We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery

Save
Share
Localita la Velona SNC, 53024 Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Website
$467
View deal
Booking.com
$615
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/20/22
Orbitz.com$615
CheapTickets$615
Agoda.com$612
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1548)
Room & Suite (323)
Dining (165)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Castle Thermal SPA Resort located in the heart of Val d'Orcia World Heritage Site. Winery of Brunello di Montalcino produced by the Owners in the Property with owned Vineyards around the Castle. In the Property is located the hottest Thermal spring in all Tuscany (85°C) whose mineral waters are led both in the 5 pools (indoor and outdoor) and in the SPA Rooms. 1500 Sqm SPA with water and steam Paradise of both Sauna, Steam Bath, Thermal pool and 6 emotional showers, with 10 single and couple treatments rooms (all cabinets have a view to Val d'Orcia, 4 of which are connected to the SPA Rooms). The hotel rooms are divided into Castle Rooms (all in the heart of the 1000 years old Castle) and SPA Rooms built on the West Walls of the Castle (with travertine marble all over the bathroom and room and Thermal water directly in your bathtub). Some of the SPA rooms have a private cabinet for treatments and massage with a separate entrance for the therapist who does not interfere with the privacy of the room itself. All rooms face the wonderful val d'Orcia 360’ . All SPA rooms face the sunset and have a private garden. Gourmet Restaurant with a Terrace for summer dinner facing the Sunset side of the val d'Orcia for romantic dinner. Traditional Restaurant with Original Fireplace and Lobby Lounge in the Chiostro where all day dining is possible.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1078Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 678
  • 160
  • 85
  • 65
  • 91
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Meshelle S wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Traveled during the harvest season. Hotel had spectacular views from the drive in to the balcony from the room. The night sky was enchanting -- floating in the thermal pool with the stars overhead. Spa service was exceptional. Restaurant selection was diverse and cooked to perfection. The staff were kind, attentive and beyond helpful. Franco was a delight to work with. His services was exceptional from the first e-mail introduction to helping ensure our shipped wines were delivered to our home. We cannot compliment the staff enough for making this visit enchanting.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
KiloTango wrote a review Nov 1
Orange County, California237 contributions128 helpful votes
+1
Spent three nights here in a suite. Beautiful property, great heated pool and very attentive restaurant staff. Hotel staff were very attentive and accommodating as well. Suite was super comfortable, clean and fresh. We had a private patio overlooking the vineyards and (indirectly) the pool. The hotel is about 6 miles from Montalcino so your dining options are somewhat limited although the in-house restaurant is fantastic so its not much of a compromise. Breakfast (unlimited) is from a menu so you have lots of choices. My only tip for guests is take advantage of drop-off area at reception before you park. We parked in the self parking area first, not realizing that the walk up to the reception would be a bit strenuous!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Direttore Generale, Direttore generale at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear KiloTango, thank you very much for your kind appreciation. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Castello with our Natural Hot Thermal Pools from the nearby Amiata Mountain, which is an extint Volcano. We are also happy you enjoyed our Restaurant as well as the variety of options available for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future again at CAstello di Velona. Please feel free to contact me for any possible assistance. Gianluca Fabiani General Manager g.fabiani@castellodivelona.it
Read more
Richard B wrote a review Oct 2021
Santa Barbara, California68 contributions18 helpful votes
Considering the extremely high charge for staying here ($2,100 /night for 3 people half -board) I was surprised that they wanted to charge us $9 per bottle of still water to be brought to the room,plus service charge, After a discussion this charge was omitted. However the same thing happened 2 days later . The coffee maker was leaking water all over the floor. There were only 2 coffee cups , with three people in the suite. We called and apparently someone checked the coffee maker. The same thing happened the next day, with water all over the floor. When we checked in at reception, standing at the counter, with no one else checking in,we were ignored for about 30 minutes. No eye contact. When we entered the room we found someone's dirty sock on the living room floor. Dinner was included but extremely average quality. About the same quality as at the deli counter at a Whole Foods grocery store. Perhaps similar to Applebees. Very odd vibe with staff hovering around and interrupting our conversation every 10 minutes to ask " Is everything OK?" But of course they did lift the chrome plate covers off the plates at the same time. Didn't this go out of date about 40 years ago ? At the pool area we found black mold on the reclining chairs. Also around the pool itself. We did have lunch at Castello Banfi , near by , and wish we had stayed there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Bosc, Marketing at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Dear Richard B, Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience at Castello di Velona, The prices, in line with the other structures of the same level, of the drinks and services are displayed both on the menus and in the QR codes found throughout the castle. Room service certainly has an added value as you can enjoy your drink sitting on the terrace overlooking the incomparable beauty of UNESCO heritage Hills. You refused to sign the order for your drink and elegantly we have not charged the amount consumed. It makes us very strange that you found a dirty sock in your living room (which is the brightest spot in the room) as the rooms are cleaned by our cleaning team and scrupulously double checked by the Housekeeper. You also tell us that our staff did not consider you but at the same time you complain that they are too intrusive ... However we regret that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Our director remains at your complete disposal for any clarification as he was throughout your stay at the Castle. A cordial greeting from the beautiful Montalcino
Read more
ASB wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The only good thing about this hotel is the view on the landscape, their service is less than a 1 star hotel. There are way better hotels than this one, please stay away here because you will be treated very badly!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Bosc, Marketing at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Responded Oct 1, 2021
Dear Mr Dries9393, Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are sorry that you did not sign up in the review, nor did you indicate what did not live up to your expectations. This would have allowed us to identify and have a comparison with any shortcomings detected during your stay, thus making your observations constructive. Following a meeting with our department heads, no episode of rudeness or misunderstanding towards our Guests was reported. However, our director remains at your complete disposal by phone or email if you would like to share your experience in detail. Greeting from the sunny Montalcino
Read more
Ben A wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Covid abruptly broke the habit of traveling and enjoying the beauty of the world. It was not possible to make the stay at this facility as desired. Their staff was very helpful in trying to resolve the booking issues. Unlike many facilities, they have always provided information promptly, kindly and with attention to our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Bosc, Marketing at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Dear Mr Ben A, Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are sorry that you didn't have the opportunity to visit and stay in our Castle. Our Reservation team and our Concierge are always at your disposal to organize your next stay! Waiting for welcoming you we wish you a wonderful day
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$405 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello di velona montalcino, castello di velona hotel montalcino
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaMontalcinoCastelnuovo dell'Abate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Which popular attractions are close to Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Nearby attractions include Abbazia di Sant'Antimo (1.2 miles), Il giardino di Daniel Spoerri (4.7 miles), and Poggio Antico Vineyards (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Locanda Demetra & Montalcino Cooking School, Trattoria in Campagna, and Osteria Perilla'.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Castelnuovo dell'Abate.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.