We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and i spent this past weekend in Minneapolis to visit our son. This was our first visit to the city and felt this was a great location for all that Minneapolis has to offer. This hotel staff was great ! As a Platinum member we were upgraded to the club level. We stayed in the Junior suite. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank eurotravelsNewJersey
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Our second time. This one was poor and underwhelming. Elevators mostly broken, making travel to rooms painfully slow. Poor signage pointing to stairs and escape routes, which given elevators condition, speed and serviceability was likely a disaster waiting to happen in the event if fire. Water offered in the machine, empty both days, complimentary coffee empty also- requiring 15 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank nelson1978186326
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear Nelson1978186326, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you felt your stay was poor and underwhelming. I completely understand how it can be frustrating to wait for an elevator. We have one of three under renovation, but I can assure you none of them are broken. Please feel free... More 

Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is downtown but if being within easy walking distance to many restaurants/bars/shops is important to you, I'd suggest Marriott City Center where I stayed last year. Having said that, I definitely like this hotel better. More character, nicer appearance/appeal, and better accessibility (Marriott City Center is set up where it takes 3 different elevators to get from your... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScottTX
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My room was very nice and up to date. While the building has a historical feel the interior has been remodeled. Be aware that a lot of construction is going on around the building. I was informed when I checked in but didn't expect it to start so early (a little before 7am). The in house restaurant and bar are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hfst04
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you see this hotel on their website it looks very appealing. However there is a shortage of interior room shots and hotel features. When my wife and I got there, we found out why. The hotel is in an old train station, which was the appeal for us. I spent years as a child riding the trains of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear Alan M, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have personally written to your wife to let you both know that your concerns have been heard and immediate action was taken in response. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss your recent experience. Sincerely, Taylor Stille Front... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, rooms are ok and clean. It is not a bad place to stay but there is basically no customer support if you run into any issues. The hotel charged me double for the stay and I have been calling them since more than a week ago to resolve the issue. Every single time I call their billing department,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jae K
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear Jae K, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry that you haven't been able to get your questions answered regarding your bill. Please feel free to reach out to me directly, I would be more than happy to look into this for you. Sincerely, Taylor Stille Front Desk Manager TStille@RenMinneapolis.com More 

Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I get a hotel room, my primary objective is to have a good night's sleep. Well, this hotel failed horribly in meeting this objective, and I'm a so-called Marriott Elite member (maybe it is because I used points to book it). I wasn't able to sleep because the front desk put me in a room next to the conference... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerrygroen
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear JerryGroen, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. I completely understand your frustrations and I am sincerely sorry that you were not able to get a good night's sleep due to the event in house. I hope that you have the time to reach out to me directly to discuss your frustrations... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Reception staff were very helpful and allowed us to check-in very early. However, that got us a room that they could not sell the night before - only 2nd floor and right next the 8am-6pm NOISY construction site. Had we known, we would have checked in at the normal time and asked for a better room. The room itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred B
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear Fred B, Thank you for your kind words about the Reception staff, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance caused by our renovation. I understand how that can be frustrating, especially if you arrived early and spent the afternoon in your room. We are more than half way done... More 

Springfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because of it's location to the river events on the 4th of July. What we weren't told at check in or when we booked is that the hotel is doing some major renovation and neither the pool or fitness area would be available for use. Had we known this we would have booked a different hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Taylor S, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review

Dear Barbara M, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of the status of our pool and fitness center. I can imagine how frustrating it would be to expect it to be open, and find out otherwise. The great news is that both brand new areas... More 

Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is great for leisure travelers as it's right by the river and the theaters. There are great places to eat and drink on both sides of the river easily accessible on foot (the stone arch bridge is great). The service was outstanding and breakfast was really good. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank moose4580
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Charley’s Grill
Charley’s Grill
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Price Range: $170 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay