We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Plaza Hotel

Booking.com$109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 907: English reviews
Start your review of Clayton Plaza Hotel
 Click to rate
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice place to stay if you're traveling to Clayton on business. Great happy hour as well as breakfast buffet. Omelettes, eggs, waffles, made to order, Chef Will does a great job. Servers and the bartender in the evening do a great job making sure that you're taking care of and the food is very good. Room was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 631dkm
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice wood floored room and all you'd hope went with it. The best, though, had to be the wonderful breakfast they offer. Excellent omelets: tell the cook how you want it prepared and watch. Plus any other breakfast item you might want. Great convenient refuge when visiting St Louis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very professional, friendly staff; beautiful room accommodation. Their shuttle was available to get us where we needed to be and picked us up in a timely manner. I plan to book at Clayton Plaza when returning to St. Louis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnacolglazier
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my business partner always stay here when we have business in clayton. The gal at the front desk Tanya is always so friendly and makes us feel right at home. She has a great sense of humor, ALWAYS remembers us by name and makes sure that we have everything that we need. Always feel welcome and we always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RyanRegions
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a group of 13 Sr HIgh Students to St. Louis for the weekend and the Clayton Plaza Hotel was amazing! It was a short drive to downtown but the cost was half of all the downtown hotels. The amenities were wonderful, clean spacious room, elegant front lobby, and the full buffet breakfast was worth adding to the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck J
ct
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unless you want to pay. What decade is this? Yes, for $10 you can buy wifi here. Overall the hotel is ok. It's a little dated borderline tacky but good enough for an overnight stay. Staff is very nice and super friendly. But I don't understand how a national chain can still be charging $10 a day for wifi. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glbtrvler
Katelynn F, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, glbtrvler! I apologize, but I'm not sure that you have the correct property? We are an independent property, not associated with any hotel chain. We do, however, provide complimentary, lightning fast wi-fi! I've sent you a message and I would like to remove that charge if you did in fact stay with us as that would be entirely unacceptable....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here 4 times and will continue to do so when we visit family in St Louis. Room are soundproof with hardwood floors and nicely decorated. The staff is fabulous! Erica, a night manager, went above and beyond to assist us. The breakfast is excellent with a waffle and egg station for made to order items. Again, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
Katelynn F, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Gail H! Thank you thank you thank you for the kind words about our staff! We're happy to hear that Erica stood out to you during your stay, we will certainly let her know that you appreciated the service that she provided! We greatly appreciate your patronage, we can't wait to have you back during your next stay!

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS. I was staying at the hotel as a prospective Washington University student. When my mother and I had asked about a shuttle service coming to campus to pick us up, we were told that the shuttles to the airport took priority—something which we understood. The person who answered to our request said that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slabodkinh
Katelynn F, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, slabodkinh, I am extremely disappointed that you feel that your stay was this poor. If we have multiple calls for the airport then the airport does take priority. We, at times, could tell you it might take 20 minutes, but in that 20 minutes we could get several more calls for the shuttle, which could add 20-40 more minutes...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When it became obvious that Delta's Atlanta hub was closed due to the severe storms and I could not reach St Louis for a Friday meeting, I called the hotel to alert them. I was told that because of the situation, there would be no charge for the room and they would try to resell it. The next day, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
Katelynn F, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Barry! I'm sorry if you feel you were insulted in any way during the process of trying to cancel your reservation. I can assure you that we try to be as fair as possible and work with our guests to the best of our ability to guarantee customer satisfaction. Upon further investigation I see that you booked one reservation...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here while attending a business seminar. Walking in is like stepping back in time. The porters are wearing top hats and waistcoats. Huge crystal chandelier hanging from the ceiling. Marble steps up to the reception area. All very over the top. Received excellent service from the entire staff during my stay. Very nice bedroom, quiet and well appointed. Bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ready_For_Sun10
Katelynn F, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Ready_For_Sun10! I'm happy to hear that you received excellent service from our staff and that you liked our look! Thank you for the kind words and we truly appreciate your patronage! If you're ever back in the area, please come visit us again! Safe travels!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $125 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clayton Plaza Hotel staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Parking free on the weekends Parking garage sketchy, but under construction while there”
75chuckj, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room opposite the parking garage”
Ready_For_Sun10, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for wifi code at desk.”
connieh445, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are larger with a seperate tub & shower”
B3612MAbobs, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the renovated rooms. It makes a difference!”
Beto71, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$109* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$109
Travelocity$109
Priceline$109
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates