We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
17405 County Road 28, Villard, MN 56385-2346
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (7)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Villard
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
11 beautiful, nearly new lake front vacation homes/cabins with in floor heat, fireplace, full kitchen, multiple bathrooms, air conditioning, DirecTv and covered porches on 1000ft of sandy beach. Includes a Lake Water Park, canoe, paddleboards, kayaks, paddleboat, shuffleboard, horseshoes, basketball hoop, playground, hayrides, barrel train rides, sand volleyball, dock fishing, lodge/convenience store, fish cleaning house, horseshoes, Event Center and bike/snowmobile trail nearby. Hosting family reunions, scrapbooking/crafting retreats, Girl's/Guy's Get-a-ways, holiday houses, religious retreats, snowmobile weekends, business meetings, bridal/baby showers and wedding parties. Overnight camping and seasonal campsites available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Boating
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Canoeing
Hiking
Water park
Fishing
Highchairs available
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Sofa
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
17405 County Road 28, Villard, MN 56385-2346
Getting there
Minneapolis-St. Paul Intl Airport116 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
24Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kendra wrote a review Aug 2020
Alexandria, Minnesota1 contribution
Our family loved the beautiful beach and swimming amenities! The hayride is another awesome touch. We also loved the items we could use, like paddle boards, kayaks and paddle boat. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canary Beach Resort, Owner at Canary Beach Resort
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you Kendra! We enjoyed meeting you all and look forward to hosting your family in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa L wrote a review Aug 2019
Cedar Falls, Iowa2 contributions2 helpful votes
This is our third year coming to Canary Beach. The cabins are immaculate. The beds quite comfortable. Cabins have soft water, AC, Direct TV, DVD player and free WiFi. We can play Catch, Ladders, Bags, etc on front lawn and have a private fire pit in front of the cabin. There is a huge water trampoline as well as a huge waterslide for guests of all ages to enjoy. The docks are first come, first serve, which worked out great. New owners work very hard at keeping beach clean, delivering wood, and accommodating requests when at all possible. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hippiechickpam wrote a review Jul 2019
Excelsior, Minnesota1 contribution2 helpful votes
We just stayed at the oldest cottage called Finch House over the 4th holiday. It had a constant moldy, musty smell. There was no hot water in the second bath. Two beds appeared to have sheets that were not changed before our arrival. There is one small window air conditioner in the kitchen that would not cool three of the four bedrooms. When we told the new owners about these things, they became defensive and did not offer any cost allowance on their hefty fees. They limit the number of people who can stay in the cottage for “insurance and fire code” purposes. Yet, they charge $30 per day for extra guests. These owners have much to learn about running a resort and providing good customer service. The overall property is lovely. The Finch House costs way too much for what you get!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon J, Owner at Canary Beach Resort
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Hello, and thank you for your review. I would like to take the time to reply to your concerns about our cabin called the Finch House. I would first like to point out that at no point during your stay did you come to us with a complaint about anything in the cabin. We can't fix what we don't know is not working, nor would you let us come and check on anything at the end of your stay when we offered. We would need a chance to make things right for you first, versus just handing out discounts at the end of your stay. I have not had anyone complain about it smelling moldy in that cabin before. I have been in many moldy houses, and the Finch House is definitely not moldy. It’s hard to compare the 1960's "cabin" to our updated houses (cabins) when comparing them side by side, which is an unfair comparison. When I checked on the hot water, everything worked fine the next day, so I’m not sure what the issue was when you tried it. I would have been more than willing to come and check out the problem if I would have been notified, day or night. We have a very strict policy when it comes to cabin cleaning. If our cabin cleaners even have a doubt that a bed was used, the linens are changed out. Our cleaning manager also double checks every cabin for these types of things after a cabin has been cleaned. If this is truly what happened, we are sorry. Had you come to us the day you showed up with this concern, we would have made every effort to make things right for you. You did say you had to use your own sheets on your bed you slept in, but none of the beds appeared to be stripped of our sheets? All the beds appeared to have been used for sleeping with our sheets. We certainly would have checked out the air conditioner unit to see if it was working properly had you brought it to our attention. We would have gone as far as adding another window unit if it was not keeping up enough for your standards. As for limiting people in cabins, we do have a maximum capacity for each cabin, and would never exceed that to collect extra money. Our cabins are pro-rated for a certain amount of people, with a guest charge for each person over the pro-rated amount of people up to the maximum number of people. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with our Finch House. We have addressed all of the concerns you gave to us before the next guest arrived. They loved their stay in the “cabin”!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miranda D wrote a review Oct 2018
Bloomington, Minnesota23 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We had a woman's weekend at the Canary Beach Resort and stayed in the Wren's Den, which is their largest cabin on the property. I really can't say enough about how amazing the entire experience was... From their incredibly kind and helpful staff, to the beautiful and clean cabin we just really had the best time. They even took us on a complimentary hayride around the area which ended up being one of my favorite parts of the trip! One of the nights we had a paint company come in to instruct a paint class and they got it all set up for us with tables and chairs! Just all in all the service was above any expectations I may have had. We also couldn't help but notice (although we were there for an adult event) what a fun place it would be for a family as well. I would LOVE to come back here again. I can't say enough, other than book your reservation and you won't be disappointed!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Wren's Den is perfect for a large group! So much space, and right on the water!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nan B wrote a review Jun 2017
2 contributions
Our daughter's wedding here at Canary Beach was just what she and her fiance wanted - fun, informal, close to nature, with comfortable accommodations. Our group of 35 family members enjoyed the park, the beach, fishing off the docks, and spending time with each other. The outdoor lakeside ceremony was beautiful. Resort staff were friendly and helpful. We made great memories.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
drivingfool44 wrote a review Oct 2016
Sioux Falls, South Dakota23 contributions4 helpful votes
Year-round resorts in the Alexandria area are somewhat limited, but if you are looking for a great getaway for rest and relaxation lakeside, the Canary Beach Resort is a wonderful option. I was amazed by the amenities of the cabin (fireplace, great kitchen with lots of plug-ins and necessities provided) and pleased by the cleanliness. Such a beautiful cabin with great views of the lake not far from the patio doors. There was even a hayride offered for guests! The resort also has an event center and caters to retreats, such as scrapbooking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
202kate1086 wrote a review Sep 2016
Chamberlain, Sd13 contributions5 helpful votes
This is the 2nd year we have stayed here. The accommodations are very clean and well maintained. Everything almost looks new. The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly. The views of the lake are wonderful from many different windows. Our cabin had one bedroom and bath downstairs and another bedroom and bath upstairs which was very nice not having to share a bathroom. There is no WiFi in the cabins but there is WiFi available in the Lodge. The price is very reasonable for all the amenities they provide and we have already booked for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The cabins go by number of people they sleep but all have good lake views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jennifer B wrote a review Apr 2016
Granite Falls, Minnesota3 contributions
A variety of fun amenities available. Family friendly and inviting atmosphere. Very clean and well maintained resort. The hands on resort owners always make themselves available and are easy to visit with.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Susan B wrote a review Apr 2016
Minnesota75 contributions23 helpful votes
We have been to Canary Beach Resort for family vacations and most recently scrapbooking destination for a girl's weekend away. This was a good resort before, and even better after the new owners came and put so much energy and effort into making this a great spot to vacation. Plenty to do for all the family members, sits on a nice lake (with another lake connecting to it), close to the bike trails and the cabins are fabulous. Modern and new. They have put a lot of effort and thought into this place. We will be back again...and again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Evan Cordell K wrote a review Sep 2015
Sioux Falls, South Dakota1 contribution
Since I was about 4 or 5 years old I've been going to Canary Beach Resort and that is some 55 years now. You can really relax and Canary Beach Resort. Everyone should have a fun vacationing spot like this. I haven't missed 1 year since the new owners took over which is about 12 years ago now. I love the lake front, the swimming area is fantastic and the cabins are plush. I have fished a lot over the years, caught a lot of big Sunnies and Northern Pike, but I really like swimming with the grandkids. I hope that I'm never too old for that :-) Every year more of the extended family join us here, like it and keep coming back. Oh what great memories and I keep adding to that memory bank every year. My nephew and his kids joined us this year and he brought his jet ski. We had a half a dozen kids going from wearing the life jacket to shedding the life jacket this year and that was really exciting when you got out on the slides and the the trampoline. I can't say enough about the hospitality at Canary Beach because I look as much forward to seeing the Hosts as I do just being back at the Canary Beach. The previous owners and their extended family will always have a place in my heart as well. "Canary Beach Resort?" Yes, I highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaVillard
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canary Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Canary Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Canary Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Canary Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Canary Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.