We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Save
Share
401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
InterContinental
Travelocity
travelup.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (454)
Room & Suite (149)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 124 hotels in Kansas City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
2,019Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,147
  • 441
  • 196
  • 134
  • 101
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sierra Scott wrote a review Dec 2020
Wichita, Kansas2,661 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
The views of the Country Club Plaza from the balconies are unmatched!!! The room rates go up during the holiday season but they're worth every dime. I have attached photos taken from our 6th floor room and every one looks like a post card! The rooms are nice and VERY clean. The staff is friendly and helpful and the lobby bar is really unique and beautiful. The best part is, it's within walking distance of everything so you park your car once and you never have to worry about it again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Keeley, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We especially appreciate you mentioning the view, our friendly associates and the cleanliness of the rooms. We truly appreciate that. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to Kansas City. -Jeff
Read more
Rebel500 wrote a review Nov 2020
Sierra Vista, Arizona593 contributions163 helpful votes
During COVID stay for 4 nights.....room 325 with view of the Plaza. HUGE king bed room with lots & lots of space to walk around, open suitcases & invite people in (sitting are for 4). John, the Bellmen has been at this hotel for 25 years (when it also was a Ritz-Carlton & Fairmont) & he was so very helpful in getting us a reliable & honest cab ride to the airport (ask for Fadi with zTrip- an app). Abdul, who is in charge of the hotel coffee/pastry concession was so very nice & fun, as well. He has been with this hotel since it was The Fairmont & was at their Scottsdale, AZ location as well. So very accommodating on how we like our coffee & tea! Friday & Saturday night in the gorgeous Oak Lounge/lobby they had a 3 piece combo playing ......the full service lobby bar was open & one could take their adult beverage up to their rooms...nice!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Don Breckenridge, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Responded Nov 12, 2020
Dear Rebel500, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your taking time to share feedback and we always value a 5-star rating. Both John and Abdul are the consummate hospitality professionals who we feel very fortunate to have on our team. Please know we will share your kind words with them. We’ll look forward to the next opportunity to be of service! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read more
James G wrote a review Oct 2020
Grove, Oklahoma163 contributions37 helpful votes
We had high expectations when we reserved honeymoon suite for three nights. Those expectations were quickly dashed. The entire hotel is showing signs of lack of maintenance, including our room which featured leaky dripping faucet, certainly not the cleanest bathroom, and very spartan furniture. For about $500 per night, it is grossly overpriced. After the first night, we elected to cancel the third night and were told at the desk that it would be fine and not charged. However, when I checked out, the clerk said the bill would be emailed to me. It was not. I accessed it through the IHG website and was shocked to find that not only was I charged for all three nights, but also an additional for parking fees, and extras. Numbers approximated, but my total bill was $1870. In looking closer, it looks like they charged me for Tuesday night, while my reservation clearly did not start until Wednesday. Parking garage was filthy to boot and I had to pay $20 a night for it. I called the hotel this morning in an attempt to straighten this out, but nobody ever bothered to call me back. A 100% crappy experience for which we had planned as a pleasant honeymnoon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Don Breckenridge, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Dear James G, First of all, congratulations on your wedding. We never want to disappoint any guest, and certainly not ones who are celebrating their honeymoon with us. Please accept my apologies. Reading your review is the first I am hearing of any issues with your stay or with the billing. I’d be more than happy to discuss these things with you. The best way to contact me is at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Once again, congratulations and best wishes! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read more
Fiona McManus wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
I stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip to the Plaza with my friends in early October and we all had a great time! From the moment we arrived and to the second we left we were greeted by friendly staff who helped us with everything. We stayed on the wing side of the building where we had an amazing view of the Plaza and its stores, being able to plan out our shopping route for the day. The amenities of this hotel are also a huge plus, and we cannot wait to come back for trip number 2. I most definitely recommend visiting this great part of KCMO, and highly encourage everyone to not stay anywhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Don Breckenridge, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear fionamcmanus27, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza for your recent weekend trip with your friends. We’re glad you enjoyed the service from our team. The Wing section of the hotel is my personal favorite as I enjoy the additional square footage inside the room, and I really like the fact that the private balconies in the Wing are large enough to accommodate a small table and two chairs. We’re thrilled to hear there will be a trip number 2! If I may be of assistance in making any plans, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Please know we appreciate your recommendation of the hotel to other travelers. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read more
Len-KC wrote a review Oct 2020
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States3 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked a room on the concierge level for my wife’s birthday. A medical situation arose which prevented us from using the room. At booking I was NOT informed that there was a requirement of THREE DAYS notice to cancel, NOR was I informed that there WERE NO SERVICES OR AMENITIES on the concierge floor. I. called the morning of our reservation to cancel. I was THEN told about their “policies”. I have contacted the management on numerous occasions and I have been told is that in order for them to even consider a refund ($270+) I would have to have my Doctor write them a letter! It is obvious that their policies shift to match their needs. My advice would be to avoid this hotel, there are too many other great hotels in Kansas City!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Don Breckenridge, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Dear Len-KC, For the benefit of those reading this review, below is a factual account of what occurred. On the afternoon of October 9, you cancelled your reservation for arrival on October 9. To avoid the cancellation fee, the reservation needed to be canceled prior to 6:00 p.m. the day before arrival. This information would have been communicated to you when the reservation was made. I don’t know of any hotel in the United States that does not have a cancellation policy. They are an industry standard. When you telephoned the hotel on October 9 to cancel the reservation, it was explained to you a cancellation fee would be charged due to the late cancellation. That same day, you spoke with our Front Office Manager who reiterated the cancellation fee would apply. At this point, you informed our Front Office Manager you were cancelling due to a medical issue and asked that the fee be waived. The Front Office Manager explained to you that if you would like to have your Doctor or Nurse provide a note stating you needed to cancel the reservation for a medical issue, we would be happy to review it and take it into consideration when determining if the fee would be waived. You then forwarded the hotel an e-mail from your Doctor’s office which said in keeping with their new standard procedure, all patients needed to be screened for COVID-19 two days prior to their Doctor’s appointment. It said your screening would be on October 26. Our Front Office Manager explained to you that an e-mail from your medical care provider confirming your October 28 appointment would not exempt you from the cancellation fee. You telephone me on October 15. At that time, I explained to you that if you wanted the hotel to consider waiving the cancellation fee you would need to provide the hotel with a note from your Doctor’s office stating that due to a medical issue, you needed to cancel your reservation. On October 20, you sent me an e-mail stating the hotel’s request was unconscionable and highly unreasonable. I responded back confirming the hotel would most certainly consider waiving the cancellation fee with a note from your Doctor’s office stating that due to a medical issue, you needed to cancel your reservation. There was not a response to my e-mail. The hotel has acted in a similar fashion many times when guests request an exception to the cancellation policy for medical reasons. In my 11 years at the hotel, no guest, until now, has refused to provide a note from their medical care provider. I don’t recall any instance where the hotel did not waive the fee when the note was provided. It is the hotel’s position that the note simply confirming an appointment later this month does not warrant an exception. We regret that you disagree, and that you refused to provide the requested information. We now consider the matter closed. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental kansas city at the plaza hotel kansas city, kansas city intercontinental, fairmont hotel kansas city
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriKansas City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
371
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Nearby attractions include The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art (0.7 miles), The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden (0.7 miles), and Loose Park (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddie V's Prime Seafood, Jack Stack Barbecue, and Gram & Dun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.