We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manhattan Beach Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manhattan Beach
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Manhattan Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Manhattan Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed only one night, hubby, myself and our small dog. Beautiful Mini King Suite with breathtaking views of the lake. Room was really nice, bed super comfortable with nice linens. The hotel is smaller, but we loved it. Went to the bar for a glass of wine, it was happy hour, two for one! Can't beat that. The Bartender...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Manhattan Beach Lodge and hope that you return to visit again soon.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We just stayed there two nights over Labor Day Weekend. While the location is great, and staff very friendly, the bed, pillows, and shower water pressure resembled those found at a budget chain motel. This place is definitely over-priced for what you get. I would look for a different place the next time I visit the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill K
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Manhattan Beach Lodge is a Historic Lodge that was built in 1929. We are celebrating our 85th Anniversary this year. We try to make upgrades each year to our rooms and we can. We are proud that we are the only property on the Whitefish Chain of Lakes that rents...

Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My friends and I stayed at the Manhattan Beach Lodge on a Sunday and Monday. When we arrived we got checked in. A new person was being trained in but the process was still smooth, quick and easy. I also liked that with our room we got an actual Key, not the electronic kind. We stayed in the Family Suite,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crazy4Casinos
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a thoughtful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Annandale, Minnesota
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed one night at the Lodge. Nice rustic feel to the lodge, however, bed was very uncomfortable, bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned, and shower water pressure very low. Landscaping full of weeds and overall rundown looking. Room price very expense for what you get compared to others at that price. I would not recommend staying here. KAM

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KA M
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of the experience you had with us while staying at Manhattan Beach Lodge. We have passed on your review to our Housekeeping Department as well as our Maintenance Department. Manhattan Beach Lodge is a Historic Lodge that was originally built in 1929. We are proud to have celebrated our 85th year. We are the only...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

80 year old hotel with restaurant and bar inside and outside on a patio looking at the beach in trout lake, one of many in that area of minnesota. Food is fine dining and good. My only disappointment was the bed. It was like a bed in a cheap motel but the pillows were nice. I will go back ad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I bid on a 2-night stay in the luxury suite at a silent auction and I am certainly glad I did not pay face value for it. I originally booked my reservation for Friday, May 30th - Sunday, June 1st. A week before the trip I was getting everything in order and while I was reviewing my confirmation email, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B_and_BHeld
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your past stay. By doing so you are helping us improve in areas that we may not know about there being any issues. We have spoken with both members of our staff that you had encountered during your stay to inform them of the importance of customer service so...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was brutal. Waited for 2 and a half hours. They had to box our cold, disgusting food to go because we were so tired of waiting. Food was not edible at all. Manager never came to our table to apologize. Waitress was so nice though and was the only positive thing at this restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ndbrit06
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed April 21, 2014

When we arrived, no one was there to check us in. Took about 7mins and before someone actually approached me. I asked about the sauna and hot tub and she told me where they were. A few mins later she called to tell me that it was broken and I would have to use their sister property's pool and hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pangmeexiong
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your past stay with us, and to bring the issues you encountered to my attention. Manhattan Beach Lodge is a Historic Lodge built in 1929. The principal goal of our historic lodge is to provide dependable service to all of our guests. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn of the...

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food is great and reasonable prices. Room are less than I would expect at their prices (although I stayed using a Groupon). Bed was horrible. Carpets dirty. DirectTv but only a very small flat screen to watch. Upon check in, nobody at front desk. I had to find somebody in the bar area who had to find somebody to assist....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsplombon
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this guest review. Manhattan Beach Lodge is a historic lodge on Big Trout Lake of the Whitefish Chain of Lakes and was built in 1929. The principal goal of our lodge is to provide dependable service to all of our guests. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn of the issues you experienced...

Wood Lake, MN
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed one night while in the area for a wedding, so we didn't use the dining room or any of the resort amenities, but I wish I'd had time to try out the free snowshoes! Our room overlooked the lake, and the view was so lovely and relaxing. The area is heavily wooded with many pine trees. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dolly3261
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Manhattan Beach Lodge and hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
3.4 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
3.4 mi away
Pine Peaks Lodge and Suites
15.3 mi away
Good Ol' Days Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Boyd Lodge
Boyd Lodge
#2 of 4 in Crosslake
21 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Let the natural beauty of the woods and waters take you back to a quiet and restful place. At Manhattan Beach Lodge, nature will surround you inside and out. Relax in our locally crafted pine furniture and enjoy great sunsets and fireside dining in our full service restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Lodge

Address: 39051 County Road 66, Manhattan Beach, MN 56442-2102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $81 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Manhattan Beach Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Mora, Minnesota
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manhattan Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a deck. We were at the far end from the bar and restaurant. Quieter!”
Val715, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the lake.”
camaas, Feb 19, 2015 | Read review
“Some of The main floor rooms have patios...”
MB832, Oct 22, 2014 | Read review
“Perhaps we were in "older" rooms because of Groupon but if staying, ask for first floor (no elevator)-however being under another room I think you might have noise from above. Crap shoot either way.”
jsplombon, Mar 2, 2014 | Read review
“There is no elevator in this lodge. We chose the second floor so we wouldn't hear people walking above and noise from people and music outside.”
beckyd673, Jun 17, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question