moved us from hole to hole, run to run and scouted spots to cast to small Yellowstone cutthroat. Weather, scenery, fishing and company conspired to make a great day. The Ranch packed a great lunch to keep our strength up. Our rides knew the trail and made the trip memorable. The BandB is in a log lodge nestled into the pines and spruce, built from the trees left standing after a fire many years back. Our room was clean and comfortable with warm bedding and firm mattress. The room came with boot driers, large screened windows, plenty of hot water and soft towels. Breakfasts are a set daily menu but with several options each day. Plenty to eat and healthy. Simple picnic tables with benches for joining the other guests and sharing our travel experiences and plans for the day. A family owned and run business with multiple generations pitching in to make their guests’ experience pleasant and memorable. Only wished we had more time with them to enjoy the Cooke city/ Yellowstone experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: For the near future as Yellowstone Park fixes the damage let Skyline Guest Ranch design a great...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks Will! It was great having you guys stay and fish with us! We are looking forward to having you back to get some more fishing done!
Read more
Tim9040 wrote a review Jun 2022
Troy, Ohio4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our first time staying at a ranch. Were given a warm welcome by Camesha (spelling?) and Alex. They are the perfect hosts in everyway. The fireplace room was the perfect spot to unwind after a long day's drive. Our room was set up so cozy. A very special breakfast is prepared differently every day One morning I had whole grain pancakes with real maples syrup. (My first pancakes were thrown out by the chef because they weren't perfectly round,) Can you imagine that? If you're looking for a place near Yellowstone or an hour and a half from Cody this should be your connection. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, General Manager at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks Tim, It was great having you, we are glad to hear you liked your stay!
Read more
BuckeyeFana wrote a review Jun 2022
Cincinnati, OH118 contributions6 helpful votes
After staying in Yellowstone we selected Skyline for its outstanding location near Lamar Valley. We were greeted warmly and immediately were grateful for finding this gem in a secluded spot but near Yellowstone. The living space was comfortable and my son was delighted to have a dog also living here. The place is super clean and the breakfast was delicious. If we had a do over we would stay here instead of Lake Yellowstone. The bed was super comfortable. Great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bear tooth cafe was good for dinner in nearby Cooke City
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Morris, General Manager at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks so much! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
mlv1 wrote a review Oct 2021
Atlanta, Georgia8 contributions2 helpful votes
did a horseback fishing trip to a mountain lake that was a great day. meals were excellent [especially breakfast]. location is great for both Yellowstone and the Bear tooth highway. best part is the people at Skyline that are so friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kerry Z wrote a review Sep 2021
Harrisburg, Illinois6 contributions1 helpful vote
The Skyline Guest Ranch is just amazing! So beautiful and such a peaceful setting with breath-taking scenery. Having the horse stables right there... and the dogs running around and playing, was just so much fun to watch. Their hospitality is so warm and friendly! I wish we could have stayed longer!.. which means we will be back! No wonder some guests have been coming back for 20+ years!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Peg & Steve wrote a review Sep 2021
Madison, Wisconsin7 contributions1 helpful vote
Skyline was a wonderful home base for us as we explored Yellowstone Natl Park. We really appreciated our hosts' warm hospitality and the rustic, beautiful setting. Our bedroom was spacious, homey, and quiet, and the ample home-cooked breakfasts were delicious. If we're lucky enough to come back to Yellowstone, we'd definitely look forward to another stay at Skyline!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
skyline guest ranch and guide service hotel cooke city
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaCooke City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Which popular attractions are close to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service?
Nearby attractions include Cooke City General Store (3.0 miles), Cooke City Montana Museum (3.1 miles), and Yellowstone Trading Post (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bearclaw Bakery, Beartooth Cafe, and Miners Saloon.