We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaway Norfolk Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castaway Norfolk Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival I felt welcome in this family friendly run motel. I'm a fussy eater and they cater to my needs as if it was not too much trouble... Unfortunately I was near the dining room and every noise carry through to my room...was quite noisy until 11 pm. Perfect position to walk to town and pick up zones. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank 74minerva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Sarah and Tony are owner operators at Castaways, and they go out of their way to make you feel welcomed from day one. The hotel is tucked away from the main drag, but is a short walking distance to the centre of town. Rooms have been recently renovated, are quite spacious and very comfortable. Highly recommended if your staying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrie R
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Barrie Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Castaway. We love it that we are right in town but tucked back enough that it feels like you are in the country! Thank you for recommending or hotel. Regards Sarah and Tony More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Sarah and her husband Tony went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were so helpful with any special requests, and their attitude flowed right through all the staff. We loved our stay there. The hotel is conveniently located in town.

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre G
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Deirdre Thank you for your review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We like to make everyone feel welcome and at home. We are very lucky to have a good team of staff too. Thank you for staying. Feel free to visit our bit of paradise anytime again! Regards Sarah and Tony More 

Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Located close to town, Room had a view over sea garden. The shower is ideal for those with poor mobility, no step into, only draw back is that the tiles appear not to be non slip. The owners were more than helpful in helping us plan our free time, our stay was part of an organised tour.

Helpful?
Thank Rik M
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very lucky to be the most centrally located hotel on the island. We have just renovated most bathrooms in our hotel. They are a modern design with seamless access to the large shower area. The tiles are non slip however we have suction handles and floor mats avaiabile to guests... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We have just returned from a week long stay on Norfolk Island. Our choice of accommodation could not have been better. Sarah and Tony who own and operate the Castaway make you feel welcome and at home from the minute you walk into reception. Really great Hosts. The rooms have recently been renovated and offer a wide choice from standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Wayne, We are glad you enjoyed your stay on our little Island. You sure did pick a good week for the weather! and especially for Golf! We really enjoyed your group of friends staying with us at the Castaway. Also pleased to hear you were happy with all the facilities we have on offer. We are doing our best... More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We recently stayed at the Castaway for a week with a small group of travellers. We found our hosts, Tony and Sarah, to be most welcoming and eager to ensure we all had an enjoyable time. They were extremely accommodating with any request from our group, including cooking up the catch of the day from one of our members. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandivMelbourne
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Thank you staying at the Castaway and taking the time to review our hotel. We love or guests to feel part of the family! Glad you enjoyed the Fish too. Thank you again Sarah and Tony More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Recently spent a week on Norfolk with a group of amateur photographers. Our travel agent recommended Castaway. What a winner! Great location, central with scenic outlook and terrific ambience. Nice modern accommodation, excellent meals. Best of all were our hosts,Sarah and Tony who from the outset were more like old friends than than hotel proprietors. Their willingness to go beyond... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tedman2016
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Ted Thanks so much for your review and organising a lovely group of people to stay with us a the Castaway. Im really pleased you enjoyed the accommodation and central location. We hope you all visit again sometime in the future. Thank you again Sarah and Tony More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Good clean room, perfect bed. Water from shower all over the floor [ bad design] Good Breakfast. Friendly staff. Very Disappointed from start to finish with our stay due to the way this resort was run. No lunch or dinner offered to us. Confused with Air Port transfuses [that are supplied free to the Resort]. I would not stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank HoldenHZ
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Dear Holden HZ - Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly I am pleased you enjoyed your room, the breakfasts and our staff, however I would like to get to the bottom of why you were disappointed with your stay and the way our hotel was run. My Husband and I live at the hotel and... More 

Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

This was my second stay on Norfolk with the Castaway crew. They are MADE for hospitality. Lawns and gardens are neat, & really green.The attention to detail, relaxed, cheerful, and friendly service all made my stay delightful. The Castaway just gets better and better. Our meals in the restaurant were second to none, breakfasts more than adequate, devonshire tea, wow... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ggtsvale
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Dear Gayle Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Im glad you noticed the changes during your second visit. We are constantly working to upgrade our property to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and wonderful holiday. Hopefully we see you again sometime in the future. Regards Sarah Tony Stella and of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Travelled to Norfolk Island as a group of 17 adults and accommodation at Castaway was organised for us. A number of us stayed in apartments that were well set up with everything required to cook a meal. The other half of the group stayed in rooms without a kitchen, but with tea and coffee facilities. Both lots of accommodation were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jabba15
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So pleased your group enjoyed there stay on Norfolk Island and at the Castaway. We feel its important to offer Self Contained apartments as well as hotel rooms to our guests. It gives people the option o do their own cooking if they wish! We like our guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.6 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#4 of 5 in Norfolk Island
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Endeavour Lodge
Endeavour Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kingston
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tin Sheds - Norfolk Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
About Castaway Norfolk Island Castaway Norfolk Island is owned and run by Sarah and Tony Watts who have undertaken an extensive refurbishment program to present Norfolk Island's newest addition to its accommodation offerings. Built in the 1970s by Sarah's grandfather, Ken Prentice, The Castaway, as it then was, had a long and illustrious life as one of Norfolk's cherished accommodation houses. Sarah has taken on the rejuvenation of this Norfolk icon as a personal challenge and Castaway Norfolk Island has flourished under her energetic approach. Sarah, Tony, baby Stella and schnoodle, Pepsi, make Castaway Norfolk Island your home away from home. Location Situated in the heart of Burnt Pine, Norfolk's shopping, cafe and commercial hub, Castaway Norfolk Island is the most centrally located guest accommodation on the Island. But don't expect hustle and bustle! Our breakfast cafe has panoramic mountain views, while our well-appointed rooms overlook our enormous banyan tree or neighbouring Phillip Island. Staying at Castaway Norfolk Island, you are at the heart of everything, but enjoy the peace and quiet of a secret hideaway. The Property Castaway Norfolk Island underwent a major refurbishment at the beginning of 2015, so you now have the choice of fourteen freshly renovated rooms and apartments in a beautifully landscaped garden. In addition, you can enjoy the amenities of the brand new breakfast cafe and bar, with French windows overlooking Mt Pitt and Mt Bates and the massive fire place promising cosy warmth in the cooler months. The extensive renovations have been carefully designed with our guests' comfort in mind. The fresh vibrant look and the latest fixtures and fittings invite you to kick back and soak up that holiday feeling. Unwind at the bar, on the cafe terrace or the patio of your room. Take a quick stroll to the shops, or take in one of the many tours or attractions on offer. You will have a wealth of choices at Castaway Norfolk Island. Facilities: - Lively Restaurant and Bar - Meeting room - Complimentary guest laundry - Clothes lines - Fully serviced rooms - Mobile wood-fired pizza oven - On-site managers - One of the largest banyan trees on the island ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaway Norfolk Island

Address: Taylors Road, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Price Range: $114 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Norfolk Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castaway Norfolk Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Norfolk Island South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay