We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Visit hotel website
Traveler (284)
Room & Suite (84)
Storyboard

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Named to the National Historic Register and a 2015 AAA Four Diamond Recipient, the St. Louis Magnolia Hotel originally opened in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss. The hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. The hotel is now one of the most recognized in the area for it's historical significance and elegant decor.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Water park offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Paid private parking nearby
Parking garage
Secured parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Free wifi in the business center
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Swahili
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals
936Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 606
  • 214
  • 68
  • 28
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent about a week and absolutely loved this hotel. Very friendly and clean. Also very quiet. Their restaurant had such great food. The wings and pizza are must haves and the staff was very friendly! No complaints whatsoever!
Read more
I have stayed in this hotel before. I loved it the first time. However, this stay we got the “deluxe” king. There is nothing deluxe about it! It is the smallest room I have ever been in. You can barely turn around. The closet is almost inaccessible. AC is very subpar The “view” is a hole between buildings. And a lovely rooftop cluttered with industrial equipment and debris. Manage was completely oblivious and unresponsive to my request to move.
Read more
Response from Christine C, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share comments during your stay, pkshin. I do apologize for your disappointment with the room you reserved. As a historical building having gone through many renovations since 1925, we offer several guest room and guest suite floor plans, which allow guests to reserve which floor plan best fits their individual needs. I also apologize for the neighboring buildings that have more stories than we do; I wish we had more control over this aspect. When the hotel is fully committed, we unfortunately are unable to move guests from one room to another. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to hosting you again if and when your travels find you in downtown St. Louis.
Read more
+1
Stay Report - 7/27 - 7/28 Location: Very well located for downtown St. Louis.  The hotel is on 8th Street a block south of Washington.  This puts you a block from the convention center and a few blocks from America's Center (the former TWA Dome).  You're a half mile to Busch Stadium, two blocks from a Metrolink Station and near a number of restaurants.  STL is about a $35 Uber ride away.   Hotel: A gorgeous historic building from the 1930s and in great shape too.  The hotel is actually smaller than you'd expect due to the narrowness of the building.  The lobby has a very small check in area and and a pretty, though small bars and restaurants.  Do note that the three elevators are also (you guessed it) small and it means some long waits and also by the time they get to you on the lower floors you might not be able to get in. Check In: My brother and I arrived at 10:30 PM and we were told that they were oversold on two queen suites (which I'd booked) so we were being upgraded to one of their penthouse suites but that it had only one bed.  Thankfully we've been in this situation before but I'm glad I wasn't traveling with a friend.  Room: In a word, incredible.  I'm a classic movie buff so all the Cary Grant memorbillia as well as the classic style of the room.  There was a small fridge and coffee station in part of the living room which was a really comfortable room to hang out in (and had a great couch).  The bedroom was nice and there were no noise issues.  The only bad part is the older nature meant it was hard to find an outlet. The bathroom was a bit of a letdown though but it was nice having a separate shower and bath. Breakfast: A huge disappointment.  The hotel setup a really bad buffet in their small bar.  They had potatoes, scrambled eggs, ham, sausage and toast.  Service was not good and the room is far too small.  If I was here again I'd absolutely skip it. Overall this hotel works for when you need to be downtown and I like the historic nature and the rooms.  I just won't eat breakfast again.  
Read more
This is a lovely boutique hotel in a historic building dating back to the 1920’s. Very quiet and within walking distance to a few unique restaurants. If you prefer a shorter walk to the ballpark, perhaps choose a different hotel. For meals, you can order from a menu and the charge is $15 for breakfast and $26 for dinner. We found cheaper food elsewhere. A free continental breakfast would have made our stay here more convenient & economical. The room was very clean when we arrived and chocolates on the pillows a nice touch. However, housekeeping did not enter our room for our entire stay as beds weren’t made, towels and coffee etc not replenished — I would expect more from a hotel of this class as far as that is concerned.
Read more
Response from Christine C, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
enJOYthejourney1115, Thank you for choosing Magnolia Hotel St. Louis for your recent travels and taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the historic charm and convenient location. We strive to provide the highest level of hospitality and quality fresh food to our guests. I hope you let us know about the Housekeeping issue while you were here so we had the opportunity to rectify your concerns. Perhaps you signed up for the Make a Green Choice option which declines Housekeeping service. I can assure you we do offer full Housekeeping services as a standard. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit to St. Louis!
Read more
+1
We received a warm welcome when checking in and was on our way to our room shortly after. The suite was very spacious and featured a comfy sitting area. There wasn’t much of a view but we didn’t spend a ton of time in the room. The bathroom was a good size but the best part of the room was the bed. Oh my the bed was incredibly comfortable! It was almost like sleeping on a cloud bed and it was nice to have a bottom sheet that actually confirmed to the mattress instead of it being a top sheet that never stays tucked in (like most other hotels do). We had s great overall experience and would most certainly stay here again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wyndham roberts mayfair, the mayfair hotel st louis, wyndham saint louis, saint louis wyndham
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSaint LouisDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing