We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lofts at the Five & Dime

Save
Share
211 Yazoo Ave, Clarksdale, MS 38614-4322
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (63)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Clarksdale
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.9
Centrally located in downtown Clarksdale, Mississippi, the Lofts at the Five & Dime is an apartment-style hotel in a small town setting with modern conveniences and amenities. The Lofts reside in the upper level of the old Woolworth building, Clarksdale's first historic tax credit project. There are 6 lofts, each with a full kitchen, spacious living area, bedroom, bath and washer/dryer. Visit Clarksdale and stay at the Lofts at the Five and Dime, full of rich history in an urban contemporary setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
316Reviews5Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 305
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wynester J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The room was like a suite, it provided everything you would need: washer/dryer, full kitchen, dishwasher, dishes for up to eight guests, sleeping two to four comfortably, television in bedroom and living room. Full bath. I really enjoyed my stay, there is also a nice bistro downstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sheila M wrote a review Feb 2022
West, Mississippi8 contributions
We loved this place! Super nice! A perfect set up. It got very cold which made us glad we had a cozy comfortable place to land and cook and just stay in and enjoy each other! Very well maintained. Spotless. It felt very private and safe. It was close to a lot of things to see and do. We did not walk as we planned but it was still very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Phyllis J wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
Visiting the area for a family funeral. Arrived at Five & Dime Lofts. I reserved two of the Lofts . One for family members & one for myself & my Mother & Sister. First off , the door code is very persnickety. If you pause or hesitate one second between numbers to look at your phone to get the actual code it will not open. Do you have to start over. It took us three or four tries to get the door open the very first time. As we got upstairs hall way was nice but the codes for the rooms are pretty much the same as the ones to access the building. It looks like there are other holes in the door where another lock or door handle had been removed. As I approach the foyer hallway to access the loft the first thing I noticed was the walls seem very dirty with marks all over. The unit seem very spacious. Second thing I noticed that the lamps were very dusty. We were in a hurry to get ready to go to the families house but the visitation was going to be so we quickly changed and left. As we were leaving I glanced up at the ceiling and the AC return register above the entrance store had any Normas amount of land and dirt and it was very unsightly. As well as the exhaust fans in the bathrooms. Return back later that evening around 830 - 9 o’clock to find a parking lot at the entrance door with lots of unsightly people loitering around in the parking lot. It made us feel very unsafe for three women to be in that type of environment. My brother called and said for us not to get out of the car because the parking lot did not appear to be a safe environment. As we eventually got back into our loft I noticed that the door does not completely seal all the way it seems very loose. Even though it locked. There were gaps. Getting ready to retire for the evening. We turned on TV & sit on the sofa. And it stinks really bad in the middle not realizing that the pull out sofa bed that we later pulled out had broken legs and would collapse on you like a taco minute you sat or laid on it. Also, No linens for the pullout bed. Minimum towels & the ones that were there appeared dingy & not white. & had a not so fresh smell . The toilet in master bath has a very unstable seat. The shower glass lots of soap residue & the shower floor slippery. Light bulbs out in 1/2 bath. We Only stayed one night thank goodness. But would not recommend. Lastly, Not a place for anyone the has an issue with navigating stairs .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Tried to up load photos but site would not let me
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Five and Dime Lofts, Marketing at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Nov 10, 2021
First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory stay. We do not take your concerns lightly, and have immediately addressed and corrected each problem you have mentioned. We hold our property to higher standards than described, and we are sad that was not your experience. I do feel it necessary to address some of your comments publicly, as some of these issues are a misrepresentation. 1. Your concern over the door code is simply a matter of safety. The locks must receive a code typed in consecutively without pause so to prevent anyone from typing in a code over an extended period of time. It's a security precaution. We intentionally give guests a code that will work for both the entrance and their loft so to keep from having to remember multiple codes. The "holes" mentioned on the doors are not holes, but indentions left by former keypads prior to updating. 2. Scuff marks on walls happen over time from guest use and luggage. Plans to repaint have been made. 3. Any concerns of cleanliness are unacceptable. Housekeeping has been addressed and air filters have been changed/returns cleaned. 4. Your mention of "unsightly people" is concerning, though not an accurate representation of our business. As described upon booking, we do not have a "parking lot," rather we share street parking with other local businesses. I cannot speak to the specific people you may have seen, but I can assure you our neighborhood is safe and has not had an history of criminal behavior. If there were any concerns for safety, we should have been notified - we were not. We do have security cameras that are monitored professionally as well. 5. Linens for sofa beds are given upon request. Your reservation did not indicate the bed would be needed. It should also be noted that we have had a change in management since your stay with us. Once again, I sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. The issues in our control have been corrected and will not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JimfromMtJuliet wrote a review Aug 2021
Gulf Shores, Alabama38 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed at The Lofts at the Five & Dime for two nights and enjoyed it a lot. My wife and I were on Motorcycles and it really helped us to have a comfortable place to stay and sleep. It is above Yazoo Pass restaurant. This is not a hotel but a Condo.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: a Second floor condo updated and comfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeffrey B wrote a review Feb 2020
Champaign, Illinois, United States23 contributions46 helpful votes
This was my second stay at the Lofts. I’ve now stayed in both units E and F. I can’t recommend them highly enough. Beautiful, spacious, safe, quiet, and the perfect location. Walk to the juke joints, the restaurants, and the river.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Five and Dime Lofts, Marketing at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed both of your stays. We'd love to have you again soon. Maybe to try a third loft!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shele W wrote a review Feb 2020
Pine Bluff, Arkansas6 contributions
+1
We loved our stay at The Lofts at the Five & Dime! It was spacious, beautifully decorated, and felt like home away from home. I loved all of the books and magazines on Delta area history and things to do. Great location. We will definitely stay here anytime we are in Clarksdale!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Five and Dime Lofts, Marketing at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words! It makes me so happy to hear you felt at home at our Lofts. I hope you will return to Clarksdale soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RemekaJ wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Five and Dime Loft in Clarksdale, MS is an amazing place to stay when visiting Clarksdale, MS. I stayed 11/1 through 11/3 and the loft had everything that I needed. I will definitely rent the loft again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Five and Dime Lofts, Marketing at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you so much! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann-TexasTraveler073 wrote a review Oct 2019
Houston, Texas28 contributions33 helpful votes
I loved my time in the Lofts. My unit was very comfortable, clean, well furnished, and the location couldn't be better. I had been on the road for several days, and it's just SO nice to have an apartment over a standard hotel room. All of the lofts have a washer and dryer, so I'm leaving Clarksdale with all clean clothes :-) . The kitchen has a Keurig coffee maker, with ample coffee supplied. The bed and linens are comfortable. The Yazoo Pass restaurant is right below the Lofts -- and has great food -- both at breakfast and dinner. You're in walking distance of all the music, food, and shops in downtown Clarksdale. I had a question while I was here, texted the owners, and one of them called me within a few minutes. Be aware that the lofts are on the second floor of the building, so you need to be able to climb stairs and bring up you luggage yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 5and10lofts, General Manager at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Oct 26, 2019
Thrilled that you loved your visit with us. Please come back anytime!! Fast healing vibes and peace sent to you. Safe travels while making memories. Celia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally H wrote a review Oct 2019
Miami Beach, Florida10 contributions1 helpful vote
Great central location - over the Yazoo Pass restaurant in downtown Clarksdale. Lots of room in the apartment. Very modern and clean. Ours had a living room with kitchen, bedroom, bathroom off the bedroom, half bath in the entry way. Even washer and dryer! Lots of room to spread out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Five and Dime Lofts, Marketing at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you very much for leaving such a kind review. It is so good to hear when guests appreciate our amenities, and it sounds like you enjoyed them! I hope you will return to Clarksdale soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela & Kevin wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at The Lofts; roomy, clean and perfect location. Perfect amenities. We look forward to a return visit. Wonderful hosts showing perfect Southern hospitality. And added bonus was their Yazoo Pass restaurant downstairs. Angela & Kevin Maldon Victoria Australia
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 5and10lofts, Director of Sales at The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Responded Sep 16, 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit with y'all again . We look forward to hopefully coming to visit y'all next !! Safe travels home. Celia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kinchen O'Keefe
LOCATION
United StatesMississippiClarksdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Which popular attractions are close to The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Nearby attractions include Cat Head Delta Blues & Folk Art (0.08 miles), The Delta Blues Museum (0.2 miles), and Ground Zero Blues Club (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yazoo Pass, Ground Zero Blues Club, and Levon's.
Is The Lofts at the Five & Dime located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Clarksdale.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lofts at the Five & Dime?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hopson Plantation Commissary (3.4 miles).