We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 123 hotels in Saint Louis

City Place - Downtown St. Louis

1,653 reviews
Save
Traveler (586)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (16)
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good21%
  • Average20%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible28%
Travelers talk about
“roof top pool”(23 reviews)
“gateway arch”(67 reviews)
“an older hotel”(33 reviews)
Free Wifi
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,653)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveler rating
207
348
324
315
421
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
207
348
324
315
421
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof top poolgateway archan older hotellarge roombit datedmississippi riverself parkingcourthousebaseball
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed here in November 2017. I was determined to find time to write this review one day. The reservation process for this hotel was misleading, we thought this hotel was a Crowne Plaza but it used to be a Crowne Plaza. Judging by the...More

Thank onebodynoexcuses
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. LouisResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our goal is to make sure every guest enjoys their stay. Therefore, it concerns to read about your unsatisfactory experience. It was never our intention to misrepresent our property in any way and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To start out me and my husband got to the hotel he checked in. He got back to the car and said it was really messed up in the lobby. We go up to our room and our hotel key doesn’t work. This happened twice....More

Thank Hailee P
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. LouisResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hailee, We would like to start by apologizing for any issues and undue stress you encountered during your time with us due to the conditions in the lobby, faulty door lock, or cleanliness of your room. These issues are not typical of the remarkable...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t even think about staying at this hotel. It is dusty, dark, dingy, and any other adjective you can think of about a terrible hotel. We checked in and finally got to the room just to notice that the beds weren’t made, trash wasn’t emptied,...More

1  Thank Grant W
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. LouisResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Grant, Thank you for sharing your experience as it's through our guest feedback that we believe improvements can be made. We sincerely apologize for the condition in which you found your room upon checking in. Housekeeping has been notified but please note this isn't...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I got a pretty good deal on the hotel however the rooms really need updating BAD! the last time I stayed at the hotel the conditions were even worse but the hotel is in the heart of downtown so I came back. I stay there...More

Thank car0lm123
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. LouisResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your return visit. We appreciate your insight regarding our rooms and we will share it with our team as we work to improve our guest experience here in St. Louis. It is wonderful, however, to hear that your experience with our service...More

Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

There's no way this is a 3 star hotel. Stayed five nights, had to ask for room to be serviced each morning, but it was never serviced until the very last day. We made countless calls to the front desk for service and towels, was...More

Thank Ian S
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. LouisResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Ian, Under no circumstance should a guest leave our property with the experience that your report reflects, and for that, we deeply apologize. We pride ourselves on the high level of customer service and quality accommodations we provide to our guests and are very...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456323
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (586)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (15)
Hotel & Grounds (310)
Bathroom (45)
Business Center & Event Rooms (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lizadarlin
August 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Amy K | Reviewed this property |
I too freaked out a bit. My room was clean, large and comfortable. Its not a luxury hotel by any means but not worth the worry. People seem to be very dramatic on theses reviews. Be nice to the staff and they will take... More
3
Votes
StephMay2015
July 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harmony L | Reviewed this property |
I would not suggest walking.
1
Vote
StephMay2015
June 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rich K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I know of.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ask for a high floor"
Read review
"Awful hotel"
Read review
"Rooms are huge...don't pay for more than one room...get a air mattress if needed"
Read review
"Pool is closed after labor day. That was mildly disappointing."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite