We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 952: English reviews
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

This hotel near the KC stockyards is a Marriott. So that says a lot. The rooms are nice/ the beds are nice - just what you would expect. But the lay out is a bit weird and the lack of places to eat are a bit strange.

Helpful?
Thank Neil F
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and bed. I do apologize that you were not made aware of places to eat in the area. We have an excellent restaurant on property and serve a large selection of food in our BarCentral... More 

San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I flew in from San Diego 27 July night at round 12 pm mid night. As it was back to back flight I asked the front desk girls where can I get a banana.She pointe me to the kiosk and it was locked and promised me that the security will come and open the kiosk so that I can have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eapen G
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the comments about your recent stay. We rely on all types of feedback so that we can continue to improve our hotel operations. Please accept my apologies and the issues you had on your late arrival and the lack of urgency and follow through of our Associates. I assure you this is... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

This complaint is regarding the Marriott Downtown, Kansas City, MO. We are so very disappointed with our recent stay 7/23 – 26/15. Overall, the quality of the room was no better than Hotel 6. No refrigerator, no microwave, lousy TV reception (limited channels and static on screen). The bed sheets came loose constantly. The hot water was so hot that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 654CWM
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sorry that we failed you on that. In the first quarter of 2016 we are starting our guest room renovation and refrigerators are one of the... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Staff was super helpful and friendly, rooms were standard, food was not inspired. There are two hotel buildings connected by a second floor walkway over the road. For a convention it means using the walkway many, many times to get to the activities. Area has very little in the way of restaurants and things to see, more of a business... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dolls111
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff were friendly and assisted you with your requests. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable, but I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the drain not draining properly. I have notified our Engineering and Housekeeping teams... More 

GLASGOW, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I stayed here last week for a convention and was very pleased. Mostly with the very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was pretty standard w/o a frig or m/w. The beds were comfy and very clean. There wasn't however, adequate towel bars for towels, but there was a pull across clothes line in the tub area. The food in... More 

Helpful?
Thank BONNIE C
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having your convention at our hotel. We are happy to hear that all of our staff were Brilliant Hosts to you and assisted you with anything you may have needed. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodations. We have an upcoming guest room renovation and I will share your comment about... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I stayed two nights at this hotel for a conference (my group had about 9 rooms booked these two nights). We checked in, took our things to the room, unpacked, and then left to explore. When we returned to our room late that evening and removed our shoes, we realized that the carpet was WET... Not just a bit damp,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KristineV43
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to post the comments about your recent stay. We rely on all types of feedback to help us improve our hotel operations. Our goal is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and unfortunately we did not achieve that goal during your stay. Please accept my apologies for the carpet in your room being wet. I... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This is a beautiful hotel! We stayed 2 nights while being vendors at the convention, ConQuest (May, 2015). It was an excellent experience and I would recommend it to everybody wanting a relaxing vacation in Kansas City! The rooms are very clean and the view of is spectacular! The staff was extremely helpful and the food in the bar was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charm19931993
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comments about your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time and that you enjoyed your room and the food the bar. I hope that your travels will bring you back to Kansas City and that you will give us the opportunity to serve... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I stayed here last week for a convention. Part of our group were in the nice, newer Marriott with larger rooms, three chairs, refrigerators and other expected amenities. I was in the Muehlebach with smaller rooms, two chairs, no refrigerator, no towel bars for the sink area, safety bath rail at the wrong end of the concave tub. We had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dollymom1
Valerie855, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do sell our two tower property as one hotel, and while we do have three floors with refrigerators, currently we do not offer them in all of our guest rooms. I am very sorry for any inconvenience. We are excited to announce not only that our complete... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I booked a stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown and just returned home this afternoon. While the Marriott has a great location and we enjoyed the lobby and on-site restaurant for a buffet breakfast, the room we stayed in was awful. They sent us over to the "Muehlebach" Tower, which requires you to go up to the second floor,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ray3127
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I do apologize that your accommodations in the Muehlebach Tower were not up to your expectations. We will be starting renovations of our guest rooms later this year that will be addressing many of the issues that you mentioned. I also apologize for the experience you... More 

East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights due to a convention that I attended. My comments: - my room was large & quiet -housekeeping was always late in the day, but the room was kept clean and restocked with supplies. -the staff throughout the hotel areas was always offering smiles and saying hello-a very nice surprise. Unfortunutely, the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank UMworldtravel
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay. We depend on all types of feedback to continue to improve our hotels operations. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you had during your banquet functions. Our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not achieve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

248 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#38 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#43 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
BARCENTRAL
BARCENTRAL
Cuisines: Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: $210 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay