We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8615
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (436)
Room & Suite (152)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Updated 05/20/20

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Tofte
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on Lake Superior's shoreline. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Hiking
Tennis court
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Massage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
718Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 466
  • 164
  • 44
  • 26
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Traveller_nz wrote a review Aug 10
3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
If I could give it 0 stars, I would. We have been coming here for years. Pics tell you everything. Not even allowed to change the temp on the ac. We were getting fried in our room!! I am leaving early
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded 2 days ago
First and foremost, I am so sorry about your experience. That is not the typical experience our guests have at Bluefin Bay, so we really appreciate the feedback. We will discuss your comments as a team and work to improve. Our Front Desk Manager, Jodi, has already reached out to you in an attempt to rectify the situation. Again, I'm so sorry and I hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary A wrote a review Jul 2022
Tampa, Florida2606 contributions225 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Our Florida family had never had the privilege of a visit to the Minnesota North Shore, so we chose Bluefin as our base of adventure. Not a single regret! 6 of us stayed in the 3 bedroom townhome lake front option, and we loved every second. The fireplaces, the views, the patio, the gorgeous property, the restaurants…it’s all wonderful. Great resort and highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Gary. We are honored that you chose Bluefin Bay for your first trip to the North Shore and I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities. Thank you so much for leaving this review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the North Shore some day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi H wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions
+1
For the last 30 years we have been coming during the 4th of July for over a week. This is a family tradition. Family has changed some over the years, but the resort has stayed the same. The staff go above and beyond. Need anything talk to Dan in the office. All units are owned individually and they are all unique in their own way. The complimentary activities give you something for everyone including kids. New kids program, wood burning, some new hikes, and painting. Those are the newest things. I love the ever changing program. Nightly campfire S’mores don’t hurt either. The north shore winery is one of my favorite places! My favorite wine is temperance! Every trip feels like it goes way too fast. Can’t wait for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded 4 weeks ago
Heidi, thank you so much for being a loyal, return guest to Bluefin Bay. We value you so much and were so excited to have you for your 30th year visiting. It's because of guests like you that we are able to do what we do and it's our privilege to be part of your family's tradition. Thanks again and we'll see you next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rebecca w wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Wonderful unit fully and beautifully updated sitting right on the shore of Lake Superior. Be certain to request an updated unit as we did because they are not all the same. Great location to branch out to waterfalls and hiking all along the north shore.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for updated unit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Hi Rebecca! Thank you for taking the time to review Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the location. We are so grateful to be able to share this beautiful slice of Minnesota with our guests. Come see us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldtraveler1097867 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ohio64 contributions53 helpful votes
WOW! What can I say. The stay and experience at Bluefin Bay resort exceded our expectations. Check in went smoothly. We were eager to get into our townhome. We had the Type 2 layout. First floor, single story, 2 bedroom townhome. Size was decent for 2 people, just my mom and I. The beds were comfortable. The master bathroom had a huge tub. I really liked the fact that the AC/heating was not central but could be adjusted in each of the bedrooms as well as in the living room. A big plus as my mom likes to keep her room warmer and I could keep my room at a temperature that was more comfortable for me. The couch in the living room was comfortable. Small dining area but was enough space for what we needed. Although a small kitchen, it was a full kitchen. A main reason why I chose to reserve a townhome. Very convenient having the kitchen as we were able to make coffees/teas whenever we wanted as well as be able to cook our own meals in order to not have to go out and eat every time. The side of the townhome facing the lake is mostly floor to ceiling windows. The views are absolutely, amazingly beautiful! We could just sit and enjoy the scenary all day. The patio was nice. The only thing, because the patio furniture is metal and the weather was cooler, the patio furniture was a bit cold to sit on. So, we had to bring out a couple blankets to place on the chairs in order to comfortably sit outside. One of the important things I look at wherever I stay is cleanliness. The townhome was extremely clean. Very impressed with how clean and well kept the townhome was. Definitely made the environment much more comfortable. We did eat out twice. On the night we arrived, we ate dinner at the Bluefin Grill. They gratiously let us push back our reservation. We arrived late and weren't able to get to dinner on time. The host said to go check in, do what we need to do and he will hold our table. What great customer service! We were given a table by the window overlooking the lake. Again, gorgeous views. Service was friendly and attentive. The food was very good. The salmon canape appetizer was delicious. The duck and wild rice soup was amazing. A must try! The other time, after a busy day and we were too tired to cook, we ordered a late lunch to go from Coho Cafe. I had the onion river reuben sandwich which was exellent. The property itself was nice. Beautiful views anywhere you looked. I enjoyed the walking path along the lake. Guest services was helpful. There are other resort amenities, activites and tours offered but we really did not take advantage of any of that as we had our own itinerary of what we wanted to see and do. Property location itself was very convenient to most places along the coast. Anything you wanted to see or do was only a short drive. Grand Marais only 30 minutes away. For anyone needing groceries, Johnson's Grocery in Grand Marais was decent but the IGA had a bigger, better selection. This truly felt like a home away from home. I wish we could have stayed longer. Loved everything about the townhome and area. We will definitely be back. I am already starting to plan when we will return next year. Anyone coming Up North, I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Bluefin Bay resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough, detailed review for Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the cleanliness, the property and the restaurants too! We love hearing that our guests feel at home here, as that is certainly our goal. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff here. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taka wrote a review Jun 2022
13 contributions9 helpful votes
Loved our room, and the restaurant/bar, and the staff is so naturally and genuinely helpful and friendly. It seems like the resort industry is still struggling with staffing so when you find a place where people are actually interested in doing the job they're there to do it makes for an additionally great experience; speaks volumes about their management! I'd venture to say this is the best place to stay in the immediate area. We really enjoyed our time here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. You are correct that the hospitality industry is evolving and we really appreciate your kind words regarding our wonderful staff! They are the best and we'll be sure to share your comments with them. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenni_ann_t wrote a review Apr 2022
Msp14 contributions11 helpful votes
I've stayed at Bluefin bay quite a few times. They have clean rooms, care about their customers, and want to make your stay wonderful. The beauty and activities of the area can keep you busy for hours.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded May 3, 2022
Thank you so much for being a return guest at Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MNviews wrote a review Apr 2022
Little Canada, Minnesota427 contributions50 helpful votes
We are officially "done" trying to have a successful stay at this place. Stayed here a handful of times and there is always a major issue. This time we stayed in a Guest Suite Elite. The furniture is so tattered and the Queen bed looked more like a double. The bed was sunken in middle. They have hardly any cable channels and their WiFi is so weak that you can't stream Netflix. It stutters and stops the whole time. They even gave us the office WiFi code but no help. Their DVD selection is super tiny. Plus the TV was so small, like a computer screen. We had only been checked in a few hours and came to find their was no water. Couldn't run the whirlpool tub we paid extra for. Water was out for most of resort. They had contractors working on pool so guessing it was something related to this. After 2 hrs they still couldn't say when water would come back on so at 7pm we packed our stuff and checked out. Who wants to wander if you can flush a toilet in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Apr 25, 2022
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience at Bluefin Bay. That is not the experience our guests typically have here so we really appreciate you providing this feedback. The water issue was indeed related to the pool construction and I'm so sorry we didn't do a better job of communicating that to you. If you haven't already, please reach out to our Front Desk Manager by emailing Kaye@bluefinbay.com so we can make things right. Again, I really apologize about your stay and I hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eldiegoq4 wrote a review Mar 2022
Arequipa, Peru9 contributions3 helpful votes
We were there for our honeymoon and we won't change it for the world! Great views, clean and cozy rooms with lake views, great amenities, delicious food, the staff was really great and attentive and everything was just well thought and perfect. I'd never forget being in our room, with the wood burning fireplace on, just relaxing with the lake view from our deck balcony... We had dinner at The Bluefin Grille, the food was absolutely perfect, the service was on point, really quick, kind, and knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back! Congratulations to all the staff! (Except to the lady at the Coho Cafe where we had breakfast, she was kind of rude with us and made us feel uncomfortable, but to be honest, that didn't ruin our great great experience there!)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. Firstly, congratulations!! We are honored that you chose to spend this special time with us and I am delighted to hear you had the best time ever. I'll be sure to share your comments with our staff here. Come see us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dagies87 wrote a review Mar 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions6 helpful votes
We have stayed here multiple times over the decades and never have been disappointed. in fact, that's why we return year after year. The facilities are great and clean and well-kept, and the staff (from front desk to maintenance) are all friendly and helpful and great to work with. And you can't beat the location and the scenery. Cannot recommend highly enough. We always look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Krantz, Marketing at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Bluefin Bay Family of Resorts. We really appreciate your kind words and the fact that you return year after year. We couldn't do what we do without guests like you! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff here and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bluefin bay on lake superior hotel tofte, bluefin bay hotel, bluefin bay tofte
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaTofte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts
Which popular attractions are close to Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Nearby attractions include Temperance River State Park (2.3 miles), Oberg Mountain Loop (4.4 miles), and North Shore Commercial Fishing Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coho Cafe & Bakery, Bluefin Grille, and Schroeder Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Tofte.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bluefin Bay Family Of Resorts offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.