We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
400 Olive St., Saint Louis, MO 63102
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$174
View deal
Booking.com$174
Hotels.com$174
Travelocity$174
Priceline$174
Hilton$174
Traveluro$175
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (196)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Updated 07/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#62 of 155 hotels in Saint Louis
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel. The hotel is currently under renovations and will transform to the Pennywell Hotel in October. The hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance to Busch Stadium, The Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing. Our location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the cities premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. The historical Merchants Laclede Building has undergone a painstaking renovation to preserve its turn of the century beauty and has been converted into the Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Breakfast available
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour check-in
Room features
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1249Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 545
  • 320
  • 152
  • 110
  • 122
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jkelly312 wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois23 contributions31 helpful votes
I stayed at the Hilton in mid-September of 2022. Good location for the Cardinals game. The room was great. The staff very good and accommodating. I really appreciated the service quality. However, the lobby is under renovation. Also, the windows of my room were so dirty that it was disgusting. They really need to be cleaned.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Judith J wrote a review May 2021
Denver, Colorado8 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
What a wonderful stay. Justin was an absolute gem. He along with his co-workers were kind and helpful. When I didn’t know where to go eat Justin was open and honest about selections, wait time, etc. He was spot on and made my 4 days enjoyable. I thank you staff of the Arch. I look forward to my next visit. Great customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
AveMaria wrote a review Sep 2022
Alexandria, Virginia22 contributions23 helpful votes
Our first night of an incredible 2.5 week rod trip and this hotel was one of the big disappointments. No one was at registration to check us in. Had to call the main number of the hotel to get someone to come to the desk. The room was not cleaned well — dozens of little hairs in the sink basin and used toiletries. Clearly the bathroom didn’t get more than folded towels if the sink wasn’t even rinsed out. $300+ a night? Not even close to earning that rate. Breakfast the next morning was equally disappointing. No one in the breakfast room, guests waiting. Attendant walked in casually with coffee then announces that they couldn’t find the key to the kitchen cooler so “no access to eggs and bread and stuff”. Seems very on brand for the entire experience at this location. Did not represent Hilton brand well. We are Hilton loyalists so this was surprising. Recommend staying at the Hilton near the ballpark instead, not this mess.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Find another Hilton property, this location isn’t great.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
B W wrote a review Aug 2022
New London, Iowa14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We had tried to cancel our booking thru hotels.com the morning our reservation was made for after reading some reviews. After nearly losing my life from Covid and a long year on oxygen and finally just getting off of it we did not want to take the risk. We were told by the hotel we would have to pay the entire amount as they do not allow same day cancellations despite hotels.com saying all the hotel would have to do was allow them to with a simple voucher. The hotel finance person again told us that they would not cancel our reservation . We decided to go ahead and go to the game and use the hotel as opposed to losing $400 per night. What a mistake- Photos attached to show all of the dirt and mold! The hallways was not cleaned Friday, Saturday, or Sunday- nor was our room!! One room door I'm our hallway even stayed propped open the entire weekend with a key card on the floor by it and a razor blade on the floor a few steps away!!! We checked in on Friday and Saturday afternoon I met a man whom I presumed was the manager who asked me how our stay was going- when I told him about how dirty things were, he asked- " oh from the construction" and I told him no- the dirt and trash and mold and cleanliness issues. At that point the elevator door opened for my floor(2) he said sorry to hear that and went on to the 7th floor rather than come to look at the nastiness. We again spoke to the front desk lady on Sunday at checkout and she was shorth and rude with us and wouldn't even look at the photos on my phone. Just kept dismissing everything I said! Said we would be hearing from Manager Benjamin the following day. We are 4 da6s out and not a single email or call has been received from him. While my husband retrieved our vehicle 2 other customers who were checking out had the VERY same complaints on other floors. We will NOT be returning to the establishment again and certainly will not recommend it as I am still having breathing issues that were causes by all of the mold and dust in the facility.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sbrant0905 wrote a review Aug 2022
Champaign, Illinois2 contributions2 helpful votes
We were very happy with our stay here for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They greeted us every time we went in and out and happily answered all our questions. The parking garage across the street had in and out privileges and was very convenient. The hotel has been recently renovated and our room was very nice and clean. The location is great because you can easily walk to all the downtown attractions and Busch Stadium. I thought the rate was a little pricey but there were home games when we were there so I imagine that contributed to it. Since our parking was included it made the total more reasonable. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Bailey, General Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Hi Sbrand0905: Thanks so much for your feedback! It's delightful to hear that you had a wonderful trip to St. Louis! Safe travels, and see you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy H wrote a review Aug 2022
15 contributions20 helpful votes
The room temperature cannot be controlled by the thermostat. It will only go down from 76 degrees to 74 if you complain. Don't expect good service for breakfast and the cost of it is far more that the quaint little deli around the corner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Bailey, General Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Hi Sandy: I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. I've shared your feedback with our team and we're looking into this. I hope you give us another chance once our transformation is completed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom S wrote a review Jul 2022
62 contributions24 helpful votes
Literally the worst hotel experience ever. Upon check in we were told our room wasn’t ready and to come back. It was early. So understandable. When we came back after regular check in time, we were then told they were sold out of our room type, double beds. So we were offered a king with a rollaway. Not ideal and my reservation was made almost a year in advance. Regardless. We accepted & checked in. Upon check in, the room door was propped open. Not very comforting. The safe didn’t work so I couldn’t secure my valuables. The AC didn’t work (it was 80 degrees in the room) and the carpet wet from the refrigerator leaking from it being off/defrosting. I attempted to call the desk and realized there was no phone in the room. So I went down to the desk and asked them to assist in rectifying these issues. Most importantly the AC and safe. We left the hotel, upon return there was a ladder and a new air-conditioning filter leaning against the wall outside of our room. However the AC was still not working, safe was still not working, carpet still saturated and the phone was not installed. The room was now 82° so I went back down to the desk and asked again if they can check the AC. Front desk agent apologized and said they would send someone right up. No one ever came and we spent the night trying to sleep in a hot room. The next morning upon leaving for the day, The ladder and AC filter were still outside of my room. I went to the desk again complained. I was again told they would send someone up. I told the agent there was a ladder and filter outside of my door since yesterday so someone must’ve made an attempt but it was still over 80° in the room. The agent apologized and said they would send Engineering Upon my return in the afternoon, ladder still outside of the room and air conditioning still not working. Still no phone so I went back downstairs and say that nothing was fixed. We went out for the rest of the afternoon. Upon arrival late that night. The ladder & filter were still there and we still did not have any air-conditioning. And of course nothing else was fixed. Again went to the desk to complain. No one was there because it was very late. So two nights of no sleep because it was too hot. On my way out in the morning I complained yet again. I was again told they would send someone up. Upon my return to the hotel that afternoon. The ladder had been removed, but not a single thing was repaired. I went back down to the desk quite upset this time and said I refused to stay in a hot room another night. The agent said that they had some rooms available so now so they could move me. Inconvenient of course, but definitely a better option as long as we would have air-conditioning and be able to sleep. So they gave me keys to a different move and told us to just move. This room did have functioning AC so, on our last night we were finally able to sleep. Upon check out I voiced my concerns and requested compensation for the nights that we could not sleep. The agent apologized, agreed and said he would adjust my bill. After returning home I received a call from who I believe was a front desk agent. He said it was a question in their system and they leave in my credit card again because they never charged me. While on the phone with her, I told her about my issues during the stay and said I wanted to make sure I was compensated as agreed. She said she would speak to accounting. I again provided my credit card information. I did receive an email from accounting asking for my credit card because there was a glitch in the system. I replied saying that I received a phone call and provided that information over the phone. Upon checking my credit card, I saw that I was not compensated for the inconveniences as promised. I understand the hotel is undergoing a renovation. Which by the way would’ve been nice to have been told ahead of time when I booked the room. Also that reminds me; The coffee service was unavailable in themorning because it was empty. Basically because the construction workers consumed it all before we got there. And I was there quite early. Another issue worth mentioning. I used to gym during my stay. The water was empty the entire time. I did point that out as well but of course it was ignored too So again, overall the worst hotel stay experience ever….
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid staying at the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Resort395072187158 wrote a review Jul 2022
Fort Lauderdale, Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a wonderful experience at this Hilton hotel. All staff was accommodating and ready to assist at any moment . Front desk made great recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area. Budweiser brewery tour is a must if in the area!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Bailey, General Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Responded Jul 24, 2022
Thanks so much for your feedback. It's a great feeling to know we were able to make your travels more enjoyable. Safe travels home, and we can't wait to see you again. At your service, Benjamin Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grover R wrote a review Jul 2022
Pensacola, Florida16620 contributions1292 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here because of its location to the Arch. It is not as big and modern as the other downtown Hilton but it does have historic charm. Our room had been recently renovated and it was nice on the top floor looking east to the river. The breakfast service was a little slow but the staff were very friendly and nice. The parking was easy in the deck across the street, and it had a nice little bar with wood and marble details. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Bailey, General Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Responded Jul 24, 2022
Thanks so much for your feedback. It's a great feeling to know we were able to make your travels more enjoyable. Safe travels home, and we can't wait to see you again. At your service, Benjamin Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael R wrote a review Jul 2022
Savannah, Georgia, United States3 contributions4 helpful votes
I arrived at the hotel at 4:15 P.M. My room was not ready. They made me wait over 30 minutes only to tell me that I would not be able to stay in the room I had booked due to air conditioning issues. It seems all of their prime rooms were having this problem. They down graded me for my troubles and I had to call them to be sure I was not charged for the larger room. I am a Dimond member and was offered non of the benefits I should have been offered. The host was an obnoxious person who thought that everything was funny. Giggling after every sentence. Not seeming to care in the least. Their excuse was that they were busy. Then they lied and stated they did not downgrade me. You have to park across the street and the hotel charges more then the parking garage. The shower was clogged. The rooms are so called updated but throwing some wall paper up to cover the walls and putting up a few pictures is really not an upgrade. No phone in the so called upgraded rooms. Buyer beware. There are too many better options in the area then this place. For an actual Hilton hotel this place is a disgrace. I fly all over the country and have stayed at Many Hilton hotels. This is one of the worst. Now comes the response from the Hotel to let you all know how concerned and sorry they are. BS!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton st. louis downtown hotel saint louis, hilton saint louis, saint louis hilton
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSaint LouisDowntown
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch?
Nearby attractions include The Gateway Arch (0.3 miles), Top Notch Axe Throwing St. Louis (0.2 miles), and Mastermind Room Escape - St. Louis (0.1 miles).
What food & drink options are available at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tony's, Sugarfire Smoke House, and Carmine's Steak House.
Is Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Saint Louis.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Campbell House Museum (0.8 miles), Old Courthouse (0.1 miles), and The Old Cathedral (0.2 miles).
Does Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.