We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Chequers Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having read the reviews we travelled 45 mins to get here and were greeted by a gentleman who was not at all welcoming and quite short with us. We ordered the charcuterie sharing platter which sounded lovely for £14.95. We were so disappointed in it, 3 pieces of Chorizo, 3 bits of smoked duck, 2 slices of parma ham and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stellina1007
St Helens, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent Food and Service, very reasonably priced.Very pleasant atmosphere, staff very attentive. Highly recommended. Menu is a combination of Pub Classics as well as innovative dishes, something for everyone, all expertly prepared and presented

Helpful?
Thank BGT1006
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay overnight and an evening meal! Wonderful atmosphere, staff great and food was delicious, definitely go back. Rooms were very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Loved our stay, parking easy, just a busy road.

Helpful?
Thank harryflashman01
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent several days here. This 16th century inn enjoys a good location close to all sights in the heart of the lovely Peak District. Comfy and clean bedroom and bathroom with all amenities. Good standard of cooking with a wide choice of food, wine and local ale. Cordial, amiable staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Car parking available... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dornick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an exhilarating walk along Curbar Edge we called in here for a drink. The question we asked ourselves was why have we never been before now?! We ordered a bottle of delicious New Zealand Sauvgnion blanc which was well worth every penny and after the warm welcome we received decided to eat. We were not disappointed! I had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan0527
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Sunday evening as part of a short anniversary break in Derbyshire. Booked this restaurant based on a number of excellent Trip Advisor reviews. We were placed on table 13 in the corner of the dining area, which was nice an intimate. Unfortunately there was a lot of damp on the back wall (we appreciate it is an old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best food I've had in a long time. Dined Friday night and it was the best cooked lamb I've ever had. Well done chef. As for the team front of house so lovely the manager was around all the time and smiling away they all gave 110% to their customers a joy to watch. Well done to you all well... More 

Helpful?
Thank vickel80
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Well thank you very much for your 5 Star review! Really pleased you enjoyed what we do. Our staff work very hard to ensure guests are happy. Hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were out for the afternoon and called in not knowing the area, sorry we did now. Wanted just a couple of side orders of chips but were told in short shrift that they were only available with a main course and they had crisps behind the bar instead, the place was empty and though they may have been prepping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dylan J
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately it seems that you may have chosen the wrong place for what you were looking for. We are happy to serve homemade chips as an accompaniment to a main meal, but we do not serve bowls of chips on there own. We do offer quality Pipers crisps , olives and home roasted nuts for guests not wanting to dine.... More 

Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: Views, walks, bar/restaurant, local attractions. Negatives: Traffic noise, traffic noise, traffic noise, cheap mattress, traffic noise, tiny window for ventilation, traffic noise threadbare carpet on stairs and landing. Remedy: Triple glazing, air conditioning, new mattress, new carpet. Simples................

Helpful?
1 Thank AdTheLad
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Chequers was built as a roadside coaching inn back in the 16th century, so there is unfortunately nothing we can do about our location. All our front facing rooms have secondary double glazing fitted to eliminate traffic noise as mush as possible, but we understand that this time of year guests may choose to... More 

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to visit as we've not been here for ages. We all just had main courses. Not one to visit with kids, they didn't have a kids menu & could only do a small fish & chips or roast pork, so hardly any choice for them!! We thought that for the price the portions were small. Didn't enjoy the gammon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire W
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks Claire for taking the time to review your recent visit. We don't actively seek out the childrens market, so dont have a designated childrens menu. We can however offer some of our more straightforward dishes as smaller portions, including roasts on a sunday. Sorry you didnt enjoy our gammon. As the menu says, it has a honey glaze,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froggatt
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sir William
Sir William
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Froggatt
Price Range: $114 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay