We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel

Save
Share
2778 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2002
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Fall Special
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (88)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Two Harbors
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Castle Danger, just 2 miles south of Gooseberry Falls State Park, we are one of the few remaining quaint and cozy 'Mom & Pop' run resorts along the beautiful Shores of Lake Superior. Leave the routines of daily life behind. Explore the many State Parks, Hiking Trails, Rivers and Tributaries of Lake Superior's North Shore. We offer 6 lakeside housekeeping cottages where you can enjoy beautiful sunrises from your deck or porch. We have a newly remodeled motel with 3 housekeeping suites with full kitchens or if you need a comfortable base after exploring the shore we offer 2 standard motel rooms. Want to relax and not cook? No problem, just across the road you will find the Rustic Inn Restaurant serving delicious food and their award winning pie. Free Wi-fi, TV, DVD players are available in all units. Sorry No Pets.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hiking
Fishing
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Sofa
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
DVD / CD player
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Fall Special
145Reviews1Q+A38Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 125
  • 14
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bethany A wrote a review Aug 5
Lincoln, Nebraska8 contributions
+1
I feel extremely lucky to have been able to book 4 nights here within a month of my trip, considering that this place is now booked solid through the rest of the summer. The owners were so kind and friendly to talk to and gave great advice and recommendations on navigating the parks in the area. We stayed in motel suite #8 and it was plenty spacious for just two of us. The kitchen was such a nice convenience to have, and being able to cook a quick meal after a long day of adventuring around the parks was perfect. The lodgings were clean and the new remodel made it feel warm and cozy in the suite. There were a few hot days during our trip, but plenty of fans were provided to help bring in the cool air from off of the lake in the evenings so we never got uncomfortably hot. This was also an incredibly quiet place, which was a nice change from other places I have stayed along the north shore. My favorite things about staying here were the lovely gardens and fire pits that were right off of the back deck of our suite, as well as the rocky shoreline that you can access easily by staircase between two of the cabins. We spent our evenings sitting by a bonfire we build along the shore, watching the storms roll in over the lake. It was magical and relaxing and everything we wanted this stay to be. Would absolutely recommend staying here if you are lucky enough to book a room before they're all taken!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Jaimie B wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
I usually take a trip by myself every year. I happen to be off work and like to travel within a few hours of Home. I stumbled upon Gooseberry Park and Cottages, searching the internet. What caught my attention what's the location and affordability. I knew immediately this was the place I wanted to stay as I had a good feeling while searching their website. Kirsten immediately reached out upon my request and she was very friendly from the beginning. She's very personable and fun. When I first arrived, I was happy to meet her in person and she was very informative of some places for sightseeing and for eating. I'm not into hiking but I do like going for short walks but my purpose was really to get away and relax. Her and her husband provide what I consider a magical environment. I'm very connected to Earth elements and my heart was happy to see their Garden. It has many beautiful flowers and monarch butterflies. The motel room is beautiful and very clean. Do to Coronavirus, I was informed to bring my own pillow and blanket, which I do every time I travel anyways. That being said, they do a wonderful job of accommodating needs during this time. There's many other amenities that make the stay comfortable. Speaking of comfortable, so are the beds! I I am very surprised at how soft and doable the mattresses are! I cannot praise them and this place enough. I am not one who generally takes vacations or trips very often but I'm definitely looking forward to planning my return in the fall! I also would like to add that if every cabin and motel room were booked, you still have enough privacy and space to not feel crowded. Love, love, love!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
vicky l wrote a review Jun 2020
Minneapolis, MN66 contributions26 helpful votes
We had another amazing stay. We have been staying at Gooseberry cottages for 4 years and every visit is better than the last one. Owners Ted and Kirsten love the place and providing the best for all their customers and it shows. I have stayed at the motel room and the cottages, they are all equally well cared for - super clean, cozy and comfortable. In Covid times the owners are going above and beyond to sanitize everything and keep all safe for us to enjoy. There’s plenty to do in the area for families and couples - hiking trails, swimming, wonderful beaches, sightseeing, museums, local breweries. You pick. Yes, they have a cancellation policy - but this is a mom and pop place, not a big Hotel chain with unlimited resources. We should all be rallying together and be proud to support such businesses. I know I am! The place is well localized - close to everything, has fire pits for you to enjoy, a very nice spot for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Lake Superior and fantastic price and services. This is the place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Jody V wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
Unfortunately I did not read the fine print regarding the cancellation policy for Gooseberry Cottages & Motel. Be sure you do understand their policy completely. I cancelled our reservation nearly four (4) months in advance and lost our $100.00 deposit. NONREFUNDABLE Period.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted V, Owner at Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel
Responded Jun 25, 2020
Jody, our cancellation policy is clearly stated on our web-site and is included with all reservation confirmations. You are the first guest in our 7 seasons of ownership to take issue with our policy or demand a refund. In fact the vast majority of Resorts, large and small charge a cancellation or administrative fee of between $50 and up to the price of a full nights stay for a cancellation no matter when you cancel. We are a small "Mom and Pop" resort and only have 6 cottages on the lake front. Cancellations can and do affect a small business significantly. We have even tweaked our policy during the difficult time of Covid-19 since reopening. We allow guests to reschedule without penalty within 1 year if they do not feel comfortable traveling at this time. Unfortunately your cancellation was due to your dog sitter moving away, not a Covid-19 issue
Read more
Brian A wrote a review Nov 2019
7 contributions
My wife and I returned to the North Shore last week and stayed again at Gooseberry Park Cottages. This is our 2nd year and once again it was great! Last year we visited week after Labor Day. This year we wanted to visit in late October for the cooler weather. The weather was perfect and made our hiking trips wonderful. The owners, Kirsten and Ted shared several trails to hike and were very Informative of the trails in the area. We stayed in Cabin # 3 and what a great cabin this is with perfect views of Lake Superior. Sleeping with the bedroom window open and hearing the lake through the night with the cool temperatures made sleeping perfect. Do yourself a favor and make sure to catch the sunrise in the morning with a hot cup of coffee. We did this down on the lakeshore as well as from our patio. Stunning views. The patio was nice to grill out on with a few drinks listening to the shore. Cabin # 3 was exceptionally clean and as a frequent traveler for work, it was cleaner than the higher end hotels I stay in. The owners take great pride in this resort. The grounds are beautiful and very clean. Kirsten and Ted are really great and genuine people. They always had a smile and warm good morning/afternoon asking how our hikes were. We are already thinking about a winter trip to the North Shore and this is the only place we will stay. It was exactly what we needed. 7 days of Superior’s beauty to recharge our inner souls.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Cabin # 3 beautiful lake view!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaTwo Harbors
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel?
Nearby attractions include Gooseberry Falls State Park (2.5 miles) and Northwoods Pioneer Gallery & Gifts (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and fishing.
Which room amenities are available at Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.