We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pack Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pack Horse Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of Pack Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I were staying at a local stately hotel and had the previous evening enjoyed a fine dining experience. On Wednesday evening we wanted something with a little more substance without any less quality. We found it at the Pack Horse Inn. We both had the fish cakes as starters - the lightness of the batter was much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We work hard to provide the balance of excellent food at reasonable prices. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled across this lovely Inn on a rainy Saturday lunch time and were warmly greeted by friendly staff. We were on a weekend break and ready for lunch and my wife opted for the delicious homemade mushroom soup and I went for chicken mayo baked potato. We were so impressed we decided to book a table for dinner that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glynn H
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad to have been able to make your special weekend so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife took me as a surprise last night. We were welcomed and shown to the garden room dining area. This was very nice being lit by fairy lights. Our hosts gave us menus and took our drinks order to the bar. The starters chosen were tomato and basil soup with crusty tomato bread and a lovely salmon roulade. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. We change our menu regularly so we look forward to delighting you with new choices on your return.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They pull a mean pint of Timothy Taylor and the owners are very accommodating. The food is good with very generous portions. Pub grub as opposed to fine dining, but I thoroughly enjoy it every time I eat there. Definitely recommended. There's a local cow herder who is also a regular, Mr Fell, very at home with his Highland cattle....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan P
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your beer and food. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned to our favourite Sunday lunch venue, excellent food and service as always. Advise you reserve a table as can be very busy. Menu for a Sunday lunchtime is extensive including vegetarian and gluten free options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. Our Sunday lunches are always popular so you are right to advise pre-booking. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a recent weekend stay in the village we called in for a drink on the Friday evening. We found the bar very hospitable which resulted in us booking a meal for the following evening. Again the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, however, we were not over enthused with our meal. We feel the prices charged were high for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186394Ian
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your visit. We try to cater for all of our visitors tastes and endeavour to make alterations to our menus to suit our diners whether they like rare, medium or well cooked. If you ever were up this way again we would love another chance...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off for lunch on the way from York to Edinburgh and got a very warm welcome along with accomodating hospitality througout. It is only 5 minutes off the A1 so not a huge detour and the food was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to welcome folk on their way up or down the A1. We provide a quiet antidote to the long journey, a bit different from a service station. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal! Very accommodating to vegans all the way through the meal. A good menu and very decent portions. Meat eaters also very happy with their choices! A great start to our break here. A popular place! Thank you for a really nice evening. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelJenifer
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us - we always try to make sure there are some tasty choices for our Vegan and Vegetarian friends! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We decided to find a place for lunch and saw the sign to the village from the A1. The inn is very easy to find and we had a great freshly cooked meal in a lovely 'village' pub. The menu gave many choices and i am sure they would all be cooked and served to the standard that we received....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhutchinson2016
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and for such lovely comments. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip... And we're very much looking forward to having you stay with us for longer next time!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place, but I can't say I was impressed. The food lacked seasoning and the pheasant goujons didn't resemble any pheasant I've eaten before... White, bland, and very chewy. The food looked fantastic on the plates, but tasted very average. For pub grub it's ok but I wouldn't return unfortunately. I was disappointed but hopefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarch333
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your visit. We're surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the pheasant as it has been such a smash hit this shooting season - shot here on the Ellingham Estate it couldn't be more fresh. If you ever were up this way again we would love another chance to impress; whilst...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellingham
1.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,144 reviews
3.5 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
965 reviews
4.3 mi away
Craster Arms
Craster Arms
#1 of 8 in Beadnell
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Stone Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer bed and breakfast and a one-bed (twin) self catering holiday cottage. Our restaurant offers superb food, wines and ales in this traditional Northumberland village pub. If you enjoy good food at a reasonable price then the Pack Horse Inn is the place to eat. All the food is prepared fresh daily using the best locally sourced ingredients. There is no bought in pre-prepared food served at the Pack Horse, and consequently the menu changes almost on a daily basis to ensure the freshest most interesting seasonal food is always available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Chathill, Ellingham NE67 5HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ellingham
Price Range: $84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel Alnwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pack Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Double Rooms were distinctly more attractive”
 of 5 bubbles OnlyOneBobP, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over”
 of 5 bubbles vikkie255, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2 and 5 are best”
 of 5 bubbles jktraveller73, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Howatson1family, Mar 26, 2016 | Read review
“There isn't one”
 of 5 bubbles wishinwashin, Dec 16, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question