We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$178
View deal
Hotels.com
$178
View deal
Traveluro
$164
View deal
Travelocity$178
Booking.com$169
ZenHotels.com$191
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (201)
Room & Suite (203)
Dining (51)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton President Kansas City
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 126 in Kansas City
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Silver level
Hilton President Kansas City is the only AAA 4 Diamond hotel located in the Power and Light Entertainment District. The hotel is within walking distance to the Kansas City downtown business district, Convention Center, Sprint Center, several restaurants, and entertainment options. On site, the hotel offers two restaurants, one lounge, in-room dining, a Starbucks coffee shop, fitness center, covered parking, and complimentary basic WiFi. If you are planning a meeting or event of up to 300 people, the Hilton President Kansas City hotel offers 12,000 sq. ft. of elegant meeting space. Our catering and meeting professionals will assist you with every detail. We look forward to seeing you soon and showing you the best of Midwest hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1485Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 731
  • 396
  • 184
  • 91
  • 83
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
larry m wrote a review Jun 13
Ridgefield, Washington27 contributions8 helpful votes
Got off to a bad start on arrival. Pulled up to front of hotel, and had several bags to take in. There was no bellman to assist, and I had to go to registration desk where a rude person told me where the baggage carts are. I had to stay with the car to go to parking around the corner, while my wife manhandled the overloaded cart. The room was nice but not overly roomy. We were there for a large wedding reception that was very nice and service was excellent. I believe it was staffed by a outside agent that definitely had their act together for this 300 person event for drinks, dinner .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded today
Larry- Thanks for the review of your visit. I am pleased you had a nice visit. We will certainly discuss some of the not so positive comments regarding your visit. Thanks again for your time and feedback.
Read more
HollyMStevenson wrote a review Jun 2021
Dundee, United Kingdom42 contributions72 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Prior to booking at Hilton President. I was honestly reluctant given the recent shocking reviews. We've stayed at Hotel Philips before and enjoyed it but I called to ask about Diamond benefits and was told they were under-staffed so were not offering anything such as breakfast. We thought we'd give the Hilton President a try as the building look beautiful and location is perfect for a quick weekend trip to Power Light. Every staff member we interacted with was extremely pleasant and competent. Philip, the hotel manager, kindly upgraded us to the Reagan Suite, which was stunning. It is just above the lobby so may be loud if there was an event/people were in the restrooms beside the suite as you can hear the restroom music from the room's bathroom but the room was stunning, historic and very spacious. Truly the best suite we've stayed in at a Hilton property. I usually like a bath but the massive walk in shower had a Bluetooth speaker and I throughly enjoyed it. I've seen countless reviews about the cleanliness of the property and we had no issues. I wouldn't say it is spotless, and our suite is maybe not used frequently so the freezer was not the cleanest for example but this is not a big deal to me as the areas we used (the bedroom, bathroom, living room) were very clean. Being on the bottom floor we were slightly nervous as usually I opt for a high floor to reduce noise chance. However, we stayed on a weekend and no noise from outside whatsoever and I'm a very light sleeper. Breakfast was good and we're Diamond members so it was covered. The buffet is "brought to you" and you place your order from your table. It wasn't anything to write home about but it was fine and we were grateful it was being offered as many hotels have decided not to do proper breakfast since COVID. Overall, lovely staff and a gorgeous property made for a fantastic stay. It felt like we were staying at a completely different property than the one other people seem to have been reviewing about I'm a tough critic. Thank you so much Philip for making our stay so special, we'll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Holly- Thanks so much for that wonderful review of your visit. Its always nice to see a review from international travelers. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel and our amenities. I think the Bluetooth speakers in your shower are pretty unique to our hotel! We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Brock C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The pictures are deceiving, you will realize you’ve made a mistake immediately upon entering. Hotel is old, dirty, and worn down. The room was dirty and staff was aloof and uncaring. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded today
Thanks for the review Brock. We do appreciate your time and candid feedback. We will discuss as a team to determine our best course of action to address the issues.
Read more
lynne0ne wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California18 contributions8 helpful votes
The beautiful exterior of this hotel will try to fool you. Once inside, the only thing worth mentioning are the fluffy pillows. Otherwise, it’s more affordable to stay somewhere else and take an Uber to the Power and Light district. No room service, shabby-around-the-edges room, no shampoo, expensive self-parking (with a broken elevator in the handicapped parking area). Absolutely nothing special, quite disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
LostALot22 wrote a review Apr 2022
Chicago, Illinois10630 contributions1436 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this hotel for several days for a work function. I really liked it. I like old hotels in general and this was a nice one. The room was large and clean and hard nice views. The staff was friendly. The bar in the lobby was nice. And there were plenty of places to eat in walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
SLS2633 wrote a review Apr 2022
VA15 contributions1 helpful vote
Attended a wedding in KC, booked room 4 months in advance. Called 3x for confirmation and late check in. Arrived at 11:30 pm (12:30 Eastern) and spent 1.5 hrs in the lobby waiting for a room. The desk clerk checked in 3 ppl before me. She had a complete meltdown--crying, yanking on her hair in a back room while I waited another 20 minutes, She called the night manager who came in and found me a room @ 2 .m. Eastern. This situation was made WORSE by the night manager and the GM the next day. The night manager explained told me I needed to be more understanding to her employee who was "going through some things." The GM said my behavior was "rude and disrespectful" and had nothing more to say. While the room was OK (dirty and towels were frayed) the experience with check in ruined my weekend. Needless to say the desk clerk was completely overwhelmed and shouldn't be on desk duty alone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded today
Thanks for taking a moment to review your visit to our hotel. Unfortunately social media does not give the full story of the interaction. Your interaction with the front desk agent was certainly unfortunate and avoidable. I do hope in the future your interactions with hard working hospitality workers are positive. Under the circumstances we feel the agent handled herself well. Again, the narrative you have provided unfortunately is not entirely accurate. Safe travels.
Read more
Sherpa52184055117 wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Overall the experience at the hotel was very good, however, check in was lengthy and I had another issue at checkout I'll explain later. There was only one lady at the front managing to check in a long line of people. I can only imagine that they are still short staffed after Covid times. I had checked in 24 hours prior and chosen a room on my phone app, but our room was not ready and was given another. No problem..just glad to get one after the wait. The lady was pleasant checking us in but never apologized for the wait or welcomed us as Diamond members. Room was small but overall clean. Would have liked to have a comfortable chair to sit in but not one in the room. Breakfast was a buffet and overall average/good. Now the part not so good...apparently Hilton is now giving credits for breakfasts for (Gold & Diamond levels). It's put into your account to be used to offset the amount you spent. The amount can be different depending on the hotel. In most cases you will end of paying more due to taxes. I find this offensive and in my case the bookkeeping got messed up and it ended up being added in rather than taken out. I had to end up calling the hotel on two occasions to get it worked out...but it did happen. I appreciated the help of JoAnn and Robert and the bookkeeping department. In addition when checking out, I received my statement, it only showed parking that was owed. I was assured that the breakfast & credits were already sorted out. That was not the case as I found out a day later. Because Hilton President did handle my situation quickly I gave a very good rating!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Checking in around 3 pm seems to be very busy...long lines! Higher rooms better due to street...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ann G wrote a review Feb 2022
Nebraska152 contributions31 helpful votes
Lovely! This is a great place to lay your head while exploring the Power & Light district. Super clean & updated. We were only a couple blocks from many restaurants & the T-Mobile arena. It would have been a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center I believe. Staff was very nice too!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: They have parking so you can then walk to everything.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Thanks for the review. I am pleased you had such a wonderful visit. As you pointed out our location is just perfect as the only hotel in the Power and Light District. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
drmel314 wrote a review Feb 2022
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution
I booked hotel on Expedia for the AFC Championship Game; definitely remodeled historic hotel - no alarm clock, fridge or microwave in room; but staff was great and hotel has wonderful charm and history to it!! I think some of service issues related to pandemic staffing shortages and regulations, but they were minor inconveniences, not big problems!! Wonderful place to stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Thanks for your feedback regarding your visit here to our hotel. We do appreciate your time and candid opinions. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Varyerbnd0001 wrote a review Jan 2022
Salina, Kansas1 contribution1 helpful vote
WiFi does not work, bad breakfast that you have to pay for. Overall bad experience, just because you're downtown does not mean you can suck and overcharge people for staying here. Ordering food to go is bad, they say 10-15 minutes for your food to come out but each time I ordered was 30 + minutes. Just overall the food was absolute gross, do not order the wings, meat platter, or meatloaf, that's what I had and was super grossed out. Rooms do not come with basic amenities like microwave or fridge, or even a pad of paper and pen. This is a bare bones hotel that hopes it's "history" can up sell you. This is a bad place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Strnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Thanks for taking the time to share some of your thoughts about visiting our hotel. We do appreciate the candid feedback. We certainly have some room for improvement.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton president kansas city hotel kansas city, hilton hotel kansas city, hilton kansas city, kansas city hilton
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriKansas City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
213
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton President Kansas City
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton President Kansas City?
Nearby attractions include Blade & Timber Axe Throwing (0.07 miles), Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts (0.3 miles), and T-Mobile Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton President Kansas City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton President Kansas City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton President Kansas City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton President Kansas City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cosentino's Market and Deli, 801 Chophouse, and Bristol Seafood Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton President Kansas City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hilton President Kansas City located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Kansas City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton President Kansas City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton President Kansas City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton President Kansas City?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Union Station (0.9 miles), Thomas Hart Benton Home and Studio State Historic Site (2.6 miles), and Kelly's Westport Inn (3.1 miles).
Is Hilton President Kansas City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.