We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hilltop Hotel St. Louis is minutes from the landmark Gateway Arch and other St. Louis attractions. Pack a picnic of fruit and cheese to enjoy in Laumeier Sculpture Park just one mile from this hotel in Kirkwood, MO. Hike, bike or ride a horse on the Katy Trail. Golf at Tapawingo National Golf Course. Sample shark chunks dipped in butter, toasted ravioli and homemade Irish Tater Chips at Helen Fitgerald’s Irish Grill and Pub. Bring the whole family to The Magic House, St. Louis Children’s Museum, a short drive from our Kirkwood, MO hotel. When you’re ready for big city excitement, head for St. Louis. See the famous Clydesdale horses at the Anheiser-Busch Brewery or watch the Cardinals bat at Busch Stadium. Explore the grand Romanesque-style architecture, shops and dining options at Union Station, the historic passenger depot in downtown St. Louis.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
444Reviews
47Photos
3Q+A
24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 130
  • 117
  • 87
  • 49
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Military friendly so the value was amazing. The breakfast was outstanding. The location is nice also next to Walmart and some other shops as well for food and shopping. Oh yea one last thing which is the friendly staff in person and on the phone as well. Made my check in and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Hotel's Favorite
The school year had just ended and decided to get out of town for the weekend. I came to town to visit the Ulysses S Grant. National Historic Site. It was a great visit and the Hampton Inn was just a couple of miles away. . It was a nice hotel and had a great stay. The beds were
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Terrible customer service, hotel was under remodel which did not know till trying to find room, hot tub was nasty and place was dirty, front desk clerk did not tell us anything and when asked questions gave short answers like she was being bothered
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Response from Miri L, on behalf of management at Hilltop Hotel
Responded Nov 19, 2018
Dear patrickhU214SW I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments. Thank you, Miri L.
Read more
The floor of the room was dirty. Found popcorn and stuff on the floor. The bathroom was dirty found hairs in the shower and on the side of the bathtub. The toilet paper had about 1 wipes worth of toilet paper on it and no spare rolls. The breakfast was disgusting, the eggs were
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Response from Miri L, on behalf of management at Hilltop Hotel
Responded Nov 19, 2018
Dear Companion59502207619 I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserved during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience as your satisfaction is very important to us. We try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon so we may have the opportunity to make it right. Thank you, Miri L.
Read more
Did not get adjoining rooms, as was told was available when requesting it while making reservation. Then, called to complain and got hung up on. The walls are dirty, mold in tub...... just a 1 star experience all around.
Read more
Response from John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hilltop Hotel
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Dear Theresa M, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that your room request was unavailable and for the cleanliness issues encountered in your room and bathtub. We are working with our team to correct those problems to avoid recurrence going forward. Regrettably, while we do our best to accommodate our guest’s room preferences, we cannot always do so due to other guests extending their stay and various extenuating circumstance. Please know that your feedback will not go unnoticed, as it is the first step in identifying areas where we can better our guest services. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHilltop Hotel
King Room
Photo provided by managementHilltop Hotel
2 Queen beds non-smoking
view of a port-a-potty from my room is a reminder of the "unadvertised" construction at this hot
a scribbled on welcome letter in the room services book -- very much not up to hotel brand stand
PreviousNext
12
I actually don't know. You could always call and ask the receptionist.
0 votes
Hampton
0 votes
Show all answers
This is an extremely poor property; I stayed there once and would never return. My room was dark and dreary; it did not have a microwave or refrigerator. During the night that I was there, some cars in the parking lot were vandalized; fortunately, mine wasn't one of them. Upon arriving in the room, there was a long black hair on the wall of the shower; it definitely wasn't mine. On my return trip east, I stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Mehlville (just off of I-55); it was lovely. I would definitely avoid this hotel; there are certainly plenty of other options in the St. Louis area. I agree that this particular Hampton Inn shouldn't be part of the Hilton chain.
0 votes
Show all answers
"The Best Western down the road would probably have better rooms ;-)"
"If you are a member of Hilton Honors, you can get a digital key from your phone, and choose you room with the app."
"Don't stay there."
"I wouldn't."
"Don't get a room near the back door, because they keep that door locked--and you'll have to walk farther to get in and out!"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn st. louis/sunset hills hotel kirkwoodhampton inn saint louissaint louis hampton inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSaint LouisKirkwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing