We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Nichols Inn Red Wing

1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Nichols Inn Red Wing
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Nichols Inn called us to confirm our reservation a few days ahead of time. Good thing they did, as they had us down for the wrong night. We called back and explained the situation. They apologized and confirmed it was an error on their end, and due to the situation, got us booked on the correct night with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank TandomRaveler
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Nichols Inn for 2 nights.Someone attempted to steal our bicycles from our car rack the first night while parked in the hotel parking lot. Luckily we had a thick cable on but one bike had been dragged to the ground and its brake was out of alignment. We were told that they would review their video... More 

Helpful?
Thank vcm1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for a great staff. The young lady who checked us in was both friendly and funny what a gem she was. Very clean and well kept up. Hot coffee and fresh fruit in the am. Thank you again from The Howen's. Oh and I forgot to grab my personal pillow, when I called and gave the room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri S
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

We rented a one room suite the room was very clean as well as the entire hotel. Continental breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices. Hotel staff was very indifferent to the guests, they were ok to deal with. I was never acknowledged or greeted upon entering or exiting the hotel. It's a clean place to stay but don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberolson
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Kimberolson, So nice to hear you had a nice stay. In regards to your other issue, I would like to hear about your experience first hand. Please call the property and ask for a manager and tell us about it. Thank you More 

Lakeland, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

We were very pleased with our stay at Nichols. It is a good location without the extra expense of a pool and hot tub if you do not need those amenities. This is a new inn and everything was very good. The beds and linens were new, as was at the bathroom towels. The staff was great. The continental breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank 293harry
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

293harry, We pride ourselves on the upkeep of the property and the professionalism of the staff. We are very happy you had a nice stay and look forward to your next one. More 

Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Save yourself a lot of headache and just go somewhere else honest. I used a card to hold a room for several nights like I do at other hotels. I needed to cancel my stay and contacted them more that a month before my arrival date. I tried e-mailing first with no responds. I called and was told that the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doreens787
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Mrs. Doreens787, I am writing to apologize that your email, canceling your reservation, was missed. We do not normally have guests cancel via email. Email is not a recognized method for making or canceling a reservation. We do require cancellations to be made via the same method they were created, i.e. direct-to-hotel phone call, booking.com, expedia.com, nicholsinn.com. We are in... More 

Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed on 2/6/16. Great rooms, clean and updated. Price beats any of those we checked in this area. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Dawn was very helpful. Our new place to stay when heading to Rochester. And....huge casino and restaurant are 15 minutes away if you enjoy playing a little. Thanks Nichols Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie P
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear Vickie P, Thank you for the nice review. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness and customer service. Dawn is wonderful! We look forward to your visiting us again. Thank you, Justin More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

The place was very comfy, with a fireplace in the gathering room and nice lobby area. The room was very clean & quiet. I especially loved the thoughtful little touches like make up remover cloths & the magnifying mirror in the bathroom which is essential when you reach that age! The staff was also very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Janis A
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear Janis A, Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you like our thoughtfully appointed rooms and friendly staff. We try our best to make you feel comfortable away from home. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Justin More 

Madison, WI, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Decent-sized double room; ample towels. Friendly desk staff. Ample free breakfast with waffles, eggs, French toast, cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee and a selection of teas. One complaint: the housekeeping staff leaves at 10 a.m., so if you are not out before then, your room will not be made up when you return. The front desk did give us... More 

Helpful?
Thank mona_sydd_yma
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear mona_sydd_yma, We are happy you liked your room and breakfast. We are sorry your room did not get made up. Housekeeping does leave much later than 10am. I do not know why they missed your room but I do apologize that your room was not made. Looking forward to your return. Thank you, Justin More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

We came to Red Wing for a concert at Treasure Island casino and rather than driving back to the Twin Cities we wanted to stay overnight. Staying at the casino would have been convenient, but they wanted almost $200/night for a room...crazy! Other hotels in Red Wing (including ones we've stayed at before) were also charging over $100/night, but then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingMan
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear GlobetrottingMan, Thank you for staying at the Nichols Inn of Red Wing. We consider ourselves a good lodging option for concerts at Treasure Island Casino. There should be many good acts coming to the casino in 2016 and we look forward to you staying with us if you decide to come. Thank you, Justin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#2 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nichols Inn of Red Wing is a family owned hotel servicing the Red Wing area. Our property is one of the best values in the town. We provide free WiFi and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. The building is the quietest in Red Wing due to soundproofing and concrete construction. We offer group blocks and have long term rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Price Range: $97 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nichols Inn Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay