We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
212 N. Kingshighway Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63108
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$272
View deal
SuperTravel
$242
View deal
Booking.com$272
Travelocity$272
Official Website$302
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (415)
Room & Suite (217)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Updated 06/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 155 hotels in Saint Louis
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Located in the heart of the Central West End, The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza brings elegant style and old-world glamour to St. Louis. Discover luxurious amenities and service in the grandest of hotel traditions. With newly-renovated guest rooms, three onsite restaurants, a historic movie theater, 18,000 sq. ft. fitness center, outdoor Mediterranean-style swimming pool and over 65,000 square feet of meeting space to choose from, The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza is truly a "City within a City". This regal, Art Deco building is home to a celebrated history dating back to 1922. You'll find the city's premier attractions, including the lush landscapes of Forest Park, just steps from the hotel's front doors. A stay at the inspiring The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza is a visit you will long remember.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1950Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,111
  • 413
  • 204
  • 129
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael H wrote a review Sep 2022
92 contributions64 helpful votes
Amenities are very limited. Restaurants not open consistently, theater not open constantly, hallway stinks of cannabis, front desk staff not consistently pleasant. Walking to the parking deck I found empty bags of dope, apparently the hotel attracts that clientele. The woman that checked us out was clearly annoyed by our mere presence. Room was very small and cramped. There are rooms at other hotels that are equally or lesser priced with more available amenities. We had a leak in the bathroom sink and only about half of the power outlets worked in the room. A nice lobby isn’t enough to bring me back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 4 days ago
Dear michaelhN1267VU, Greetings from St. Louis and thank you for sharing your review. It was a pleasure to serve as your host though in finding your review, we are sorry to learn that your visit was not better enjoyed. As your comments note, our hotel houses a movie theatre that is popular with guests and locals alike and we apologize if our showtimes left you disappointed, though movies are shown daily on each of our five screens. To your point, our restaurants offer a balanced schedule which provides guests with options throughout the day, though with multiple restaurants and bars, some are closed on specific days of the week, and we apologize if this caused any inconvenience. Your added comments regarding the possibility of smoking leave us concerned as ours is a non-smoking hotel. Our leadership and security teams take brisk action with those disregarding that policy and we regret if we were not aware of the isolated incident mentioned within your review. We appreciate your added feedback, and we look forward to shining brighter should you be open to visiting again. If we can assist in making those plans and curating that spectacular visit, we invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoleilNeige wrote a review Sep 2021
San Francisco, California24 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I have stayed here monthly for a week for almost a year due to work. I find their suites great for doing work and finding some peace and quiet. This is an older hotel that has lots of charm from coat closets when you walk into your room, to shops in the lobby, an elaborate gym, and a great pool. The hotel is older so sounds can be heard from rooms next door which is the trade-off for staying in a beautiful older hotel and generally that is not a problem. The staff do an excellent job at accomodating guests and remembering your name greeting you when they have an opportunity. I dropped something in the garage and someone came running up behind me to make sure I had it. On my last trip, one of the assistant front desk managers, Kimberly Yancey, checked me in and I cannot say enough about how wonderful she was. She went out of her way to make my stay especially comfortable for 10 days. She had extra bottles of water in the fridge, real coffee mugs along with paper ones next to the coffee maker, a microwave placed on a counter with silverware and dishes, and a bathrobe hanging in the bathroom with slippers. You will not be disappointed staying here whether it's for one night or an extended stay. They do their best to make your stay comfortable and meet your expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a suite for more room. A quiet room will be those not facing Kingshighway or the pool...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Grace, It is a pleasure to welcome you month after month and we thank you for your loyalty to the Chase Park Plaza. We trust you have enrolled in our Sonesta Travel Pass program which was designed to reward our frequent guests with added benefits, and if you have not yet had a chance to enroll, we invite you to do so. We are delighted to know that each stay is always as great as the last and we delighted to read that Kimberly and her colleagues continue to take such great care of you. Kimberly is one of many gems on our team and we have already celebrated your kind words with her. She has asked that we pass along her gratitude and well wishes and of course we are all looking forward to your return. Once more, we thank you for taking the time to let others know what they can expect when joining us in the Central West-End and we invite you to be in touch if we can assist in planning your return. All the best, Matthew White Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nhmccarty wrote a review Sep 2022
Orlando, Florida
Being from STL, I go back to visit regularly. This was the first time bringing my 15 month old daughter. The Chase was perfect! Great location, plenty of space, beautiful property, and most importantly the staff was amazing. A special thank you to Monique from the front desk, Cynthia, the concierge, and Miss Brenda, hostess at the Preston restaurant. They made us all, especially my daughter, feel so very welcome. We are so happy we decided to stay at the Chase, and we will be making it our new home away from home in STL because of the exceptional team they have. Can’t wait to come back and stay with you again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nhmccarty, We thank you for your thoughtful review and for introducing a new young traveler to the Chase Park Plaza, one we look forward to hosting time and again for many years to come. Your kind words regarding our Royal Sonesta colleagues and in particular Monique, Cynthia and Miss Brenda will be celebrated at our daily team meeting, and we can assure you that endless smiles will be the result. On behalf of all of us overlooking the fall colors of Forest Park and the Central West-End, the pleasure was fully ours and we trust you are looking forward to your next visit just as much as we are. All the best, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maureenliebenson wrote a review Sep 2022
Highland Park, Illinois144 contributions87 helpful votes
We had a beautiful suite with a fantastic view from the 7th floor. Both rooms were a generous size with handsome furniture, and the marble bathroom was huge. The hotel lobby is splendid, and the bellhops were cheerful and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Keep your room "swipe card" with you as you need it to ride the elevator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 6 days ago
Dear maureenliebenson, As you quickly discovered, design is fully embraced within the Royal Sonesta brand and we are elated to read that our rich textiles fully impressed. While a well-appointed room goes a long way in impacting a guest experience, the hospitality and genuine welcome provided is even more important and we are pleased to read that our bellhops and lobby colleagues greeted you so warmly. On behalf of your many friends in the Central West-End, we thank you for the marvelous review and we hope to welcome you time and again for many years to come. Kind regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wilshireguy wrote a review Sep 2022
los angeles, ca22 contributions36 helpful votes
I wanted to like this hotel, but the service i received made me hate it. i have a bad back and try to get bedboards (wood between the mattress and box spring) in the bed, and always call in advance to talk to the front desk about this. in this hotel, its almost impossible to reach the front desk to talk to them. I tried calling a few days before my arrival and pressed 0 for the operator. I held on for five minutes with no answer, and then was disconnected. This happened five times before i finally gave up. i finally called central reservations which is offsite (thank god someone answered there) and told them about my request. i called the morning of my arrival before boarding my plane and, miracle of miracles, someone answered at the front desk. the woman found the note, said she would take care of it and asked for my number and said she would call me back to confirm this was handled. NO CALL BACK. i then arrived in St. Louis and spent the entire uber ride into town trying to call the hotel. I called no less than 7 times, and each time, after pressing 0, sat on hold for over five minutes (each time) and then was disconnected. I had to go to a meeting before checking into the hotel so arrived at the hotel around 8 p.m. I asked the receptionist about the bed boards and after reviewing the notes, he said they didn't have bedboards and they hadn't been able to fulfill my request. I have a very bad back and have had multiple surgeries, so i was very worried that i wouldn't be able to move after sleeping on a soft bed. I asked this receptionist to have the manager call me, i wasn't happy that i couldn't reach the hotel by phone, and he told me the manager would call me the next day. OF COURSE, THE MANAGER NEVER CALLED. the receptionist did call my room about an hour later and said that he was wrong, they had put a bed board in the bed. i thanked him and repeated my request to have the manager call me. He assured me this would be done, he had the note. THE MANAGER NEVER CALLED then, to top it off, after i left (there was a line at the receptionist, and i was told just to leave my key in a box, they would check me out), i discovered that there was a charge on my bill for $60 that i had never authorized (i saw it on my credit card). I didn't buy anything, i didn't have any of their food, i incurred no charges at this hotel. I don't know what this is for, but i called and left a message on their billing extension to inquire about this charge. I wonder whether that person will ever call me back. while the room was large and was a mini suite with a separate sitting room outside the bedroom, i do not think i would ever recommend anyone stay there based on my experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: don't get a room on the south side, facing the hospital. too noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amanda R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The Chase was my only choice for a wedding hotel. Its gorgeous, they gave us a great room rate, including free suite upgrades for us and our parents, and the location can't be beat. Our guests really appreciated having both Forest Park and the shops, restaurants, and grocery stores of the CWE within walking distance. We even had friends take in a film at the cinema and walk to the nearby metro to visit the arch and take in a Cardinals game during our wedding weekend. The pool was another amenity that we and our guests enjoyed, even in mid-September. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed--even a mini fridge that proved very useful for storing flowers and leftover cake! The staff were also wonderful. Cynthia, the concierge, really helped me on numerous occasions, including saving me a tremendous amount of time in finding somewhere to do color copies. Everyone was so friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a view of the park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear amandacurioustalcat, Congratulations once again to you and yours and thank you for allowing the Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta the opportunity to play a role in your celebratory wedding weekend. It was a joy to welcome so many friends and family members who gathered to be present on your special day and we are thrilled to learn that the weekend was so perfectly enjoyed. Your kind words regarding your interactions with our team members leave us beaming with pride as we have long believed it is their genuine hospitality which creates moments like those described within your review. We look forward to highlighting your review at our next daily meeting and we thank you once more for taking the time a shine a light on your experience. On behalf of all of us, the pleasure was fully ours and we hope our hotel is one that is held close to your hearts for many years to come. Warmest regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSuM0m wrote a review Sep 2022
Plymouth, Michigan21 contributions27 helpful votes
We had a 4 night stay at the hotel while visiting family in the area. It was wonderful start to finish. The staff was friendly and professional. A few really stood out to us. Angie at the Chase Club was one. She took the time to answer our questions regarding the cocktail and food options. She then made her recommendations and we had the perfect meal. The floor staff for room servicing was also exceptional. Our room was well appointed and the bed/bedding was luxurious. Cazima and Velida were helpful, efficient and made sure we had what we needed. I would not hesitate to book again and will certainly recommend the Chase Park to friends/family traveling to STL.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Check if a room with a view of Forest Park is available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MSuM0m, Learning that you would join us again is certainly the greatest of compliments and we will be sure to let Cazima, Velida, and Angie know that their efforts have hopefully won us a loyal Royal Sonesta guest. We thank you for taking the time to share praises of those who most stood out and we are delighted to read that our entire team formed a constellation of shining stars. It was a pleasure to serve as your host and we invite you to be in touch if we can assist in planning your next visit in the Central West-End. Until then. Warm regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We truly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the hotel. Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We ate lunch daily at the Chase Club and highly recommend. Our service was outstanding. We cannot wait to visit again. The parking was convenient and staff was friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear R6130DKkevinc, We feel the same way in that we are eagerly anticipating your return and we look forward to another stellar experience. Your kind words regarding the attention to detail provided by our Royal Sonesta housekeeping team resulted in endless smiles when we shared your review at our daily team meeting, and your many friends at the Chase Club extend their gratitude for the thoughtful feedback regarding your many dining experiences. With more stays in your future, and perhaps added experiences with our sister Royal Sonesta properties in locations like New Orleans, San Francisco and Houston, we invite you to be in touch if we can assist in making those plans, or enrolling you in our Sonesta Travel Pass Program. We are always just a phone call or email away! Warm regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Val C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We have only the highest praise for our stay last month. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the location across from Forest Park where we took our daily early morning walks. The entire staff from the valets, front desk, waitstaff, housekeeping and management treated us like royalty. We highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Val C, Your recommendation means the world to us, and we thank you for choosing our hotel to serve as your city abode, overlooking the magnificent views of Forest Park. Your accolades of our Royal Sonesta housekeeping team will be celebrated at our next team meeting and your added feedback of the genuine hospitality offered throughout leaves us beaming with pride. On behalf of all of us, the pleasure was truly ours and we hope the months and years ahead provide you the chance to join us again. If we can ever assist in planning your return, we invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo L wrote a review Sep 2022
We loved our Suite, my family had a blast enjoying the pool and walking around the neighborhood, we were in town for a baseball game and it was very convenient, male sure you don’t miss the restaurant’s brunch, it was phenomenal!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 528juanpablol, We trust the baseball game enjoyed a similar victory and we thank you for taking the time to let others know more about your recent Royal Sonesta visit. We are elated to learn that your visit allowed you the chance to take in the endless charms of our Central West-End neighborhood, and of course the fresh farm-to-table ingredients featured on our weekend brunch menu. Once more, the pleasure was truly ours and we look forward to you visiting time and again for many years to come. All the best, Paul Filla General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chase park plaza hotel saint louis, park plaza chase, park plaza saint louis, saint louis park plaza
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSaint LouisCentral West End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
398
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Nearby attractions include World Chess Hall of Fame (0.2 miles), Chase Park Plaza cinema (0.01 miles), and Bar Louie StLouis (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kingside Diner, The Tenderloin Room, and Taste.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Campbell House Museum (3.5 miles), Old Courthouse (4.3 miles), and The Old Cathedral (4.4 miles).
Does The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.