We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

University Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant at check in and helpful for directions. It was nice to have easy off street parking. University Inn worked out perfectly for our trip to Varsity Theater.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Sarah M, Thank you for the review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our property and staff. Join us again soon for another Varsity Theater show...or any other adventure you find yourself drawn to in Minneapolis! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean and quiet. Service was very helpful. Really those are the two main thing right? Otherwise this is not luxury accommodations but very well maintained. No complaints and will definitely be staying here again. Close to campus about 4 blocks easy walk.

Helpful?
Thank cubsholycow
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

cubsholycow, Thank you for the review! Glad to hear that the University Inn checked off your two main components to a successful hotel visit. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator More 

Washngton, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The University Inn is a great small hotel (~50 rooms). It is not a resort or a luxury 500 room "megapalace". However, is excellent in its niche. Some of the nice features. Great location. An easy walk to the University of Minnesota and local restaurants. The walks are a great time for nostalgia or gratitude that you no longer live... More 

Helpful?
Thank clrWashngton_DC
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you clrWashngton_DC for the kind words and thorough review. Your feedback really helps us to assess how we are doing on a daily basis. I think you exemplified some of the University Inn's greatest features - we love offering free parking, because as you noted, it can get rather expensive when charged on a daily basis at other... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't look like much when we drove up but it's been renovated to a modern and comfortable state. The staff was great and very friendly! It's within walking distance to good local restaurants. We were there after the main school year was out so we didn't deal with hoards of students. I read one review that out this place down... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amira F
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Amira F, I am so happy that we had the opportunity to "pleasantly surprise" you during your time with us! What a compliment. We truly appreciate your comments, specifically that you enjoyed our recent renovations and the condition of the hotel, along with the hard work that our staff puts out daily - we are here to ensure that your... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff has been so friendly, the room is super clean(not even a spec of dust on the lamp shades), and having a kitchenette is great. This is just a little hotel nothing fancy, but they make you feel like family. Great FREE coffee/espresso/lattes in the lobby. Stayed here for medical appt and was able to get a medical rate.

Helpful?
Thank wilsongarrett
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

wilsongarrett, I will make sure that all of the staff at the University Inn get a chance to see how their hard work effects each guest experience! I am so pleased that the room was "super clean" and that the staff made you "feel like family" - there really is no greater compliment. We look forward to seeing you again!... More 

Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at this hotel and loved it. It has a modern interior and the rooms are really well decorated. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great location near the University and several restaurants with in walking distance. We would stay there again if in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank patwhite99
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

We love hearing your feedback patwhite99! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room and the new modern decor. We have been updating our hotel over the last year, and hearing that our guests enjoy the end result makes it all worthwhile. Make sure... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This "Inn" is definitely for University of Minnesota visitors. The location is great for a campus visit and poor for any other reason. Contrary to other reviews, my opinion is that it is very noisy. You are right next to I-35 and a parking lot that has the brightest lights in the world!! The rooms have primitive A/C units that... More 

Helpful?
Thank embdmb
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

embdmb, While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the layout and size of your room, I regret to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience at the University Inn, and that you found your room to be too bright in the evening. We do acknowledge that our parking lot lights are rather bright, however, this is... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Great location, not noisy at all considering proximity to freeway. Clean, comfortable, great coffee. WiFi was a bit spotty. We had a kitchen, which I did not expect. Right on UM campus. Plenty of snack slections.

Helpful?
Thank Connie B
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Connie B, We always love having the opportunity to exceed expectations! Thank you for the sincere review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Cooridnator More 

Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Clean, comfortable and safe. Remarkably quiet for the amount of traffic that goes by. Location is ideal - close to campus and heart of city. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Workout room and laundry facilities on site. Loved everything about it and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Helpful?
Thank mscroz69
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

mscroz69, Thank you for sharing your thoughts - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will ensure that your kind words are passed on to all of our staff. We can't wait to see you again during your next visit to Minneapolis! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a hotel, an oasis in the midst of the hustle bustle of a busy metropolitan area. A walk through "Dinky Town" was most palatable, with a wide variety of cuisine and an interesting sampling of people. My brief, but memorable stay was pleasantly overlaid with a feeling of personal safely, an... More 

Helpful?
Thank John F
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

John F, Thank you for your generous feedback! We hope to create a home-base to our travelers during their time in Minneapolis, so we are happy to hear that you found us to be "an oasis in the midst of the hustle bustle" of the city - what a compliment! Safety is also a very important element of our property.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#30 of 44 in Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 925 4th Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Price Range: $147 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay