We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
901 W 48th Pl Country Club Plaza, Kansas City, MO 64112-1895
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Official Site
Trip.com
$123
View deal
Priceline$140
travelup.com$179
Prestigia.com$181
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (257)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (69)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/16/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/16/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 125 in Kansas City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Located in the heart of Kansas City's best upscale shopping at Country Club Plaza, The Fontaine is a sophisticated, new destination for business and leisure travel. Walk across custom tile mosaics inset into the gleaming marble floor, enjoy intricately carved wood paneling and playful Renaissance artwork adorning the walls and marvel at the hand-blown Venetian glass chandeliers floating overhead. Each detail is designed to delight the senses while setting a scene of serene sophistication—a place in which guests are both dazzled and utterly relaxed.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1460Reviews26Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,027
  • 258
  • 84
  • 47
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Matt wrote a review May 18
Dallas, Texas5 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at the Fontaine hotel for 1 night at a $499 rate. They charged me for $1,278. The hotel said it was for incidentals and that the money would be refunded in 7-10 business days. $650 for “incidentals” on a $499 one night stay? That’s ridiculous. When I reached out to the hotel they blew me off and acted very rude to me and my wife. We spoke with Stacy who told us it was the banks problem at not theirs before she ever even looked up our info or asked for our names. Hotel was decent but not worth a $499 stay. Definitely not worth $1,278 night stay. Stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask how much they plan to hold for incidentals
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. Please know that when booking online, taxes and fees may not be included in the online room rate and may be added to the bill after check-in. This is a typical practice in our industry, as is refunding incidental fees after checking our rented accommodations over for damages. It is of note that while these funds are refunded at check-out, it can take 7-10 business days to become available to you, depending on your banking institution. We apologize for any inconvenience and ask that you contact us offline should you wish your final billing to be explained in more detail.
Read more
montbalt43 wrote a review Apr 2022
Baltimore, Maryland114 contributions62 helpful votes
Upscale boutique feel, spacious guest room (amazingly large showers), and very walkable location from plaza shops and restaurants make this a perfect choice in KC! I attended a small meeting here and can’t say enough about the service we received on all fronts!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Fred, It is our pleasure to provide the best possible service to our guests, and we are glad that this commitment was reflected in your visit. We look forward to the next time we are able to host you again at The Fontaine!
Read more
Brae wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is our new favorite in KC! Katie at the front desk was so welcoming and helpful😊 The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable! We can't wait to come back❤️ Katie accommodated to all of our needs with extra towels and pillows. She is hamds down the best staff member in all of Kansas city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded 3 weeks ago
Firstly, happy birthday! It was an honor to play a role in your special getaway, and we're glad our accommodations and staff made for the perfect trip. Katie, especially, will be honored you remembered her by name. The next time you're in Kansas City, we look forward to seeing you again at The Fontaine!
Read more
RBreshears wrote a review Apr 2022
Rogers, Arkansas176 contributions70 helpful votes
For the price of this hotel, my expectations were not met. We stayed 2 nights. The first day we had no hot water due to repairs being made. We were told we would have it by the end of the day. Not true. It was the next morning that we were able to take a hot shower. The staff here are very friendly and much appreciated. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean. I just don’t feel the hotel was worth $700 for 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded 3 weeks ago
Our unbeatable staff and comfy beds are just a few reasons guests continue to count on us during their travels, and we love to see that these were a few of yours as well. However, we apologize for the hiccup you had with the shower. This is not a common issue, and we hope that it didn't detract much from your overall stay. We would love to provide a better experience the next time you are in Kansas City.
Read more
palmerjer wrote a review Apr 2022
Topeka, Kansas59 contributions35 helpful votes
First the web page advertised a special “ locals” rate 10% plus late check out. Called to make reservation, quoted rate. Asked for discount I was told there were no longer rooms available at that rate. Checked the website found ambiguous fine print. My feeling it was “Bait and Switch”. Tried to email the contact to complain , email rejected as “ suspected spam”. I called to cancel. I was told cancellation was 48 hours , might have said 2 days, in any event called 2 days before explained that meant by midnight the day before what I calculated. I was advised the full $540 would be charged to my Cc.only after I complained and said I would never do business with them again , II was advised I could call the desk, to which they could not transfer me. Called the desk with a full head of steam . That person was lovely, confirmed at desk I could cancel 24 hours before and said no problem and canceled without penalty. Corporate seem to be crooks in my opinion . Bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent experience with our hotel. We are glad our front desk staff could assist you with your reservation; however, we are sorry you had difficulty during the cancellation process. Given another opportunity, we would like to provide you with the visit you expected.
Read more
David k wrote a review Mar 2022
Lee's Summit, Missouri1 contribution
Rooms are not really that clean. Soap dispenser in shower were empty. Room was not cleaned till late in the afternoon. The service elevator make unbelievable noises all night till after midnight. Called the front desk and was told it was the bar staff and it would stop after they leave. Still awake and will never come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded Mar 20, 2022
Dear David, We appreciated the opportunity to host you as our valued guest. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations, and our team will discuss each of your remarks to ensure we resolve these issues swiftly. Rest assured, our accommodations will be extremely clean and well-equipped going forward. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
Scott D wrote a review Mar 2022
Ames, Iowa5 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is over rated and over priced. Furnishings are showing wear. Everyday we were there we had to call the desk to request clean towels and room cleaning and they did the bare minimum. They had very little to offer for breakfast and it was overpriced. I just wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded Mar 19, 2022
We're saddened to learn you did not enjoy your visit. Please accept our apologies for any concerns about the age of the property and for any disappointment with the service you received. Feedback like yours helps us improve, and we'll pass your comments along to the appropriate staff members. If you're in the area again, we'd be grateful for the chance to provide you with more suitable accommodations.
Read more
Vacationer39506 wrote a review Mar 2022
Nixa, Missouri1 contribution
Ryan is the best bartender ever! Very personable and easy to talk to. Great mixologist! Come here for really great drinks and food. The bar has a wide variety of alcohol’s to choose from including an in-house blend that is to die for. A lot of top shelf choices too
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Ryan is definitely a rockstar, and we are lucky to have him. If you're looking for some great drinks and tasty food in Kansas City, then The Fontaine is perfect for you. Thank you so much for the review. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
xay R wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
My waitress by the name of Rori was very courteous and nice her service was above average and I appreciated every minute with her! Was also very helpful when it came to question about menu and products!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded Mar 6, 2022
Dear Xay, Thank you! We love to receive feedback about our staff members, and it is lovely to know that you appreciated Rori's help so much. All the best to you, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Read more
Lauren F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Excellent service and ambiance! Love this place. Thanks Heather for the great service! The drinks were great and Heather’s service was outstanding. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much for the wonderful evening.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Fontaine
Responded Mar 6, 2022
Dear Lauren, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Kansas City. We're glad to know our accommodations exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed our pleasant ambiance, excellent drinks, and exceptional service! You can be certain we will share your kind words with Heather. It would be our pleasure to host you again at The Fontaine.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriKansas City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fontaine
Which popular attractions are close to The Fontaine?
Nearby attractions include Loose Park (0.5 miles), Country Club Plaza (0.4 miles), and J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fontaine?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Fontaine?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Fontaine?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fontaine?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fontaine?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddie V's Prime Seafood, Gram & Dun, and Eggtc..
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fontaine?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Fontaine?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Fontaine offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Fontaine?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Fontaine?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Union Station (3.2 miles), Thomas Hart Benton Home and Studio State Historic Site (1.5 miles), and Kelly's Westport Inn (1.0 miles).