We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 661: English reviews
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks front desk staff...we were VERY happy to be given a room 1.5 hrs before normal check in which was greatly appreciated! Later in our stay we ran into issues with the Concierge Level (unauthorized people were sneaking in with their friends room key). NOT COOL! This meant the room was crowded and the food was quickly depleted. When this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
Jasper, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Crowne Plaza is a really great area, love how the hotel is not only close but connected to so many places. The hotel is ok we stayed for 4 nights after Christmas. Had what I guess you could call a budget room, the beds are nice and overall good quality room. The problem is for the price you pay per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robster117
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robster117, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our amenities and the charges associated with it, particularly the WiFi. I would like to apologize for...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Front desk supervisor, Connor, was extremely helpful during our stay at the Crowne Plaza. He went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible! The rest of the front desk staff was equally as helpful. The hotel also offers a convenient shuttle to transport you around the city. We will definitely be choosing to stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiffanibeste
ATHENS
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

Excellent IHG property in the heart of Power and Light district downtown. Provided an upgrade to a suite with my IHG Spire level. Clean updated room. With executive level access had free hot breakfast and evening cocktail hour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Even though the hotel is not a modern hotel, it is nicely decorated and the location to downtown and power and light district is great. The only downfall is the parking. It is narrow and a pain to get in: out of hotel. Just park it and walk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lecuru
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is conveniently located close to venue . However parking was not free although it was conveyed at club reservations ... mess finding a spot . Room was dirty . When complained we were given a new room . Executive lounge was most appreciated . We have no time for lengthy breakfast in mornings before games . It's early up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Germanokigirl
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Germanokigirl, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I sincerely apologize if the parking situation, breakfast rate, and the dated condition of the rooms may have let down your stay. Your feedback is of...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed November 18, 2016

We've stayed here a few times and every room has a great view. Parking is convenient but there's also valet. Easy walk to concerts and P&L district for nightlife. The restaurant has a great brunch menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed November 18, 2016

This hotel has been arroynd a ling time. Its post modern.Glass and metal. Comfortable rooms. spot on service. Great views from the rooms.!You can bank on the service and the quality. Not all shiney and new but it has hustoric significance of the 70 s and 80s . Kansas City's heart. walking distance to nuce things. Large spaces for conferences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel333333A
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed November 15, 2016

I'm a federal employee and was traveling on government business, so I was given the GSA (government contracting agency) rate. The room had no refrigerator, and I had to move the coffee maker from its station to the bathroom in order to plug it in. Then the air stopped working, but I'm still not sure if that was because of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra F
Management response:

Dear Debra F, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown for your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced while staying at our property. We hope the issues were resolved in a timely manner. We are sorry to hear...

salina
Reviewed November 12, 2016

The staff was very friendly and willing to help. Our 12th floor room was clean and had been updated. The beds were the worst part of our stay. They were uncomfortable, pillows were flat, and sheets felt like they are 50 thread count and smelled of bleach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank just1armyguy
Management response:

Dear just1armyguy, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating to you during your stay. We are sorry that you were not able to get a comfortable nights sleep due to our beds. It...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 110 in Kansas City
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 110 in Kansas City
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 110 in Kansas City
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#43 of 110 in Kansas City
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: $178 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Very nice. stay up high with view”
 of 5 bubbles Travel333333A, Nov 18, 2016 | Read review
“Just be sure to confirm amenities before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles DLF914, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the external construction site”
 of 5 bubbles J6650PNsusant, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Suite is worth it ! Large living room area and desk work space.”
 of 5 bubbles smike8098, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“The room I had, room 1915, had one of those adjoining doors. This was not the best thing for me - too much noise on the other side.”
 of 5 bubbles trevorc719, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay