We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 359: English reviews
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at seven gables for one night. The workers were very nice and helpful. The air conditioner did not work well in our room. I assume that's because the hotel was built in the 20's. There was a fan in the room to help. No exhaust fan in the bathroom. The hallways and rooms had musty... More 

Helpful?
Thank nathanq261
Kendrick, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

I like to get off the beaten path and away from the chain hotels sometimes and sacrifice points and glad I did. It's an older property but clean and very quiet. Beds were awesome and the staff was very helpful. Had a rental car and it looked like parking was limited. Being Easter Sunday the restaurant/bar wasn't open so had... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnmannedFarmer
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you chose to forgo the regular hotel experience and even happier you chose us! When you come back to visit, you'll have to try our delicious pub, Molly Darcy's. It's open from 11AM-10PM (we serve alcohol a little later), Monday-Saturday (we are closed on Sundays and holidays). Again, thank you so much... More 

Estes Park, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Fun, comfortable and interesting "B & B" style lodge in Clayton. Rooms are unique. Staff is great. Restaurant has good food and service. No elevator, but staff will carry your luggage if needed. Paid parking, but that's true for any decent place in Clayton. I ended up in a room over the restaurant, but it was quiet by 9:30, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank EstesTraveler
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are really excited that you enjoyed our hotel and the many interesting things it has to offer. We do offer rooms that are not over the bar, so next time you visit, just request it and we'd be happy to fulfill that request! Again, thank you for your warm review. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace... More 

Destin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

In many ways this is a very nice hotel. The location is excellent - in the heart of Clayton - the staff are friendly, and our room was very spacious. The bathroom had been updated. But there are little things that keep me from rating it higher. First the hotel advertises valet parking. I thought that this meant a uniformed... More 

Helpful?
Thank M Robert C
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad that got to stay with us and enjoyed our location, room, and staff. As for the things you didn't enjoy as much, we are looking to correct those things as much as we can (the parking lot size isn't correctable at the moment), but we are working with our staff to make sure... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend. Very disappointed. Over priced, outdated, and poorly equipped. The shower was too small for my husband, I'm 5 ft and it was perfect for me, enough said. The reviews mentioned wonderful breakfasts we got scrambled eggs both morning with cold, store bought rolls. Didn't even finish it this morning. Very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Betty E
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed you encountered some issues during your stay with us and we are working on the items you've mentioned (especially breakfast) to ensure guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you give us another chance in the future. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Seven Gables Inn in Clayton. We arrived at noon and they allowed us early check-in. We got room 217, which was the perfect size for our weekend getaway. I loved the free Fiji water and bathrobes waiting for us. The shower was hot and I loved the bath products that were provided. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fallon F
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate that you enjoyed the complimentary amenities provided to you each day during your stay with us. We hope to have you back and again, thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

We booked an airbnb apartment for a week in the Clayton/University City area but were sorely disappointed by the rundown character of our lodging and bugs that looked like cockroaches in the bathroom. For only $50 a night more, we went from tired and lackluster accommodations to a very sweet spot at the 7 Gables Inn. The window in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2rist
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope to have you back in the future so you can take advantage of all we have to offer--including rooms with a view of our lovely courtyard. Again, thank you for the review. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Waterford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

We loved the beautiful building and private courtyard. It felt very old world, in the best sense. Great breakfast options. And we hosted a party in the Molly Darcy Pub which was awesome; the wait staff was great. All the staff was great. My husband is handicapped, but we were accommodated on a ground floor room and he could take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrice N
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We love that you appreciated our building, which is on the national historical registry. The building was built in the 1920's so it really is a big part of Clayton history. Once again, we thank you for your kind review and we hope to have you back as a guest in the future. Warm Regards,... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

The Seven Gables Inn was a perfect place to stay in St. Louis. Our room was spacious and clean. The Inn is charming. The breakfast was good. The location is great. And, the staff could not be nicer. My son left his retainer on his breakfast plate. We realized it was missing about 20 minutes later, after our plates had... More 

Helpful?
Thank jp1131
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to go above and beyond to insure our guests are satisfied and we're glad we could do that for you. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back. Warm Regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

My room was #223. Place appeared not to have an elevator. The area I staid in would not be suitable for disabled people as the hallway was only about 3 ft wide, and my bathroom had standard fixtures and accessibility. I do not know if there were any ground level rooms. There is an adjacent bar/grill that caters to hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W L
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have elevators as we are an historical building but we do have rooms on the first floor to accommodate all of our guests. We will be working with the breakfast staff to ensure breakfast is out more quickly, thank you for bringing that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#2 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#33 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $142 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay