We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Star Hotel and Casino

Save
Share
13240 Highway 16 W Pearl River Resort - Choctaw, Philadelphia, MS 39350
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Philadelphia
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.0
Value
4.2
Within the golf club
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Meeting rooms
Spa
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
102Reviews11Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 41
  • 29
  • 16
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anthony B wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
This is on of most beautiful places to to go to for games art shopping an entertainment I a great wonderful time at this place for a few nights it was a date/getaway will be back asap can’t wait!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: A few night can Make it last forever
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cindy R wrote a review Apr 2021
13 contributions8 helpful votes
After seeing mixed reviews we decided to come for an overnight getaway. We had visited years ago and had a lot of fun. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. We appreciated a couch to sit on while watching TV. The walls are thin. You can hear people in the next room coughing and talking. No real privacy. Food is essentially non existent. There are few restaurants on site, but no where near enough to accommodate the amount of people here. One even required reservations.. We had to get in our car to drive to town for dinner. There is a fast food type counter in the casino, but if you need healthy food forget it. No stands with yogurt, fruit.. Nothing like this. Drinks are free in the casino, including coffee and soda, but the waitresses expect a tip. That's fine if you have cash on hand. No fridge in room, but there is an ice bucket. We spent about six hours in the casino on slot machines. We saw three people win some money. No one was excited. Even people in the elevator were complaining about losing money. The room cost $277 for one night. We had a budget and lost $300. There were not any winning lights flashing all night. This was a Saturday night, too. It was very busy. Only about three times were we able to truly enjoy a machine. By this, I mean playing a twenty dollar bill for more than three plays. Typically, as soon as we would put some money in and press the button three times, the twenty was gone. This was a cycle over and over. To try to increase our fun we would just go to another machine. Had we sat on one machine we would have been done in an hour. It's very clear that they are here to get your money - not give you any. We also walked by the tables several times-no action there either. Had this been my first visit to a casino I would have been greatly disappointed. Just do yourself a favor and go to another casino. We drove five hours and had to leave to eat and win nothing. Not even $10. Just pathetic. As much as they charge for their rooms these odds are ridiculous. We signed up to get cards and rewards, etc.. Yeah those cards went straight in the trash. Won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
cheryly638 wrote a review Mar 2021
Birmingham, Alabama9 contributions2 helpful votes
Always enjoy or time at casinos! Been going for 15 years. Always on our birthdays March 13&14. July 4, and xmas or New Years. But had to quarantine untill now. Waiting for 2nd vaccine and be on our way!! But haven’t received any monthly offers for the first time in years!! I hope we haven’t been cut off, we have been looking forward to some fun after this long boring year. Love the rooms, Phillip Ms, crab Buffett and bistro breakfast!! Dreaming of slots!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
terryinal wrote a review Jan 2020
Gardendale, Alabama68 contributions45 helpful votes
I have stayed here many times. The room was clean but shower didn't have hot water. Called 5 times and still not fixed. They kept coming when I was their or went to wrong room. I did wait two times and know one. The next day we changed rooms and had hot water but room wasn't as clean as it should be. I have stayed here many times and everything before has been good. I don't get them saying hot water was good. I do think they went to wrong room or someone shouldn't be the person fixing things
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
candg2017 wrote a review Aug 2019
Florence, Arizona177 contributions94 helpful votes
My husband and I enjoyed our own rooms for 2 nights. This was the most relaxing fun we have in years. He snores so it was really nice to not have to have that, plus he likes to have a few beers while gambling, which makes the snore worse. Okay- so the slots were not nice to us, but we go with the mind set we are here to have fun and don’t plan on coming home with money. I really wish the shops would have T- shirts with the logos on them, I love to collect them from casinos. Free advertising for them also. We always like these casinos connected , they are so clean. The only difference we saw this time was the employees seem to be - not so friendly! What happened? There’s nothing worse than having a good time and ask a question for help and get a cold shoulder. I just assume they all got told their hours are getting cut because no one is there, was pretty quiet, but they have to understand that with out us who come, they would have no job. Not sure what their problem was- we tried to ignore them and continue to have fun. A bakery on the silver star said the blended coffee machine was down and told us to go to whiskey beans at the golden moon. Oh joy- we went there and that was a challenge just to try and find out the sizes and price from the unhappy employee - it said small, medium, large. After many tries she said they have no such thing as a small ( it’s up on the board! ) she really didn’t want to do anything, my husband stepped in to ask if we could see the size cups. She struggled but got there. Acted like the plastic cups weighed a ton, well that’s what her face showed. Maybe she was watching a movie on her cell phone and we interrupted. Why should we feel like we’re interrupting them? Low and behold she did make a nice blended coffee, ? I never did get a smile out of her, I hope she feels better what ever her problem was. Have to say I make the worse people in life smile by the time I leave them— that’s just me and my nature to try and make people smile. These casinos this time was a hard task!! They are not happy there! I sure that won’t stop us from going back— we do like our casinos All over the country. I would not travel there without the free rooms though, we lost a lot of money!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KatM3010, Public Relations Manager at Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Responded Aug 26, 2019
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear about relaxing time. We appreciate your candid comments regarding your visit to our property. We apologize for the unsatisfactory experiences you mentioned and will share them with our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rondah290 wrote a review Aug 2019
Lynn Haven, Florida150 contributions15 helpful votes
My daughter and I came as a short trip before she goes back to college. Desk clerk was very nice and friendly. Our room was very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. We had the buffet which was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KatM3010, Public Relations Manager at Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Responded Aug 15, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear of your enjoyable experience with us. We hope to see you again soon. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byron C wrote a review Aug 2019
Gastonia, North Carolina21 contributions1 helpful vote
We just returned from a recent stay at the Silver Star Hotel in Choctaw, MS. We have always stayed at the Golden Moon, which is also part of the Pearl River Resort properties. The Silver Star is much older than the Golden Moon and it shows. Here is a break down of my recent stay (photos included from room 1088) Room Type: King Accessible The overall room has been nicely updated, although the mattress could stand a replacement. Deep pockets in the mattress made it a little tough to get comfortable. The blackout drapes have a weird pattern on them that appear to look like "faces." Not sure what the though was on selecting this design. Bathroom Again, nicely updated, to a degee. When they updated the bathroom it appears they forgot the shower. Very out dated and it has no place to put the soap besides on the shower bench, not a good place for someone with mobility issues. The vent fan in the bathroom ran constantly and was very loud. Maintenance came up and were unable to shut it down do to its connection to a vent system on the roof. The only way to silence it was to shut the bathroom door. The bathroom sink is not practical (please see pics), and whatever happened to towel bars in hotel bathrooms?! Hallways: Carpets are a dark brown to resist showing dirt, but they have passed their resistance and are in need of a deep cleaning. Room Service: Staff was very patient and courteous. Due to changes beyond their control, room service orders would often take up to an hour to be delivered to rooms in the Silver Star. Staff informed us that all orders now come from the Golden Moon due to a shut down of the restaurant on the Silver Star side. Just be aware of this delay if you stay at the Silver Star and order room service. By the way, food was good, just a long wait to enjoy it! Service Elevator: The location of the service elevator was just two doors down from our room. Whenever staff would use it, the entire room would rumble. Hopefully this review will help someone else avoid the issues we had during our stay at the Silver Star. Hopefully property owners will look into resolving these issues soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EricaM3010, Public Relations Manager at Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Responded Aug 6, 2019
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid comments regarding your visit to our property . We apologize for the unsatisfactory experiences you mentioned and will share them with our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne R wrote a review May 2019
Glen Rose, Texas40 contributions22 helpful votes
Place was perfect for our group of 8. Food was good and most people were friendly. One bartender (male) and dealer (female) need some work. Thanks for a great time. Rooms were clean and price was right. The buffet was very good but a little pricey. Lost money in the casino but I always lose.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EricaM3010, Public Relations Manager at Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Responded May 3, 2019
Hi, Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience. It is because of wonderful guests like you that we are made aware of issues and are able to continuously improve. Best, Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lahl24 wrote a review Feb 2019
Bessemer, Alabama41 contributions36 helpful votes
They have been working on the Buffy. They have been working on the Buffy. We haven’t enjoyed it in the past but, we ate Sea Food night Saturday and it was the best I've had in a real time, not mentioning Breakfast it was so good even had great biskets
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
J Douglas M wrote a review Nov 2018
Alabama275 contributions55 helpful votes
Came to the Silver Star today. Great rooms. Great Buffet really good food. The fried whole catfish is the best. Of all the casinos that we go to, silver star is the best. Oh yes, I’m glad they finally rep ave’s the parking lot ( that was my only complaint last time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
silver star hotel philadelphia, silver star resort, silverstar casino
LOCATION
United StatesMississippiPhiladelphia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
500
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVER STAR HOTEL AND CASINO - Prices & Resort Reviews (Philadelphia, MS)

Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Which popular attractions are close to Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Nearby attractions include Williams Brothers (4.1 miles), Golden Moon Casino (0.1 miles), and Geyser Falls Water Theme Park (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Conveniently located restaurants include City Limits Seafood, Hondumex, and Phillip M's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silver Star Hotel and Casino?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Silver Star Hotel and Casino accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.