We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fantasy Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fantasy Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Fantasy Island Resort
 Click to rate
Lismore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for a week in a one bedroom apartment. Sharon is a great host who picks you up from the airport in a courtesy bus and gives you a mini tour of the island. The apartment was clean and tidy with everything you would want. Love that the resort is tucked away giving it a sense...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank browndogLismore
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Di and Steve, Thank you so much for your great review of Fantasy Island and for pointing out some of the features of the resort. Glad you particularly mentioned our handy location, as we feel we have the best of both worlds: in town for shopping and dining convenience but, at the same time, it feels like you're out...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We flew (David and I and daughter Miranda }with Air New Zealand from Sydney to Norfolk. There we were met by Sharon (the owner of Fantasy Island Resort) who picked us up, took us round the various places in Burnt Pine to familarise us and then to our apartment which suite was two bedroom with en suite - in between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan_david_74_76
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your wonderful and comprehensive review of Fantasy Island and of the activities nearby that you and your family enjoyed, as well as some of the many adventures Norfolk Island has to offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again. Kindest regards, Sharon...

Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Reviewed December 16, 2016

A friend and I stayed for a week here during the Jazz Festival. Sharon and Staff are so friendly and helpful. Sue looked after all our needs and gave us some tips about island life. The courtesy bus will pick you up and give you an orientation tour and Sharon tells you the best spots to eat and shop. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56valli
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Val, Thank you so much for your lovely and informative review of Fantasy Island, describing some of the services we offer our guests. It was great to have you, and we're looking forward to your return. Kind regards, Sharon and Staff

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Typical type of accommodation for Norfolk island holiday units with kitchen and small terrace, First visited Island 9 years ago and little has changed, but whole island showing signs of slow down in economy, brought about by political situation and dwindling population. In spite of this the Island is unique and beautiful, perfect for a restful holiday, visit now before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glendarobson
Albany
Reviewed November 22, 2016

On a short break with my 82 year old mum to celebrate her birthday, what a wonderful place to stay. Centrally located, two bedrooms with adjoining kitchen, dining / lounge area, everything we needed including an absolutely amazing host, Sharon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petasc
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Peta, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Fantasy Island, with special mention of our popular two-bedroom apartments. We really enjoyed having you both with us and hope next time you'll stay a bit longer. Warm regards, Sharon.

Hunter Valley, Australia
Reviewed October 30, 2016

A friend and I stayed for a week and would highly recommend it to others, Sharon is more than helpful, always a friendly smile and her staff Sue and Neil go above and beyond to help with any needs, I look forward to going back one day, the room was great a lovely balcony and very quiet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_612
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Pat, Thank you for you for your lovely review. Our guests are very important to us, and it was a pleasure to have you and Val staying with us. We'll look forward to your next visit. All the best, Sharon and crew.

Reviewed October 4, 2016

The rental car supplied by the motel to us was crap. It made all sorts of strange noises, and the auto transmission gear box would not change down to low automatically .Borrys rental cars on Norfolk had much better rental cars, which is important as the roads in part are terrible with pot holes/patches.The motel only supply enough tea,coffee, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon and Lanc... S
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sharon and Lance, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn you were unhappy with our service, as we do pride ourselves on our high level of customer service. Your car was re-rented shortly after your departure, with no mention of any mechanical problems experienced. As we are a self-catering accommodation, we normally put in a...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Just returned for a very enjoyable stay at fantasy Island resort. We stayed in a spacious one bedroom apartment which was clean and comfortable with a cosy gas heater for the cooler nights. As soon as we arrived the property manager Sue showed us where everything was in town which was very helpful. The property has lovely views across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Annette and Steve, Thank you for your lovely review of Fantasy Island and for pointing out our handy position to town and the shops.. Glad you found the Town Tour helpful, too. All the best, Sharon and staff

Reviewed September 10, 2016

Accommodation in the heart of the main shopping area was a huge plus making it easy to walk to. The well maintained rooms and beautiful gardens are set back from the main road, so it was very peaceful. Loved the initial quick tour around the town with Sharon pointing out places to eat, roadside stalls, markets days etc. The inclusion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne B
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Roxanne and Daniel, Thank you for your great review of Fantasy Island and especially for mentioning some of the features that helped make your 30th anniversary a special place to celebrate. With warm regards from all of us at Fantasy.

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

I had an absolutely fabulous time at Fantasy Island Resort and even though I was on my own Sharon, Sue and Neil made me feel part of the family and would go out of their way to help with anything. Such hospitality, beautiful grounds and immaculately kept rooms. Thanks so much xxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadann
Sharon T, General Manager at Fantasy Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Thank you for your lovely review. You were a delight to have with us, and we are looking forward to your return. With warm regards, your Fantasy Island family.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.7 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#4 of 5 in Norfolk Island
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 47 in Norfolk Island
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantasy Island Resort is a newer complex centrally located in the Burnt Pine Shopping District, across from the Bicentennial Complex, which is home to the Visitors’ Information Centre, the Post Office and Philatelic Bureau, the Liquor Mart, and the popular Sunday Market. It is also opposite Rawson Hall, where many of Norfolk Island’s major events are held, including the Country Music Festival (May), Ballroom Dancing (June), the Jazz Festival (Dec) and the Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Show (October). There’s a playground across the road to entertain the younger set, too. Cafes, clubs, and restaurants are within easy walking distance. It’s only a 10-minute drive to our World Heritage area, museums, pristine beaches and golf course. The Resort is located at the southern end of the property and spread over 4 acres of subtropical landscaping, featuring exotic hibiscus, bird of paradise and tropical fruit trees. Here you can relax and enjoy the quiet and peaceful ness of the Island (and the bright stars at night!). The morning sun warms your private balcony and is a great spot to have breakfast and take in the views over the valley and to the ocean and islands beyond. On the other side of your unit, you can bask in the afternoon sun and, later, marvel at the beautiful sunsets. These modern, self-catering, luxury units are tastefully furnished in tropical décor and offer a choice of a studio, one or two-bedrooms, each bedroom with ensuite. The studio is suitable for one or two persons and is ideal for the budget-conscious. The one-bedroom is spacious and comfortable. The two-bedroom is perfect for 2 couples travelling together and for families (and snorers!). It is actually 2 units, a one-bedroom and a studio with an interconnecting door, but separated by a spacious lounge/dining/kitchen area, which in turn, affords a great deal of privacy between the bedrooms. For a small (or large) family gathering or group of friends, you might consider a block of units, as each block is made up of 2 one-bedroom units (one on either end) and 2 studios in the middle, with an interconnecting door between each one-bedroom and studio, providing each room with an ensuite, private balcony, and entrance. All units have kitchen facilities, choice of comfortable king or twin beds, cable TV, DVD players (and a selection of free DVDs), fans, heaters and hairdryers. We also have wireless/Wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Resort

Address: Taylors Road | Norfolk Island, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Price Range: $93 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fantasy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Resort Norfolk Island, South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fantasy Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most rooms have valley views through to the ocean.....beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles 56valli, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 24, nice views over the water and hills. So and peaceful, the whole island !! and a wonderful clear view of the evening sky.”
  • Adequate kitchen area for those wishing to cook (we felt it more important to support the locals
  • View across the hills
  • Neat and clean amenities with everything needed
  • Large built in robe (also housing iron and ironing board)
  • View across the water
  • Entrance to the resort
  • Lovely well maintained gardens
  • Airy lounge area, opening out onto patio with water views
 of 5 bubbles petasc, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“The block of units nearest the office could have better sized units, but the access is by the back door across grass.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonandlances, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ground level so no stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Oborn2014, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“Outstanding ocean views from all rooms!!”
 of 5 bubbles Kathryn_loves_cows, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question