We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Layton, Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here while visiting Macalester College with our daughter. The campus is a beautiful ten minute drive away and we loved exploring the neighborhoods in between. What a beautiful city! The hotel is nice and clean, close to restaurants, downtown, and the freeway. Minneapolis is a quick freeway drive away too. Great location! It is also close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydney S
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Sydney S, Thank you very much for your review of our property! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, visit to the city, and, we hope, the tour of Macalester as well. We really appreciate your kind comments about our great location and clean guestrooms too. The next time that you visit, we invite...

Kearney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to stay here and Uber or train to the Viking Stadium and FB game. Clean, Friendly staff, free shuttle within 3 miles, restaurant on site, easy walking to Excel, Museum and other close restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary I
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your concise and accurate review, Mary I! We're happy to provide all of the amenities and services that you mention, and it's our pleasure to provide football fans with a complimentary shuttle to the nearby light rail station which drops off right at US Bank Stadium. Alternatively, we're happy to give directions or arrange transportation as necessary!...

Marquette
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights and couldn't have asked for a better downtown experience! We enjoyed the accessibility to the Excel Centre of course for the hockey game! Also, we enjoyed how close it was to walk around and take in the sites of St. Paul and enjoy some great restaurants in the area. The hotel bar is excellent! The fact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy E
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Sandy E, Thank you very much for your review and compliments! We're overjoyed to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and were able to take advantage of our superb location, delicious in-house restaurant, convenient parking, and friendly staff! It'll be our genuine pleasure to have you back again, and we'll keep rooting on the Wild from...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a must if you are going to attend any event at the excel energy center, the River center, the science museum, or any other place downtown St. Paul. Just park your car in the convenient parking garage, and you can walk anywhere you need to go! Great in house full service tavern that serves breakfast also. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

We really can't hear "this hotel is a must" often enough, so thank you very much for your kind compliments, Scott N! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay, and we'll be looking forward to having you back sooner than later. Happy travels until then!

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would like to let everyone that this is a great hotel to say at. The staff and workers are very friendly and very helpful. We went down for an nhl hockey game and we're travelling with are 4 year old son. We asked the hotel if they could move one of the bed up against the wall so are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelling_Buddies
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Travelling_Buddies! We always like to hear when we're able to meet our goal of providing a great guest experience. It's our pleasure to have been able to help make your and your child's stay as comfortable as possible! We hope that you had a great time at the Wild game, and we will hope to have...

guthrie center
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We have been staying here for several years, 2 or 3 times each year. Its easy to get to from I35East. The staff at the front desk is always friendly no matter what hour of day or night that we arrive at the hotel. They have a ramp for parking for their customers, with a nominal charge. Parking in downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave l
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, dave l! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us in the past, and we will be thrilled to have you back again in the future! We really appreciate your kind compliments about our clean and comfortable guestrooms, convenient parking and location, and friendly and helpful staff. It'll be our pleasure to see...

Reviewed October 19, 2016

Awesome location, good food, friendly service! The pool was clean. Jacuzzi was great! Relatively quiet for such a busy area! We would definitely stay here again! Close to a beautiful river walk! Lots f bars and restaurants within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Lynn! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn St. Paul Downtown! We do our best to provide an exceptional experience, and we really appreciate hearing that we succeeded! We will look forward to seeing you again the next time you're staying in town!

Madison
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

When we visit the twin cities we like to find a hotel near our event that includes parking. This hotel charges you for parking in a ramp that appears to be part of the hotel. Our car was broke into during the night and completely ransacked. Hotel response: sorry but it's not our ramp. I dread going to the cities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri F
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Sherri F, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm very sorry to hear about your vehicle and apologize if we did not assist you adequately with this. While we do not own the adjacent parking ramp, we are more than happy to help guests with anything we are able. Please feel free to call us at...

Wahpeton, North Dakota, United States
Reviewed October 13, 2016

I stayed at this hotel while in town for the Twin Cities Marathon and this location was amazing. It is close to various bars and restaurants as well as having an Irish pub right in the lobby area. The room was clean and update. The service was great. The hot tub was large and clean. I would stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Olson B
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property here at the Holiday Inn St. Paul Downtown! We're thrilled to hear that you found a lot to love while you were with us, including an "amazing" location, great service, and other excellent amenities! We hope you had a wonderful time at the marathon, and we will hope to see you again...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Having never been to St. Paul, we chose this hotel due to proximity to the RiverCentre. Quiet location, easy access to arena and restaurants. Rooms and amenities were comparable to most HI. Pool was very small, but clean. The onsite restaurant, which is an Irish Pub was probably our biggest disappointment. Especially since we were there for an Irish Dance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanya4
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi tanya4, Thank you for your review of our property! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location near a variety of St. Paul destinations, attractions, and restaurants. We're also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our on-site pool area and generally clean hotel. We hope that you will try The Liffey again during your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 17 in Saint Paul
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: $122 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upper floors, 5+ have better views if room on the north”
 of 5 bubbles 815maryi, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“the upper floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles davel216, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Had a room that had a view of the parking lot. Not the best but not horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles TracyOlsonB, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Xcel Energy Centre in St. Paul.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenhoverter, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room close to the elevators. We found this noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles TamaraB307, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay