We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1185 State Hwy H, Hermann, MO 65041
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (178)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (29)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
Travelers' Choice
Our picturesque location is an ideal spot to unwind and relax. We have a variety of lodging accommodations, including tree houses and cabins, and a friendly staff that’s ready to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. It is run by a family that loves people and building relationships .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
296Reviews6Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 288
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marcy S wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We have traveled to many places over the last years. And as everyone knows each vacation has a different tone to it. I believe this is one of my favorites of all time. There were something that felt soul enriching about staying in these tree houses. The hosts were so responsive, kind, and generous with not only their helpful tips, but the delicious homemade food provided for our breakfast each morning. This is an experience that I will never forget and highly recommend. I can count on one hand how many reviews I have left, but this one needed to be done. If you’re ever going to Hermann Missouri, THIS is the place to stay for a relaxing -one of a kind experience. Honestly- loved every second.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa L wrote a review Aug 8
7 contributions
We had a great stay at the Cabin! Lee was a wonderful host. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable- we had everything we needed! Would love to stay again. Lee was very responsive to texts and the checkin process was seamless.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much. We’re glad you had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GWSR wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
This is great place to stay, for unique trip. It is a little pricey, so for the price wish the breakfast would have been a little more but the place was clean, comfortable and great experience. Would also say I like the privacy as well, you are not all On top of each other.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
We’re glad you had a great time sleeping in the trees! Come back and see us soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the sunrise treehouse. It truly was so relaxing. Nice to be in such a beautiful spot with my spouse. Absolutely everything that we had been hoping for in a treehouse. we have been dreaming of staying in one for years, finally came across this and couldnt be happier with the choice. Relatively close to us, being that we are from St Louis, Mo. We enjoyed wine tastings from local wineries. great food nearby! and peaceful moments on the porch. I can also say, the sunrise was beautiful as it appeared thru the bedroom window .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wonderful! Thank you for taking time away and reconnecting with each other and nature. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelli wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
From morning coffee to evening wine, the relaxing atmosphere is amazing. The Cottages are minutes away from town and many attractions. We are already planning on coming back in the fall when the leaves are in full color!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wonderful! Aim for early November to hit the trees in full color. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you’re in town. We’ll see you in the fall!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kayla G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I came here for our first vacation and we were not disappointed! I thought we were going to spend the whole day in town but instead we decided to hang out in the trees all day. There is plenty to do within the game room and just experiencing the wildlife around you. Absolutely gorgeous and amazing! We can’t wait to come back!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Yay yay yay! We are honored that we got to be your first vacation together. 🥰 So glad you had a wonderful time. Come back and see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LuvScuba wrote a review Jun 2022
Trenton, Illinois4 contributions
It was so peaceful and beautiful! The hot rub was nice and clean as well as our cabin. Never heard any loud outside noises. Comes with a mini fridge, microwave, kuerig (we had issues with it taking the non kuerig cups provided so maybe bring your own, but no biggie). The communication was very good and they were quick to respond. I loved it there and only a few minutes from downtown and wineries.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring bug spray if you will be sitting outside at night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you! We’re glad you had a wonderful time and I’m sorry that the Keurig was finicky. Let me know next time you’re headed our way and I’ll give you extra K cups. 😉
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reneee wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions
+1
The cottage was breathtakingly adorable and peaceful. Very private setting nestled in with nature surrounded by large mature trees. The decor inside was super cute and the space was well laid out and roomy. Lots of comfy beds and even more than one bathroom. All the necessary amenities too. Really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Ahhhh the Moonlight Treehouse. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in the trees. Thank you for coming to visit. Hopefully we’ll see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The Cottage was recommended by a CA friend saying if I ever made it to MO I had to stay there as she knew I’d love it. Well, she was right! My 1-night stay was perfect! After touring the quaint town of Hermann I was surrounded by lush greenery and enjoyed reading and feeling safe during a thunderstorm (something rarely seen in CA). Although Covid guidelines prohibited a breakfast gathering with fellow guests, my meal was delicious. If you’re looking for a new travel experience, I highly recommend The Cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 2 weeks ago
Yay! Thank you CA for your recommendation. We are super glad that you had a wonderful time and we hope that you’ll come back and see us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edgyliving wrote a review May 2022
Hannibal, Missouri48 contributions21 helpful votes
I really enjoyed my one-night stay at the "Sunrise" treehouse. It was a last minute decision and fortunately there was availability - a rarity for last-minute. I jumped on it. Was definitely what the doctor ordered. Serenity in the middle of the woods.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The "Sunrise" treehouse truly has a great view of the sunrise...it was spectacular.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 6 days ago
We’re so glad the calendar opened up for you and that you found serenity and joy on our property! Come back and see us soon!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriHermann
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cottage
Which popular attractions are close to The Cottage?
Nearby attractions include Deutschheim State Historic Site (1.1 miles), Sugar Momma's (1.0 miles), and Hermann Farm (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Cottage?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cottage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hermann Wurst Haus, Alpenhorn Kitchen, and 4th Street Pizza.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cottage?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Deutschheim State Historic Site (1.1 miles).
Is The Cottage accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.