We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moulin Rouge House B&B

Save
Share
811 S 2nd St, Mankato, MN 56001
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$155
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 12/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Moulin Rouge House B&B
Updated 12/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 in Mankato
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.4
Value
5.0
Moulin Rouge House is located Downtown Mankato in the Historic Lincoln Park Neighborhood. It is on the National Registry of Historic Places and was recently renovated in its entirety. The home's convenient location allows guests to walk to restaurants, coffee shops, bars and the Convention Center. Private parking is provided free to guests. Each of the 3 guest rooms has a new private bathroom, air conditioning, Smart TV with Cable, High Speed Internet, DreamCloud Mattress, Bamboo Sheets and a Google Nest Speaker. Guests enjoy the ambience of the historic home with the comfort of modern amenities. The Innkeepers, Chris and Kristin have worked in tourism for over 20 years and make your experience even more enjoyable by providing excellent hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
13Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AnneA123177 wrote a review May 15
Seattle, Washington8 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the entire Moulin Rouge when we gathered to celebrate our nephew's graduation. This beautify restored B&B provided the perfect amount of comfortable sleeping space for our multi-generational family (6 total) and we enjoyed the wonderful common areas; our mornings on the side porch and evenings in the parlor. What really made the stay exceptional were the innkeepers, Kristin and Chris. They were incredibly welcoming, organized, friendly, and accommodating. We highly recommend ordering the weekend breakfast! We have stayed in many B&Bs and this has been our best stay by far.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Nancy K wrote a review Mar 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota7 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed for one night in the "World's Fair Room" when I was in Mankato for a conference. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Since I was the first guest to arrive, I got to see the other rooms. All the furniture and decorating was done with good taste and love. I got to hear the story of how this lovely house was rescued from near ruin and restored to the jewel it is today. Sadly, I had to miss breakfast because of my conference schedule. But I was given a lovely early breakfast with home baked specialty breads, and a parfait of fresh berries and yogurt. Absolutely perfect. Staying here added much to my trip, and I would gladly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
MrsAngie2u wrote a review Mar 2022
Cloquet, Minnesota22 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent our anniversary in the Moulin Rouge suite. The room was spectacular, comfortable and clean. The bed was so comfortable that we came home and ordered the same mattress for our master bedroom! The inn keepers were very friendly and made our stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Stacy B wrote a review Dec 2021
Algona, Iowa8 contributions
+1
Christmas with the kids We booked the entire home to bring our adult children for the weekend to celebrate Christmas and take in the ambience of this beautiful, warm and inviting home. Kristin was so wonderful to work with and organized and planned everything to the finest detail. Our children were taking pictures and snapping their friends with photos and excitement! We couldn’t ask for a better experience, the food was amazing, the beds are so comfortable and it is a beautiful cozy environment! They went above and beyond our expectations I would recommend this place to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
MaryAnn W wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My friend and I met in Mankato for chance to catch up on our long friendship. We stayed in Candy's Attic in the Laven House and loved it. It is so cozy, comfortable and has all the amenities you could want. It was a perfect location for us,we went for many walks in the great Lincoln Park area. We walked over to the Moulin Rouge house one morning and had the most amazing breakfast (and great coffee). We will definitely stay there again and can't wait to do so. I recommend it highly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay in Candy’s Attic. We are happy you enjoyed the historic neighborhood, comfortable accommodations and time to catch up with a friend. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
MLundeen wrote a review Oct 2021
Cambridge, Minnesota139 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed at the Laven house this past weekend when we were in the area for a wedding. We stayed in the attic and it was adorable. The bed was super comfortable, the tub is lovely and I enjoyed sitting and reading looking out the cute little front windows. Breakfast is not included with that stay but we did pay extra to go and have breakfast over at the Moulin Rouge House, and I am so glad we did. We had a four course breakfast and it was so yummy! If we are ever in the area again we will definitely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Thank you for the 5-Star review of your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed the comfort of Candy's Attic and joined us for breakfast. We look forward to having you stay again soon. - Kristin & Chris
Read more
Kelly Simmons wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The space was gorgeous and comfortable. That would have been enough, yet Kristin and Chris went out of their way to provide above and beyond service. The food available for breakfast was fresh and homemade and super convenient for my morning plans. They repeatedly checked in to ensure I had everything I needed. Lovely alternative to a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Oct 3, 2021
Thank you for the compliments about your recent stay at Moulin Rouge House B&B. We care about providing excellent service to our guests, so we are glad you had a great experience. We look forward having you stay with us again soon. - Kristin and Chris
Read more
Bruce M wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
The owners have done a first-rate remodel. Five stars for the building and its furnishing. Here's what we missed but have experienced at every other similar Victorian era remodel with similar pricing: * a terrific breakfast. In the morning we found a note saying help yourself to cereal, fruit, juice and coffee or tea. The terrific breakfast is offered only on weekends. That being so, midweek guests should be getting about $25 off. * offer of 'wine and cheese'/beverage and snack in the late afternoon/early evening. Now we would not have taken the offer this time, but missed the invitation. It is possible it was offered 4-6 pm, but we arrived at 6:30. At one great similar B&B there's a carafe of a liquor available all the time, as of Victorian times in a grand house. * human contact. We met no other human being at any point. No other guests. No innkeeper. Obviously the owners do not live here. No one lives here. Probably it's not economic for them to hire a person to cook a great breakfast every morning, perhaps for only one person/couple and to be on hand more than 2 hours a day to receive guests. I sympathize with their great expense in remodeling the building. But our experience was disappointing, for the reasons I described.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Oct 2, 2021
We care about our guest experience. We communicate on our web site and during the reservation process that we offer Continental Breakfast mid-week and a 4-course breakfast on Fri, Sat and Sun mornings. Our room rates reflect a discounted Mid-week room rate of $130-$190, which is similar to hotel rates in the area. The advantage for guests staying at Moulin Rouge House is that they can enjoy the beautiful restored Victorian home, more privacy, nice amenities and continental breakfast. Our weekend rates are $170-$230 and include a freshly prepared 4-course breakfast. The innkeepers greet each guest personally upon arrival, walk through the home and suggest restaurants and things to do. They are always available to accommodate guest requests.
Read more
kbayle wrote a review Sep 2021
Fairfax, California2 contributions
Beautiful home, amazing hospitality, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast. Restaurants within walking distance. If you are a mountain biker, there is a fabulous local trail by the Kiwanis (near a dog park) with lots of fun features.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Oct 2, 2021
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Moulin Rouge House B&B. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our hospitality, comfortable accommodation and breakfast. We hope you can stay with us again soon.
Read more
Adam O wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
Chris & Kristin were excellent hosts. Breakfast was perfect. Delicious coffee. Gorgeous house. My room was immaculate. I loved the mattress and blinds. The shower was deluxe. I felt completely comfortable. The neighborhood is lovely too. I loved the ambiance and history of the house as well. Chris & Kristin are truly delightful hosts; they are communicative, friendly, conversational, warm, and welcoming. I highly recommend this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: I loved the World's Fair room. The bed is big and comfy and the bathroom is superb.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin Fisher, Owner at Moulin Rouge House B&B
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Thank you for the compliments on your perfect weekend at Moulin Rouge House B&B! We are happy you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations and found the history of the home interesting. We were happy to be your hosts! Thank you again for sharing your positive experience.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$161 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaMankato
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moulin Rouge House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Nearby attractions include Kato Escape (0.2 miles), Betsy & Tacy's House Tours & Gift Shop (0.3 miles), and Blue Earth County Historical Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pagliai's Pizza, Pub 500, and Nolabelle Kitchen + Bar.
Does Moulin Rouge House B&B have airport transportation?
Yes, Moulin Rouge House B&B offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Moulin Rouge House B&B located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Mankato.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moulin Rouge House B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Moulin Rouge House B&B?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Blue Earth County Courthouse (0.4 miles).
Does Moulin Rouge House B&B have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.