We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canary Beach Resort

23 reviews
Breakfast included
Save
17405 County Road 28, Villard, MN 56385-2346
Book with us!
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (7)
Pool & Beach (11)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Villard
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
10 lake front vacation homes/cabins on 1000ft of sandy beach with Lake WaterPark, canoe, paddleboards, paddleboat, shuffleboard, horseshoes, basketball hoop, playground, hayrides, barrel train rides, sand volleyball, dock fishing, game room/lodge, fish cleaning house, horseshoes, Event Center and bike/snowmobile trail nearby. Eight brand new vacation homes with in floor heat, fireplaces, full kitchens, several bathrooms, air conditioning, DirecTv and covered porches. Able to host: family reunions, scrapbooking/crafting retreats, Girl's/Guy's Get-a-ways, holiday houses, religious retreats, snowmobile weekends and wedding parties.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more

Location

Full view
Contact
17405 County Road 28, Villard, MN 56385-2346
Getting there
Minneapolis-St. Paul Intl Airport116 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
23Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is our third year coming to Canary Beach. The cabins are immaculate. The beds quite comfortable. Cabins have soft water, AC, Direct TV, DVD player and free WiFi. We can play Catch, Ladders, Bags, etc on front lawn and have a private fire pit in front of the cabin. There is a huge water trampoline as well as a huge waterslide for guests of all ages to enjoy. The docks are first come, first serve, which worked out great. New owners work very hard at keeping beach clean, delivering wood, and accommodating requests when at all possible. Highly recommend!
Read more
We just stayed at the oldest cottage called Finch House over the 4th holiday. It had a constant moldy, musty smell. There was no hot water in the second bath. Two beds appeared to have sheets that were not changed before our arrival. There is one small window air conditioner in the kitchen that would not cool three of the four bedrooms. When we told the new owners about these things, they became defensive and did not offer any cost allowance on their hefty fees. They limit the number of people who can stay in the cottage for “insurance and fire code” purposes. Yet, they charge $30 per day for extra guests. These owners have much to learn about running a resort and providing good customer service. The overall property is lovely. The Finch House costs way too much for what you get!
Read more
Response from Brandon J, Owner at Canary Beach Resort
Responded Jul 9, 2019
Hello, and thank you for your review. I would like to take the time to reply to your concerns about our cabin called the Finch House. I would first like to point out that at no point during your stay did you come to us with a complaint about anything in the cabin. We can't fix what we don't know is not working, nor would you let us come and check on anything at the end of your stay when we offered. We would need a chance to make things right for you first, versus just handing out discounts at the end of your stay. I have not had anyone complain about it smelling moldy in that cabin before. I have been in many moldy houses, and the Finch House is definitely not moldy. It’s hard to compare the 1960's "cabin" to our updated houses (cabins) when comparing them side by side, which is an unfair comparison. When I checked on the hot water, everything worked fine the next day, so I’m not sure what the issue was when you tried it. I would have been more than willing to come and check out the problem if I would have been notified, day or night. We have a very strict policy when it comes to cabin cleaning. If our cabin cleaners even have a doubt that a bed was used, the linens are changed out. Our cleaning manager also double checks every cabin for these types of things after a cabin has been cleaned. If this is truly what happened, we are sorry. Had you come to us the day you showed up with this concern, we would have made every effort to make things right for you. You did say you had to use your own sheets on your bed you slept in, but none of the beds appeared to be stripped of our sheets? All the beds appeared to have been used for sleeping with our sheets. We certainly would have checked out the air conditioner unit to see if it was working properly had you brought it to our attention. We would have gone as far as adding another window unit if it was not keeping up enough for your standards. As for limiting people in cabins, we do have a maximum capacity for each cabin, and would never exceed that to collect extra money. Our cabins are pro-rated for a certain amount of people, with a guest charge for each person over the pro-rated amount of people up to the maximum number of people. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with our Finch House. We have addressed all of the concerns you gave to us before the next guest arrived. They loved their stay in the “cabin”!
Read more
+1
We had a woman's weekend at the Canary Beach Resort and stayed in the Wren's Den, which is their largest cabin on the property. I really can't say enough about how amazing the entire experience was... From their incredibly kind and helpful staff, to the beautiful and clean cabin we just really had the best time. They even took us on a complimentary hayride around the area which ended up being one of my favorite parts of the trip! One of the nights we had a paint company come in to instruct a paint class and they got it all set up for us with tables and chairs! Just all in all the service was above any expectations I may have had. We also couldn't help but notice (although we were there for an adult event) what a fun place it would be for a family as well. I would LOVE to come back here again. I can't say enough, other than book your reservation and you won't be disappointed!!!
Read more
Our daughter's wedding here at Canary Beach was just what she and her fiance wanted - fun, informal, close to nature, with comfortable accommodations. Our group of 35 family members enjoyed the park, the beach, fishing off the docks, and spending time with each other. The outdoor lakeside ceremony was beautiful. Resort staff were friendly and helpful. We made great memories.
Read more
Year-round resorts in the Alexandria area are somewhat limited, but if you are looking for a great getaway for rest and relaxation lakeside, the Canary Beach Resort is a wonderful option. I was amazed by the amenities of the cabin (fireplace, great kitchen with lots of plug-ins and necessities provided) and pleased by the cleanliness. Such a beautiful cabin with great views of the lake not far from the patio doors. There was even a hayride offered for guests! The resort also has an event center and caters to retreats, such as scrapbooking.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaVillard
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canary Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Canary Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Canary Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Canary Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Canary Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.