We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! Very clean with large comfortable rooms, the bed was amazing and breakfast was wonderful. One negative is that there are no elevators so get ready to hike some steps. When I checked in I met an amazing employee named Mitu. She literally was waiting tables for an wedding and stopped what she was doing to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yikaddd
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Beautiful suite! Good continental breakfast. Historic building. Friendly, accommodating staff. Manager Very professionally handled an issue on an earlier visit. Will definitely return. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rjwilderson
Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewed September 28, 2016

I am traveling with my 91 year old mother. The inn looked interesting and it had a restaurant on location, I wouldn't have to get my Mom out again, and the courtyard. We checked in on a Friday night and checked out on Monday. At check in, I realized that I had confused this inn with another...no elevator. My designed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdp43
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed September 28, 2016

What a great place and such a wonderful staff. We had three rooms for two nights while attending a wedding rehersal dinner and wedding event. All three rooms were perfect and Mitu went out of her way to accomodate our every need. Truly a St. Louis gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at seven gables for one night. The workers were very nice and helpful. The air conditioner did not work well in our room. I assume that's because the hotel was built in the 20's. There was a fan in the room to help. No exhaust fan in the bathroom. The hallways and rooms had musty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathanq261
Kendrick, Idaho
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

I like to get off the beaten path and away from the chain hotels sometimes and sacrifice points and glad I did. It's an older property but clean and very quiet. Beds were awesome and the staff was very helpful. Had a rental car and it looked like parking was limited. Being Easter Sunday the restaurant/bar wasn't open so had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnmannedFarmer
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you chose to forgo the regular hotel experience and even happier you chose us! When you come back to visit, you'll have to try our delicious pub, Molly Darcy's. It's open from 11AM-10PM (we serve alcohol a little later), Monday-Saturday (we are closed on Sundays and holidays). Again, thank you so much...

Estes Park, United States
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Fun, comfortable and interesting "B & B" style lodge in Clayton. Rooms are unique. Staff is great. Restaurant has good food and service. No elevator, but staff will carry your luggage if needed. Paid parking, but that's true for any decent place in Clayton. I ended up in a room over the restaurant, but it was quiet by 9:30, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstesTraveler
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are really excited that you enjoyed our hotel and the many interesting things it has to offer. We do offer rooms that are not over the bar, so next time you visit, just request it and we'd be happy to fulfill that request! Again, thank you for your warm review. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace...

Destin, United States
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

In many ways this is a very nice hotel. The location is excellent - in the heart of Clayton - the staff are friendly, and our room was very spacious. The bathroom had been updated. But there are little things that keep me from rating it higher. First the hotel advertises valet parking. I thought that this meant a uniformed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M Robert C
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad that got to stay with us and enjoyed our location, room, and staff. As for the things you didn't enjoy as much, we are looking to correct those things as much as we can (the parking lot size isn't correctable at the moment), but we are working with our staff to make sure...

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend. Very disappointed. Over priced, outdated, and poorly equipped. The shower was too small for my husband, I'm 5 ft and it was perfect for me, enough said. The reviews mentioned wonderful breakfasts we got scrambled eggs both morning with cold, store bought rolls. Didn't even finish it this morning. Very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty E
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed you encountered some issues during your stay with us and we are working on the items you've mentioned (especially breakfast) to ensure guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you give us another chance in the future. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Seven Gables Inn in Clayton. We arrived at noon and they allowed us early check-in. We got room 217, which was the perfect size for our weekend getaway. I loved the free Fiji water and bathrobes waiting for us. The shower was hot and I loved the bath products that were provided. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fallon F
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate that you enjoyed the complimentary amenities provided to you each day during your stay with us. We hope to have you back and again, thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
875 reviews
The Cheshire
#34 of 119 in Saint Louis
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#37 of 119 in Saint Louis
360 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 119 in Saint Louis
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $126 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“This is a Historic building and does not have elevators. Request a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 736ToddP, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2nd floor away from restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles EstesTraveler, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay