We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Save
Share
333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Trip.com
$77
View deal
Hotels.com$129
Priceline$110
Travelocity$129
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (196)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 10/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#28 of 60 in Springfield
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Bronze level
A block from Jordan Valley Park and Hammons Field, this understated conference hotel is a 7-minute walk from the Springfield Expo Center. The warmly decorated rooms with conservative furnishings feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Suites add separate living rooms with pull-out sofas, wet bars and minifridges. Room service is available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1260Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 587
  • 311
  • 183
  • 94
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dale B wrote a review Jun 20
1 contribution
Stayed 3 nights no fridge in room. I was on 3rd floor only ice machines were on 7th 8th and 9th floor. No drapes in room only had sheer curtains, outside lights keep room bright all night. The pancakes with the breakfast were too hard to cut even with a knife.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dalebX5794LP, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry that your recent stay did not mirror your previous experiences. The details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. I will present your review to my team so we may address your observations and find solutions to improve in the areas that were not satisfactory. Once again, on behalf of our entire team - I offer our apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you with the stay you’ve come to expect and deserve. Sincerely, Michael Bloom General Manager
Read more
Joanne wrote a review Jun 17
3 contributions
This was terrible-booked a pool view-nope didn’t get that-booked for 3 people, my husband and I and our daughter, got a king bed with a pull out couch-bed wasn’t made, and the front desk told us we had to make our own and acted like we were an inconvenience. Will NOT be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 2423Joanne, I'm very sorry that we let you down with both our service and accommodations; please forgive us. We are in the business of providing comfort and service, so I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your visit. We appreciate your time in sharing a review and hope to have the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable impression on a return visit. Sincerely, Michael Bloom General Manager
Read more
Terri M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
This hotel used to be my go-to stop in Springfield. However it has been several years since I have stayed here. Let me tell you, it's lost its luster. The décor has aged ( Not so gracefully), the customer service has gone down hill and the amenities are simply gone. No more room service. No change available for the laundry room. It just had the look and feel of a much cheaper motel such as Motel 6 except the price was still a $159 a night on a so called special deal. The pictures show a hotel in decline. Cracked bathroom walls, Holes in the blinds, Missing knobs on the lamps which render them useless, Old telephones that have a button to ring for the front desk that doesn't work however there were no instructions left on the bedside table to inform one of the buttons one actually needs to use to reach the front desk. Microscopic shampoo and conditioner bottles... not even enough to wash the hair on a Barbie doll's head and to top it off the boiler went out so there was no hot water for showers that night all the way through the next morning. The compensation for such inconvenience was simply a free pass for their boring breakfast. Where again the lack of attention to detail let alone customer service was quite apparent. MiniI fridge FROZE my drink, and on and on. The bed was comfortable, so I'll give them that. It was sad really and Iwill miss the good times and the wonderful stays that I had in this old hotel, because as it stands it looks like this will be my last for awhile.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Dear terrimA9796KQ, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I immediately became disheartened when reading your review. Please accept my deepest apologies that you encountered poor conditions, service, and a lack of attention to detail. What you experienced is not typical. Rest assured, your comments have been conveyed to upper management and will be addressed. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to provide a more pleasurable experience. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
Debby G wrote a review Mar 2022
Fort Worth, TX8 contributions
Big room but it was was filthy, dusty and moldy. Thick gray dust around edges of room and black dust on the ceiling coming from the air vents. Shower dirty and left over soap in soap dish. AC did not work and fan rattled loud. Stayed 4 nights with no room service so, trash piled up, towels got dirty, toilet paper coffee, etc. were not replaced. Hotel should give a discount for multiple night stays rather than charge a “resort fee.” Glad to check out!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Mar 22, 2022
Dear Debby G, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I immediately became disheartened when reading your review. Please accept my deepest apologies regarding our less than stellar housekeeping and the lack of attention to detail. What you experienced is not typical. Rest assured, your comments have been conveyed to upper management and will be addressed. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to provide a more pleasurable experience. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
mlawrence25 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bartlesville, Oklahoma26 contributions12 helpful votes
Average hotel. We didn’t have problems with the elevators or noise level, we were on floor 5. There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms. Doesn’t have amenities that other hotels have that are in the same price range. Over all it was fine. If we came back to Springfield, I would stay somewhere else. The beds are not very comfortable and it’s hard to keep the room a good temperature
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: If you go to dinner, eat your food or throw it out, there’s no mini fridges. Make sure to bring...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Dear mlawrence25, I’m sorry that you did not find us to be a good value and that our guest offerings and beds were not to your liking. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and we hope to have the opportunity to WOW you on a return trip. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
chris wrote a review Feb 2022
Ozark, Missouri1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Where do I begin , check in was easy but we were meeting friends for drinks before dinner and I guess the bartender just decided not to show up so scratch that idea , free breakfast? Nope they have quit doing that . Got to the room after dinner and got to listen to the elevator every few minutes all the while being serenaded by the toilet that ran all night , the bathroom mirror and door were filthy and I wouldn’t have walked on the carpet barefooted for anything. This used to be a nice hotel but I can assure you it isn’t anymore
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Dear Sherpa11867965233, Thank you for choosing us. I’m sorry to hear that noise pollution from the elevator and toilet interrupted the comfort of your stay. Additionally, I regret that our guest offerings left you disappointed and that your bathroom was not met with our excellence in service. We value your feedback as it heightens our awareness in these areas and helps us to serve our guests better. We hope to have the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable impression on a return visit. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
brit wrote a review Nov 2021
Branson, Missouri3 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms could use some updating. Lobby areas was very nice but disappointed by the room. Need better plug in outlets by the bed. Mine was coming out the wall and connection was very loose. Either our AC was broken or they control the temperature. Room never cooled off. AC wouldn’t come on at all on auto. We are from south Louisiana so even though it was 40 degrees outside we still like our AC on at night. Ice machines were also only located on select floors.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Dear Paradise31030092371, I'm so sorry for your poor impression and your disappointment while staying at our hotel. We regret that there was a mechanical issue with your AC and that you felt our rooms could use some updating. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
jmeyer010 wrote a review Aug 2021
Marthasville, Missouri3 contributions1 helpful vote
Not a great experience!! We get that people are short staffed but it took almost 4 hours to get our rooms after attempting to Check in with our reservations. There are areas that are run down and safety issues like the indoor pool stairs that have sharp metal corroding areas on it. . The staff was not friendly at all and never once attempted to make the wait worth it. The web site is vague and breakfast is not included in the room price. Will not be staying here again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Aug 22, 2021
Dear jmeyer010, We sincerely regret your experience. I apologize that we did not have a room ready for your arrival. This is not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided; I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay our guests have come to expect. Again, my sincere apologies for any stress we caused and thank you for taking the time to write. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
Pioneer45040880675 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is in need of a major renovation. We were in room 614 and the toilet didn’t work, the handle fell off the sink and there were screws coming out of the handle in the bathtub. Times are cracked and I think the carpet is from 1940. No matter microwave or refrigerator in rooms. staff is nice enough but we didn’t get any housekeeping and we stayed here for a week. The understanding was linens are changed after 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Dear Pioneer45040880675, Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests, so I regret that you did not enjoy your visit. We appreciate your attention to reviewing our hotel and do review your feedback as a team to continually improve. For this reason, we hope to better serve you upon your return to the area. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
KELOFF wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbia, Missouri87 contributions22 helpful votes
At hotel for conference. Stayed several nights. Sleeping room temp was over 80. Room was dark, worn, and not clean. Stains on white comforters. Restaurant was closed. Most ice machines out of order. Meeting rooms were even hotter. Felt bad for staff members. Too few and too new. Couldn’t get water for meeting rooms. Miserable experience. No plan to ever return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Jun 25, 2021
Dear KELOFF, We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience while attending a conference at our hotel. I regret that you found the temperature in our facilities too warm overall. Additionally, I'm sorry for any lapses in service you experienced. We value all your feedback and do review it as a team to continually improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will reconsider a return visit. We'd love the opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university plaza hotel springfield, university plaza hotel and convention center
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSpringfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Blue Room Comedy Club (0.2 miles), Springfield Cardinals (0.3 miles), and Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gilardi's Ristorante, Ebbets Field, and Terrace Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center have airport transportation?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Springfield.
Are any cleaning services offered at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.