We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spicer Castle Inn

11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Spicer Castle Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

MY best friend booked a room for her and I for a relaxing getaway a month and a half before my baby, Wyatt, was due. The staff was super friendly. The room was small but vintage, cute, and relaxing. It's right on the lake so it was nice view from the big window in the "tea room". We also took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lacielynn
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your stay at our Inn. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your relaxing getaway before your son, Wyatt was due. Again, thank you and congratulation's on your new arrival. More 

Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Raymond's Cabin was rustic and cozy. Everyone was so friendly and worked hard to make this a pleasant experience. The facility is showing its age but that is part of the character of the facility. It is about the experience. Besides the Castle having great food. The American Legion a short distance away also had great food too. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Treeguyus
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

This was a dismal stay at best. Will never go back and would never advise anyone to go. Just awful. The room was shabby, smelled bad and was not clean. The tub had hair in it and the toilet was not clean. Dinner was terrible and the murder mystery was poorly done. Regret the drive and the money I spent.

Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Regarding your post, we are truly sorry that you had a negative experience at our bed and breakfast inn. We wish that you had informed us while you were here so that we could have done something to correct the problem. We are a small family business and take pride in what we do. Thank you for your comments as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

I wanted to surprise my wife with something romantic and special for our 1 year anniversary, so I booked one night at the Spicer Castle Inn. Glad I did, because my wife LOVED it! I had read reviews prior to booking -- some were great, others were horrible. I do not see why a horrible review would ever be written... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottannieb
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind post. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway to our historic inn. We look forward to welcoming you to our Inn for a return visit. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

I traveled with my wife to Spicer Castle earlier this year. It was a fine experience because I knew this was an old B&B, but this place needs basic repairs very vaery badly. The screen door holes were patched with kleenex tissues, broken glass windows were ghetto rigged with packing tape, the stairs to the front door just needs to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have started our fall maintenance and your comments will greatly assist our staff to repair the items you have mentioned. Again, thank you for your post. More 

Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We spent two nights here mid October to celebrate our fourth anniversary. It was just what we were looking for. A cozy getaway in Mary's room. There's good hiking and biking very close and good places to eat if you don't mind driving plus the restaurant at the Castle. Would definitely go back to the peace and quiet of Spicer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hope F
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you for your return visit to our Historic Inn for a relaxing getaway. More 

Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

We love quaint, unusual places and Spicer fits the bill. If you are looking for amenities found in chain hotels, this is not the place for you. If you are in for unusual, quiet accommodations you will enjoy Spicer. Breakfasts were great, not the normal bacon and eggs!

Helpful?
Thank HunnieJudy
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our historic property. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Being originally from the area with family still around Willmar/New London/Spicer, my wife and I decided to take advantage of local history and the surrounding areas offering to help our family celebrate a very important birthday. We were initially extremely impressed with the new patio/outdoor dining area and ambiance. However, it ended right there. Service was decent, however, the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your dining experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for your dissatisfaction you and your guests experienced at our Inn. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the food service that resulted in your unfortunate experience. This is especially saddening because Spicer... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I went here for a family reunion. My wife's family had the whole main house, and some of the cabins rented out. It was a nice little place with a wonderful view of the lake, adequate gathering space, and rooms that are good for a bed and breakfast. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of our Historic Inn. The property is located on wooded grounds on the shores of beautiful Green Lake where nature abounds with small animals and lake flies. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. More 

Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We purchased a Living Social certificate for this property. Decided to drive two hours to stay at the "Castle." We checked in a were led to a small cabin which was divided into two cabins. The sidewalk was covered with anthills (could have easily been swept) and the door step was covered with dead bugs. The cabin was about 300... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Inn. I regret that you did not find our historic property what you were looking for. We were happy to make sure you received a full refund since our property did not meet your expectations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Willmar
Days Inn Willmar
#5 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
12.4 mi away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay