We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Mahia Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Mahia Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Start your review of Te Mahia Bay Resort
 Click to rate
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived from the UK here, so felt a bit jaded!!! ( We have been to NZ before, so, did stock up with grocery shopping in Nelson). The room was great, it had a lovely sea view, and the ability to cook is wonderful!!. Very well set out rooms. The Owners are very helpful with what to do and where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 782DebbieW782
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Yes that UK trip is always a long haul, but we are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings at Te Mahia Bay Resort for a few days. We look forward to your return visit so we can share the many more wonderful things that the Kenepuru Sound has to offer.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely accomodation after days and days on the QCT! We started with rainy weather and freezing temperatures but this gem in the Malborough Sounds made up for everything! Staff was super friendly, rooms very clean and the view amazing! We went for a swim to cool off. Highly recommend it and it is worth every penny!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We wish we could have stayed longer. The Queen Charlotte drive of the Marlborough Sound suggested we were in for something special and we were not disappointed. Charming, secluded tranquility with stunning views from the bed of our spacious room with all necessary BnB amenities. You can leave your car parked and find plenty to do here; on land, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We wished you could have stayed longer too, as you were delightful clients and a pleasure to have at the resort. The Kenepuru Sound has so much to offer, both on and off the water and we are happy to assist with any plans and bookings to help our clients get out and enjoy these experiences. We hope on your...

Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

It takes a while to get there but it is worth it. Book the Seaview Apartment and enjoy a spacious and comfortable accomodation with a perfect view of the bay. You will even have a complete kitchen, a BBQ and your own washing machine and tumble dryer. The hosts are very friendly and provide you with detailed information regarding options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friedemann S
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad the scenic route led you to our magical spot at Te Mahia. We take pride in our beautiful apartments and their location so close to the waters edge and all the conveniences like a home away from home. Safe travels for the rest of your journey and we look forward to hosting you again some time...

Blenheim
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had visited for a wedding and even though the weather was terrible Te Mahia is a beautiful bay for relaxing and getting away from the city. Since arriving on Friday we were welcome by Jann and Trevor the owners and shown to our room. What a view from the room! Our room is in need of a renovation however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xlaurzx
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your stay at Te Mahia was wonderful and yes the views are still amazing even with the inclement weather. They say rain on a wedding day is supposed to bring you good luck! We do hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted with the one bedroom cottage at Te Mahia. We had sea views from our bedroom and living area, and tropical forest views from the kitchen. The full kitchen was fully-equipped -- everything we needed for three wonderful nights of cooking in after hiking. The shower was large, the toiletries very nice, and we had a washer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophia818
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Te Mahia, we do hope that you will be able to visit us again at some stage in the future. We like to think that our well equipped kitchens make you feel as though it is a home away from home, so thank you for your lovely comments.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and absolutely cannot fault the surrounds, the facilities and the lovely room that we stayed in. We do however have one regret from our stay and to be honest following this, it really did put a dampener on our stay. We asked the woman owner to print off a document for us as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajaywar08
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

This post has already been removed officially once by Trip Advisor because it was found to violate their guidelines. I wish to strongly clarify yet again, that the comments/advice that I offered was not from reading any private documents but from the casual generic conversation I had with her husband in reception. We conversed for a few minutes about her...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Te Mahia was the 4th night of our Queen Charlotte Track walk. Such a gorgeous area and we were very happy with our rooms. Lovely little cafe to grab a coffee (and a gluten free slice!) complete with a gift shop. Yet another wonderful location that would be good to go back and spend some time at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannel
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dannel, Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you had a nice stay as part of your walking adventure on the Queen Charlotte Track. We do hope you can visit again soon and experience more of what Te Mahia has to offer Regards Jann

Switzerland
Reviewed February 7, 2017

The Lodge is right at the waterfront with Stunning Views as from a ship onto the bay and hills. Furniture a bit old and WiFi weak, but very clean with friendly and Helpful staff. Nice Graden. in the store only few Things to Buy. So bring your own, they make a reasonable good Pizza on request.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Roland, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, yes we are so lucky to have riparian rights which allows us to build so close to the waters edge, as you have described it is like living on a boat right on the water.

Manukau, New Zealand
Reviewed February 7, 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort for three nights in a sea view apartment. The whole place has a friendly and relaxed feel to it. The staff are terrific, many of the people staying have been there many times before and the view across Kenepuru Sound is outstanding. The apartments we stayed in have a view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Grant, We are thrilled that you had such an awesome stay in the Kenepuru Sounds with us and that you did enjoy our lovely apartments. The historic stately Phoenix palms which were planted in the 1930's always give the resort a real island feel to it and we often get comments on how majestic they are. We are fortunately...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
1.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
9.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.8 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 83 in Marlborough Region
174 reviews
5.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Mahia Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask the Owners, as rooms were built at different times. Having a view was great!”
 of 5 bubbles 782DebbieW782, 6 days ago | Read review
“all rooms have equally fantastic views!”
 of 5 bubbles ritajeff, 1 week ago | Read review
“The Seaview Apartments are fantatastic”
 of 5 bubbles FriedemannS_13, 1 week ago | Read review
“Seaview apartments for really modern facilities and oceanfront rooms for bay views.”
 of 5 bubbles GrantP869, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the lower balcony - a heritage unit it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles chab186220, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question