We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Northstar

Save
Share
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
CrownePlaza.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Hurb
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (97)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Northstar
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 59 hotels in Minneapolis
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid public parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
699Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 251
  • 235
  • 118
  • 66
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JarredTaraTravel wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota8 contributions
First off, I downloaded the app just to leave a poor review. This place is terrible. Had to reprogram keys, (we kept them away from the phones) also couldn’t get in and out of the garage. There are hidden fees! Parking costs 25/day. And it is a hassle getting in and out. Will NEVER stay here again. Rude staff as well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DerekM2476, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We will certainly be looking further into the concerns of the rudeness of our team. One of our biggest compliments is the friendliness and helpfulness of our associates so we certainly want to address immediately. With regards to the parking I apologize for your concerns. We do not try to hide this as it is on our website. While we do not manage the parking lot next to the hotel, you will find that the $25/day is very competitive downtown and with this you should get in and out privileges. We will raise your concerns with the management company that runs the parking garage and will also take a closer look at the door lock for your room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the multiple concerns you encountered. We are believers that we can learn from our guests and will strive to raise our levels of service based off your comments and feedback. Warmest regards...
Read more
Erbee64 wrote a review Jan 2020
Leuven, Belgium488 contributions88 helpful votes
The hotel is on top of a parking lot, so you will not have problems to find a parking for your car. This parking is not cheap. I was welcomed in a very friendly manner, and receive a room at the top floor. This gives a view on the city, but is for sure not breathtaking. It was cold outside (32F), but unfortunately also cold in the room, and I was not able to increase the temperature (yes, I know how to operate the heating control!). The room is spacious, but could use an update. The bathroom has all you need, so no complaints. I was also happy with the WIFI, it is fast! As a Spire member, I was allowed access to the lounge (was on the same floor as my room), with free drinks and some small snacks (limited offer though, that is not to complain, but you should not count on having free dinner either). You can also eat breakfast here – for free. That is continental breakfast, so no eggs but it is free. This may save you the extra cost for breakfast. This is served on the 7th floor and was nice with good service. Note however: this is menu based, no buffet
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from DerekM2476, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. First I'd like to thank you for your business and apologize for any areas we failed to meet your expectations. Unfortunately we do not own or manage the parking lot but our discounted rates for hotel guests are very comparable to the other hotels downtown at $25/night with in and out privileges. While we do often run buffets in our Northstar Café on the 7th floor, due to our extremely low occupancies we try to preserve wasted food and forgo the breakfast buffet on these days. Unfortunately there is not tremendous amount of travelers looking to come to Minneapolis in the winter. This only means we should be taking extra good care of individuals like you. You are obviously a road warrior and we thank you for your continued loyalty to IHG Rewards. We will share your comments with our management team as we are firm believers of learning from our most loyal guests. Thank you and I hope you have a great 2020. Regards...Derek Morrison - General Manager
Read more
Ellie Q wrote a review Dec 2019
Sydney, Australia186 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
I really thought that staying at the crown plaza would mean I'd be staying at a nice hotel. The place is pretty run down. Firstly, no guest directory within the room to outline facilities, local tips, emergency evacuation info etc. Not sure if just my room (710) didn't have one or they don't have them at all. No mini fridge or microwave which seriously limited my ability to feed myself or keep my water/coke cold. All the outlets are so loose that no plug will stay in to charge devices. Lamps are broken and there is no ceiling light so the room is very dark. Curtains don't close but there are block out blinds. Chair doesn't fit under desk. Walls very thin that you can hear phone calls, flushing toilets and people mating in the next rooms. Bed, sheets and room was clean. The fitted sheet does not fit the actual bed, I feel for the housekeepers trying to squeeze them on because they're clearly too small for the mattress. At least the bed was confortable. Breakfast was edible. Very few complementary items in bathroom.. eg no shower cap. Cupboard was so noisy to open that I didn't use or open it again... needs a seriously good oil or new hinges. Vending machines are available but I had to go to several floors to find one that had water in stock. If this was a 2 star hotel I would have given it a higher rating... but considering they rate themselves so high, I rated them low. Hotels should not have such an ego. I've stayed in 2 star hotels better than this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from DerekM2476, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. First I'd like to apologize for the concerns you encountered and let you know we will use your review to help address any concerns future travelers may encounter. We do have guest directories in every room. We will be double checking your room number to ensure this was not removed. For all emergency evacuation information in addition to the guest directory it is also located on the backside of every guest door. We do have fridges available upon request. We will look again at the other in room items in your room. We hope to become a better hotel from comments and reviews like yours. We are firm believers and learning from our mistakes and poor guest experiences. Thank you for your time and business. All the best for a happy and positive 2020. Warmest regards...
Read more
JRMKE wrote a review Nov 2019
Muskego, Wisconsin2 contributions3 helpful votes
The Crowne Plaza is a "venerable" downtown Minneapolis hotel, which is Latin for “Wasn’t this a Hyatt in the 80s?” The two stars are for the young man at the front desk, who was polite in a way that would make his mother proud; and for the the lobby bar whose alcohol is an able sedative if you’re planning on sleeping. The hotel is owned by the Marcus Corporation, known for a chain of cinemas in the Midwest. This is fitting, as I had a better sleep at a Marcus theatres showing of The Thomas Crowne Affair than at their Crowne Plaza property. 

The primary issue is noise, from the plumbing to the thin walls. A message to the man in 903: your new girlfriend has a lovely baritone speaking voice. Also, I hope you enjoy a surprise. And to the woman in 907, 5 hours of drunken dry heaving may be a sign of a substance abuse issue. 

About the bed. Why is it so hard to provide a decent mattress. Also, why is it so HARD? I awoke with the joints of a brittle 90-year-old woman. The Crowne Plaza has a Marie Kondo approach to bedding. If the comforter and blanket no longer spark joy, throw them out. The guests will appreciate the simplicity of a threadbare sheet and thin bedspread. 

There are plenty of other lodging choices in downtown Minneapolis, who understand that this is a simple exchange: I pay you money and you lend me a place to sleep that’s appropriately sanitary, includes some measure of comfort (a blanket, perhaps?) and, for the love of all that is holy and good, some peace and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Hi James R, I'm glad you choose our hotel for your visit to Minneapolis. Thank you for staying. Our Crowne Plaza goals to achieve high-quality standards, deliver guest satisfaction and serve travelers' needs. I am sorry we missed the mark. I understand a great night's sleep is needed during long travels but I read that the current sound insulation, bed mattress, comforter, and blanket made you experienced otherwise. Don't worry. I had our management aware of your issue and documented your concern for the improvement of our service. Still, it's nice to know you've appreciated our lobby bar and our Front Desk staff. We appreciate you leaving feedback about your experience, and I hope to see you soon. Many Thanks, Rein D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
DorisP52 wrote a review Nov 2019
Naples, Florida131 contributions33 helpful votes
Dated, rundown needs a cosmetic uplift. The staff was extremely nice which made things better. Rooms were okay but common areas have lots of worn spots. Booked for 2 nights and only stayed one. Very inconvenient elevator system where you are to swipe your room key to use it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar
Responded Nov 21, 2019
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We are currently in discussions with our ownership regarding renovations and updates. I am happy to hear that the staff took good care of you. We hope you consider us in the future. Warmest regards....
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza downtown - northstar hotel minneapolis, crowne plaza minneapolis, crowne plaza hotel minneapolis
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaMinneapolisDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
222
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Northstar
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room (0.3 miles), Minneapolis Skyway System (0.1 miles), and Foshay Tower (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zelo, Murray's, and Ruth's Chris Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Northstar located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Minneapolis.
Does Crowne Plaza Northstar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Northstar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Northstar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Peavey Plaza (0.4 miles), Ard Godfrey House (1.0 miles), and Semple Mansion (1.0 miles).