We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Save
Share
3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Traveluro
$96
View deal
Travelocity$123
Priceline
travelup.com$135
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (130)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (73)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#60 of 124 hotels in Kansas City
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.8
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Vietnamese
438Reviews18Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 165
  • 109
  • 64
  • 42
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dava M wrote a review Jul 2022
Ballwin, Missouri2 contributions
We booked this room to come And relax and swim and use the hot tub. Went down to pool only to find out it was closed for a private event. Nobody mentioned this during the call to reserve the room or when checking in. What TERRIBLE service
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded 2 weeks ago
We regret to see your recent visit to Ameristar Kansas City did not meet expectations. If there are further details to share to help improve future visits, please contact us directly via our property website.
Read more
Betty H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Overpriced! Food has no flavor really bland. Looks disgusting! Salsa is really dark, almost black. $3.50 for 1 TINY taco. Nachos have a white sauce and very little at that. No flavor. Don't waste your money!! One positive - server was awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to see your recent experience at Ameristar Kansas City did not meet expectations. We hope to use your comments to improve future visits. If there are further details to share, please contact us directly via our property website.
Read more
tony nguyen wrote a review Jul 2022
Lincoln, Nebraska1 contribution
I’ll give it a 1 star book my family vacation here in Kansas to take my kids to world of fun & saw the casino was only. 5-6 min drive & plus it will give me & my wife something to do later in the evening. I’d called around 2 just to see we can check in early traveling from NE (3 hours drive) & they is told us no all room were being clean for 4pm check-in I said ok thanks..took the kids swimming at ocean of fun till 4pm and drove over to go check in just to be told I couldn’t check in cause all the rooms was still being clean. Which I was confused cause check out for everyone was 11am that morning and it’s now 430pm. I was like ok when can we check in then? His response was seriously idk maybe 1-2 hours! That would put us at 630pm. I have a family of 4…..3 hours alway from home. I’d book a single room 2 beds. He then tell me he can get me a room in 1 hour so we left to go to a local Walmart then just to come back and there to tell me there’s no room available which I was confused because I already booked and paid in full for a room!!! He then said magically one king room opened up & gave us that one with 1 bed! A 4pm check in turn into a 7pm check in and we had to alter out vacation plans Because of this hotel!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We regret to see your experience at Ameristar Kansas City was not a positive one, and we will forward your review to the appropriate managers to help improve future visits. Thank you for your patronage.
Read more
Valerie K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No valet, no help with getting bags to our room. I even asked for a luggage cart and the check in person said there weren’t any, only to see other patrons with them later. No food options for late night. I had an issue with an ATM and was told that I need to handle it with the ATM company because they could not access the ATM to verify that no money came out even though I was charged. I asked for a manager 3 times. Finally got a manager who told me that she COULD access that information. After 2 hours, I was able to get a print out showing that they were able to change the charge since no money was dispensed. I have stayed at many casinos throughout the US and this is by far the worst experience I’ve had. The game choices are embarrassing. Attempted to order drinks at the bar and they could not even make a mimosa or Moscow mule. If I could give negative stars, I would.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Apr 12, 2022
We are disappointed to read what appears to be a response to a less than exceptional experience. We encourage you to contact us directly via our property website and provide further details about your visit so that we can address the situation.
Read more
Richard B wrote a review Apr 2022
Kansas City, Missouri158 contributions192 helpful votes
This review is about the casino, not the hotel. I have been a very loyal customer of this property for the past 25 years. I used to really enjoy visiting this casino prior to the CoVid-19 closure back in early 2021. It is extremely sad to see the buffet still has not reopened. The remaining restaurant options really do not interest me. Fast Food burgers. pizzas, and tacos. The Great Plains Steakhouse is decent but is too expensive and usually closed when I visit the casino. The Sports Bar has a very limited menu, especially for lunch. I could not help but notice how neglected the main entrance looks these days. most of the venues up front are still closed. The Gift Shop, Bakery, Falcon Diner, the historic train car and bar. There is not a good vibe when entering the facility through the main entrance. Last but not least. the slot machines payouts seem very tight here. The fun and entertainment factors were much better back in the day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Apr 8, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, Richard. Thank you for your loyal patronage. While we regret to see your recent experience at Ameristar Kansas City did not meet expectations, your comments will help improve future visits. We hope to welcome you back as a guest again soon.
Read more
TJ E wrote a review Mar 2022
Kansas City, Missouri333 contributions96 helpful votes
Check-in was easy via mobile phone. Just needed to provide ID to get key. Room was big and comfortable. Negatives - There was a pile of sheets outside our door when we arrived (about 4p). When we left to check-out the next day (10:30a), the sheets were still there - Restaurant options - On a Sunday morning - we went to the ONLY place open for breakfast. The hostess came over and asked if we were 'on the list'. Told her we didn't know there was a list. She said they stop breakfast at 11 and we would not be seated in time. So, we had to find a place on the road to get something to eat. Buffet was not open.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your patronage, and regret to see your dining experience did not meet expectations. Feel free to share further information via the Contact Us page on our property website.
Read more
Linda wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
I booked on their website and wound up with outrageous fees. Was tired and needed to soak in a tub and was told that none of their rooms have tubs, strike 2. Got to room and we both have cpap machines and they only have one plug in by the beds. Checked on adapter or extension cord and was told they couldn't help us. This is messing with people's health, strike 3. It is a long walk to parking lot and long walk to casino. Almost everything was closed down. Not much to do, not even a free breakfast! Would definitely not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Jan 11, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and regret to see your recent experience was not a positive one. Please reach out to us through our official property website so that we can learn from your experience and resolve any issues you may have had with our service.
Read more
Charon W wrote a review Dec 2021
Chattanooga, Tennessee132 contributions229 helpful votes
We paid $75 for a weeknight and felt it was a good value. I was surprised to find out that there was an extra $50 charge as a hold on my credit card. Rare to see hotels do that. There was also a small charge of about $2 for arena fee. The glass shower and toilet were in a sperate room from the sink area. The shower area could use a shelf or table since I had to set my clothes and shampoo on the floor. A negative was that we had a room with those adjoining doors and we could hear the person in the next room coughing all night. The beds had plastic mattress pad covers so you could hear crinkle crinkle any time you moved. We were in the 10th floor and got a little view of the water. The casino needs more penny slots and less of the jack, queen, king games. The casino also has self serve drink machines. No free alcohol while playing which makes no sense since people spend more freely when they drink alcohol. Mississippi's casinos give free booze while playing. Much more fun.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Dec 28, 2021
Thank you, Charon, for sharing your review! We appreciate the details you included, and will consider them to help improve our practices going forward. Looking forward to welcoming you back for a five-star experience upon your next visit!
Read more
Beth C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I planned this Kansas City trip for my husband and me months in advance and we were so excited to arrive. We had stayed at Ameristar many times in the past, but this experience assured we won’t be back. Arriving in the room I noticed extemely stained carpet that made the room feel unclean. The heating/cooling unit in the wall was making wretched sounds nonstop. It was like water running along with metal tinking and squeaking. There was no way I could relax listening to it for two days. We visited the front desk and asked to change rooms. The customer service was atrocious. I was challenged on my reasons and the employee we dealt with was very reluctant to let us switch rooms. She finally said she could go make sure our room was “ok” then let us switch, but it would only be once and she couldn’t guarantee the next room would be better. She inspected said the room was ok but then hesitated claiming she didn’t have another king room even though I’d had been offered lower or higher available floors shortly before when checking in. She left us with the room and we ultimately decided to cut our losses, check out, and go to Springhill Suites nearby where we have been able to salvage our romantic getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Nov 1, 2021
We are disappointed to read what appears to be a response to a less than exceptional experience. We encourage you provide further details directly via our website so that we can address the situation. https://www.ameristarkansascity.com/contact-us
Read more
SerenityLost wrote a review Sep 2021
Tallahassee, Florida54 contributions59 helpful votes
Ok, the rooms were updated and nice. The casino was fine. However, for me, I was disappointed with the amenities of this casino hotel. I am a tea drinker, no place to get tea. Not in the casino where they had free coffee and soda, and no restaurant that was open during the week that served tea or a sit down breakfast other than the burger place. Couldn't be made in the room either. I was just disappointed. I'm not even sure if prior to covid they had this option.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris J, Owner at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Responded Oct 8, 2021
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. We apologize if our service did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your review. If you have time to include feedback that we can use to improve our practices, please contact us. https://www.ameristarkansascity.com/contact-us
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ameristar hotel kansas city, ameristar casino kansas city mo, ameristar kansas city
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriKansas City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Which popular attractions are close to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Nearby attractions include Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum (4.6 miles), Vaile Mansion (4.6 miles), and Knuckleheads Saloon (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stroud's Restaurant & Bar, A Little BBQ Joint, and Vivilore.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vaile Mansion (4.6 miles), Mallinson Vineyard and Hall (3.6 miles), and The Ginger House (4.9 miles).
Is Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.