We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Ironwood, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently discovered these Best Western Plus hotels. A coworker tipped me off to the one in Duluth and after the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in I was sold. White Bear Lake Inn lived up to the standard. Whatever Best Western is doing to help the independent operators maintain these great standards is working. My room was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leahg1980
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well decorated for the holiday both inside and out. Looks very festive and inviting. Time are large, well decorated, quiet and cozy. Had microwave, fridge iron etc. Very good pool area. Staff was friendly and efficient. The restaurant is good and better than most hotel resteraunts. You ain't be disappointed with your stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom t
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Tom Happy Holidays so glad to hear your had a great stay. Love to hear you had a chance to eat in our award winning restaurant as well. Hope you will come and visit again soon. Safe travels All the best Bill Foussard Owner

Malvern
Reviewed December 17, 2016

The White Bear Inn is a great example of an individually owned property having a personality while having a brand name. The owner has really made his mark as well as a statement as to how each owner can make a difference. I think it starts with his philosophy transcending to the top quality people he employs. Always a pleasure...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

David We are thrilled to have you as part of our family. Your home away from home! As you know as the owner I truly care about our guests as well as our staff. I love to visit with everyone and hear the amazing stories. We will see you again soon my friend! Safe travels.. Happy Holidays Bill Foussard Owner

Roscoe, United States
Reviewed December 16, 2016

As I stated in a previous review, we had some issues with this hotel last summer. I was contacted and offered a reduced rate to try them again. We returned to MN and stayed there Thursday night. So glad we gave them another chance. Check-in was flawless, we were given a free upgrade to a fireplace/whirlpool suite. The staff was...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P7091GAsusanb
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad too that you gave us another chance. We truly care about our guests and when we fall short we want to do what ever it takes to make things right. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays Bill Foussard Owner

Durango, Colorado
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was great. Booked online and the check in process was very easy. Parking waste only complaint at the time because the restaurant at the hotel was very busy. Later in the evening the parking improved. The room was great. Great decor, comfortable furniture and newer appliances (tv, microwave, mini fridge). Loved the shower and the layout of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic V
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Dominic Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate the kind words. The parking sometimes can be a bit challenging when our award winning restaurant is busy. However, it is a steady flow of parking spaces opening up as the restaurant guests are coming and going. Even if we are sold out we have enough...

Bloomington, MN
Reviewed December 7, 2016

This is a nice hotel with a good restaurant inside its walls; it has a very warm atmosphere in general and many nice features including a nice pool. This was our second visit because we like it; but there were a couple things that need tweaking. The pool area and water were both pretty chilly so it wasn't very enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M E M
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Reviews are a great way for us to stay connected with our guests and a great way to hear ideas. We are always looking for ways to do things better. The tables along the outside of the pool area closest to the restaurant belong to the restaurant as well as...

Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Everything was what I expected. Room was clean ,staff was friendly and cooperative pool area was clean ,breakfast was what I expected , overall a very good trip ! My trip to Minnesota was a great time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
Boston, United States
Reviewed November 21, 2016

I highly recommend Best Western Plus@ White Bear Lake. Staff is helpful, rooms are comfortable , and shuttle service makes it a plus.Location is convenient. Area dining in Summer months is outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Deb Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. I will pass on your kind words to our staff as well. We are thrilled to have two award winning restaurants on site, and as you said the rooftop grill in the summer is so much fun. We hope you will come back and see us...

Granville
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Have stayed here twice while in the area for business. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable with nice water pressure for the shower. The pool is nice and the area around the pool is kept neat and clean. Breakfast is your typical motel food but the young lady kept it well stocked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Ron T Thank you so much for the kind words and taking the time to write the review. We truly care about our guests and want each stay to be exceptional. We are in the perfect spot just a 20 min drive to the downtowns. We have an amazing staff that will go above and beyond to make our guests...

bismarck, United States
Reviewed October 29, 2016

great place to stay, always clean, friendly staff ,and located near my union hall. would recommend it to anyone staying in the area any time i have been unable to get a room here [due to short notice or the hotel being booked up] i always end up paying more for an unsatisfying experience

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
BFoussard, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review

Brad Thank you for your time to write this review, we are always so pleased to hear from our guests. We look forward to your return! All the best Bill Foussard Owner

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Bear Lake
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heights
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heig...
#3 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul Northeast
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul ...
#2 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
49 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
8.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As of January 15, 2013 we have become a smoke free environment. We are are "Green" property. We allow small pets. Located 15 minutes from downtown ST. Paul and 20 min from Minneapolis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn

Address: 4940 Highway 61 North, White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Location: United States > Minnesota > White Bear Lake
Price Range: $115 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Hotel White Bear Lake
Best Western White Bear Lake
Country Inn White Bear Lake
White Bear Lake Best Western
White Bear Lake Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS White Bear Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms above/by pool are noisier, as usual.”
 of 5 bubbles MinnesotaMillie48, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the suite....Hard to believe they have suites at a Best Western.”
 of 5 bubbles Fireinthehole07, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor has access to Roof top patio in the summer. 1st floor has access to pool and fitness rooms and laundry service.”
 of 5 bubbles 775annc, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the outside are quieter than the poolside.”
 of 5 bubbles barrish2016, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
“No really good views. Request a room where you can park near the entry doors.”
 of 5 bubbles krauser848, Apr 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay