We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Taylors Road, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (129)
Room & Suite (65)
Pool & Beach (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cumberland Resort & Spa
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 15 Specialty lodging in Burnt Pine
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
4 STAR AFFORDABLE LUXURY, SPA INDULGENCE RESORT. WHY NOT PAMPER YOURSELF?Free Rental Car (excl. insurance), Personal Return Airport Transfers, Town Tour, Breakfast Starters (incl. eggs, bread loaf, juice, milk, condiments). Relax and put balance back into your life at this intimate boutique resort set in tropical gardens. Centrally located, there are 1-, 2-, 3-, 4- & even 5-bedroom options - every exec bedroom has en-suite bathroom with spa bath or massage spa shower, or both. Enjoy a week of indulging.Soak in the hydrotherapy heated swim spa, de-tox in the infra red Sauna or take in a few hours of massage and body treatments at the day spa. Stroll a few minutes to trendy cafes, restaurants and shops. With your free rental car you can explore the island at will. Then, come home to Cumberland and just chill out on your private spacious, sunny verandah. Utilize the onsite friendly managers with their local knowledge, book a tour or spa treatment.Property Features: Heated Swim Spa, sauna, day spa, tour desk, wireless internet, DVD movie library, snorkel gear/beach towels, guest laundry, central location, en-suite massage showers & spa baths, satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort, tennis (nearby).Room Features: Fully equipped kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, picnic sets, snorkel gear, wireless internet and all the modern features you have come to expect.Heated Swim Spa Sauna.Onsite Day Spa Massage,Tour Desk Fulltime Reception, Free Wi-Fi, DVD movies (450+) Library, Games Snorkel Gear Guest Laundry Central Location, Foxtel satellite TV (57+ channels), Tennis (nearby).En-suite Massage Showers,Spa Baths Beach towels & Chairs Room Features: Fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, Waterfalls, Picnic Sets.Also, indulge with the White House, where leisure meets luxury.Located in the prestigious Buck's Point area, this Presidential, five-bedroom hillside ocean view spa villa is for your Exclusive Indulgence - no other guests or neighbours. Enjoy absolute luxury and total privacy with breathtaking 180 degree panoramic ocean views from all rooms & massive wrap-around verandahs. Includes your own Turkish Sauna, separate Finnish sauna, outdoor jacuzzi/spa, indoor spa bath, skydeck, 8-seater mini-van, and private 8-acre bush walk.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bowling
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Squash
Archery offsite
Fishing
Patio
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
318Reviews5Q+A95Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 70
  • 8
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Diane M wrote a review Jun 2022
Tasmania, Australia39 contributions3 helpful votes
I have just returned from an 8 night stay at Cumberland Resort and Spa with my auntie and we enjoyed every moment of it. Tima is a real gem and goes out of her way to make your holiday go smoothly. We stayed in Unit 5 which is 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms which was great for the two of us but I think would not be large enough for 4 people, but there is an outdoor covered area which is roomy and there is so much to see and do that you don't need to spend a lot of time in the unit. We were disappointed that the spa is not operating as we wanted some pampering and a massage but we were able to have a massage a short distance away. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no noise. The breakfast pack was a nice touch and the location is great, just a short walk to shops, cafes and clubs. I will definitely stay here when I return to 'Paradise".
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.
Read more
razza61 wrote a review Jun 2022
Gatton, Australia328 contributions137 helpful votes
We had the most wonderful week on Norfolk staying here and enjoying the warmest hospitality provided by Rael & his staff, especially Gaye. Nothing was ever too much bother for them and our stay and comfort was their utmost priority. Upon arrival we were surprised to receive an upgrade to the house at the back of the property which definitely made our time more comfortable with so much room to spread out, beneficial when travelling with friends. We were given a breakfast basics package of bread, eggs, milk, butter & spreads which helped enormously until we got settled and organised. The garden also has several fruit trees that you can help yourself to the fruit. The complimentary car that goes with your booking was fantastic. We had to pay for the daily insurance, but to not have to go elsewhere to organise car hire was awesome and it gave us so much freedom to explore the island while there. We booked night tours generally (that can be organised at reception) and we were always picked up at the covered bus stop at the front of the complex. The Resort itself is an easy walk to the town centre and a large range of bars/restaurants. I can't remember the last place I stayed that was as welcoming and accommodating as Cumberland, so thank you Rael and your staff for a wonderful stay on Norfolk....we will recommend to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and lovely comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. It was our pleasure. We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Read more
bris_girl80 wrote a review May 2022
Brisbane, Australia81 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here recently for our honeymoon and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and were shown around our villa, up until the moment we left, we were treated like family. On arrival, we received a complimentary breakfast pack (eggs, bread, butter, milk and juice along with an assortment of condiments) - oh, and a bottle of sparkling wine! The accommodation was very comfortable; two king size rooms, an en-suite with massive shower off one of the rooms and a shower over spa tub in another. The lounge was equipped with dvd player (and hundreds of dvds to borrow from the office) and with free WIFI internet (which can be patchy with iphones but we got around that problem). Laundry was $5 per load; $5 for washing and $5 for clothes drier (there was no need for the drier as the weather was perfect and clothes could be hung on the line provided in the cabin). The resort provided a rental car complimentary (with only the insurance to be paid daily) which was very useful to explore the island. There was a heated spa on-site which was lovely to take a dip in. There were three little dogs on site who belonged to the owner; the dogs were so friendly. I can't thank Gail and Rael enough for our wonderful stay. We saw Gail and Rael most days on their walk past our cabin and were always with a smile on their face.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you a fantastic future and please come back to visit one day, maybe for an anniversary.
Read more
rosscoSydney wrote a review May 2022
Peakhurst, Australia42 contributions17 helpful votes
I have been to Norfolk 6 times now and the Cunberland resort is the best place I have stayed. The nice touch was the brekky pack, including eggs, butter, jams, juice and a loaf of bread waiting in case you didn't feel like shopping on arrival. Rail was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble for him. The staff were extremely friendly and would always greet you. The rooms were very clean and every thing you could need was supplied. A welcome surprise was the dishwasher. The private outdoor area was large and you even have your own BBQ. Coffee making facilities are supplied and a mobile phone for use on the island was a welcome surprise. I am going back and Cumberland will be my stay from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: I stayed in a 2 bed and a 1 bed and found them both quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded May 15, 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Stay safe.
Read more
Deborah D wrote a review Apr 2022
Cessnock, Australia1472 contributions201 helpful votes
+1
The staff at Cumberland resort were very helpful and friendly. We were picked up by Baunti Tours and transported back when we left. A half day introductory tour was included as well as car hire for our whole trip. The car had instructions in Chinese or Japanese, which the management did not know how to change. The 1 bedroom apartment was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Even had a dishwasher! Plenty of equipment with which to cook. The spa pool was covered over and not too inviting because of the weather. The location is terrific with shops and restaurants close by on the main street or only a short drive away. The apartment had privacy screens all around. A small courtyard had a BBQ, a water feature and outdoor lighting with seating and a table.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Suite 4 is quiet and roomy
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 23, 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
ptr246 wrote a review Dec 2021
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at Cumberland Resort and Spa, Norfolk Island, for 10 nights in a two bedroom unit. We were met at the airport by Baunti Tours who provided the transfer to Cumberland. On arrival we were met by Tima (Operations Manager) who provided a warm welcome. She took us to our unit and explained essential information such as the arrangements for changing towels, the operating procedure for the gas stove and the system for recycling rubbish. The entire unit was spotlessly clean. It was spacious. The kitchen was modern with a full- sized fridge. The cupboards and drawers were well stocked with the all of the things you would expect to find, such as plates, cups, cutlery, saucepans, frypan, toaster, electric jug, etc. There were plenty of cutting knives – and they were sharp! In the combined lounge / dining room, there was a good sized dining room table and a comfortable lounge. We appreciated the Foxtel TV channels. The two bedrooms had comfortable beds and high quality pillows, all with clean linen. There was adequate storage space in the cupboards. Once we had settled in, we made our way to the office to sign the car rental contract, pay the insurance and collect the keys. We were in for a pleasant surprise, because the allocated car was brand new. Like the unit, the car was spotlessly clean. On day 2, we made our way to the office, where we met Rael (Manager). Rael’s welcome was warm and friendly, just like Tima’s the day before. We asked Raul to make some tour bookings and restaurant bookings for us. The bookings were promptly made. When it came to local recommendations about what to do on the island, Rael was a wealth of knowledge. During the rest of our stay, whenever Rael or Tima saw us, they acknowledged us and asked us how we were going. We were treated more like a family member rather than a customer. Cumberland Resort and Spa is located in a central spot. It is in the main street. You can walk to the shops and cafes in two to three minutes. Directly opposite is the Gas Pump which is a garage selling fuel and a convenience store in one. The shop is quite interesting, as it has a historical theme with many artifacts and photos on display. Because Cumberland is geographically situated in the middle of the island, most attractions, such as the National Park, Mount Pitt, Captain Cook’s Landing Lookout, Anson’s Bay, Emily Bay, the Hundred Acres Reserve, the Kingston Convict Ruins and surrounding museums can be reached by car in no more than 15 minutes. All good things come to an end and we were sad to leave the island. We will come back again and will definitely be re-booking a stay at Cumberland Resort and Spa - Peter and Alex
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Thank you for the very informative feedback. This is very helpful for future guests. Thank you for your lovely comments too.
Read more
DoctorDelicious wrote a review Dec 2021
23 contributions27 helpful votes
We visited the Cumberland resort for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was large, clean and well appointed. Our host Tima and her team were friendly and helpful. Norfolk Island has just started welcoming guests from NSW/ACT and Victoria and we were made feel welcome. The fresh bread and eggs were a welcoming treat. Our package included wine and chocolate too. During our stay we borrowed snorkelling gear and saw lots of fish and coral at Emily Bay. Our car got us around the island and although petrol is pricey it didn’t cost much to fill up. We visited the golden orb cafe at Tima’s suggestion and the brunch and coffee were good, in a relaxing garden setting. Our only negative was our little fridge didn’t freeze the ice trays, but the housekeeping lady gave us ice from another freezer. I would return in a heart beat. Thanks for recharging our batteries in paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 25, 2022
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back one day.
Read more
Travelulrike wrote a review Nov 2021
Palm Beach, Australia32 contributions8 helpful votes
Their signature grand White House was perfect for our group of 8. It came with great views, a jacucci on the verandah and main bathroom ( plus there were 2 more bathrooms) , a van to explore the island , a generous starter pack and great customer service. Teama and Real ( 2 Managers) looked after us in every possible way. With lots of suggestions where to dine, places to see . We were truly surprised how much there is to do on Norfolk and how beautiful the island is. We will be back. Thank you for a great holiday. Oh, and it is so !easy to get there ( direct flight from Brisbane) Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 21, 2021
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and the helpful service. We hope to welcome you again one day.
Read more
Anna M wrote a review Oct 2021
Brisbane, Australia12 contributions
+1
Everyone at Cumberland Resort was wonderful! They all went above and beyond and were always very helpful and lovely. We paid extra for a baby pack such included a cot, high chair and car seat but when we got there one of the girls went and found a baby bath and changing table for us too which was very thoughtful. They were also very thoughtful to not ring us in the morning (we received various messages during our 2 week stay) so as not to wake baby! Tima and Rael particularly were also on hand to help and offer advice on where to go and what to see and helped us with bookings etc. (As a side note there is currently no option to use any mobile, Australian or otherwise on norfolk. If you need data or phone calls you need to purchase a sim card. You can buy a tourist plan for $20 which gives you and calls and 2gb data. If you need to be on the internet I'd recommend this as WiFi on the island is very temperamental!) The accommodation itself has everything you need, oven, microwave, fridge freezer, picnic set which we used many times!! We had a fab king bed with the best softest sheets ever!! Do not expect modern suped up technology as it is not what this island is about and would be totally out of place on norfolk island. Our flight was delayed by 24hours due to bad weather and we were lucky no one had booked into our villa after us so we were able to stay another night. The resort has an extensivr dvd selection so we happily watched films all day😆
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Shops close at 3pm and 12.30 on wed & sat!! Supermarket is open longer though. Restaurants/cafes...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and the family. We are so pleased that you had a good time and adjusted to island life so easily, and has the opportunity to spend valuable time together with your folks too. It was our pleasure to meet such a wonderful family. We'd love to welcome you back one day. Our best wishes.
Read more
krcBrisbane wrote a review Sep 2021
Brisbane35 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed in the September school holidays - 2 adults and 2 kids. We had 4 wonderful nights at Cumberland with Tima and the team. We stayed in Unit 10 which is the house and it was amazing! Fully equipped, plenty of space, clean and very comfortable. The highlight though was the wonderful staff! I emailed Tima before we arrived and enquired about a birthday cake for my daughter turning 6. She not only made the cake (to order ... upon my daughters request for an Oreo cake), she went out of her way to find a #6 candle, balloons, a sign and other decorations ... it was there waiting for us when we got back from our morning out and about (and it was delicious). We were all so touched at the effort the Tima went too! The resort is in a good location - close to town but not in the Main Street, the gardens and spa pool were beautifully looked after (the kids had a couple of fun afternoons in the spa pool.... nice and warm).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Rael Donde, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting the family and helping to celebrate your daughter's birthday in this way, All our staff love to provide a personal touch to our guest experience, and we try to exceed our guests' expectations whenever we can. We'd love to welcome you back one day.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cumberland hotel burnt pine
LOCATION
AustraliaNorfolk IslandBurnt Pine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cumberland Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Reflections of Norfolk Island (0.2 miles), Diamonds Exclusive (0.3 miles), and MiniBar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hot Krust Bakery, Castaway Restaurant and Bar, and The Olive Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Cumberland Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Cumberland Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Cumberland Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Norfolk Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cumberland Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.