We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Save
Share
5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (15)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Lutsen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in a private cove on the beautiful North Shore of Lake Superior, Lutsen Resort awaits you with historic charm, modern comforts and a classic resort experience. From romantic getaways and weddings to family vacations and girlfriend getaways, Lutsen Resort is the perfect place to savor Minnesota’s North Shore.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Game room
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Massage
Neck massage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
423Reviews14Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 226
  • 94
  • 47
  • 28
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kathryn B wrote a review Oct 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in the Cliff townhomes for a week this October. The pros: Lutsen resort has a beautiful property and the townhomes are in a great location where we were able to hear the waves from our rooms. The restaurant food is expensive but we found most of the food to be excellent and Rob our waiter gave us excellent service! Here are the cons: Our townhome was extremely dirty upon our arrival. I understand they are short staffed due to Covid, however, the ceiling fans in two of the bedrooms had so much dust on them they looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in a year. Two of the bathroom floors were extremely dirty and definitely hadn’t been washed in a few weeks. My daughter and I had to wash them on our hands and knees with paper towel because despite my request for some cleaning supplies all we got was a broom after our fifth day of requesting them. We bought a swifter duster ourselves and dusted the ceiling fans. The living room floor was also very dirty so again, we washed it with paper towel on our hands and knees. The second weekend we were there, a large group of young adults moved in as part of a wedding group. There were two big weddings there both Friday and Saturday night. Friday night they partied on the beach right below us until 1:30 with loud screaming and yelling. I had my windows closed but could still hear them. I texted the front desk and they did get them to leave but proceeded to gather in the parking lot until 2 am. The second night they had an after party in the townhome next to us where they proceeded to smoke marijuana on the deck so we had to close our deck door due to the smell. The noise was again very loud on the beach next door with people constantly pounding on their door to get in for the party. They were also in the parking lot screaming the f word and yelling to each other to shut the f up which we could hear from our townhome. They don’t seem to be short staffed when it comes to hosting large weddings at their resort every Friday and Saturday night but there was no monitoring of the guests and also no accommodating non wedding guests. Just know what you are getting when you book. The weekdays are very peaceful and relaxing but as long as they are having weddings there on weekends with no monitoring of the noise and partying after 11 pm it might not be the resort for you. Overall we enjoyed our stay except for the Friday and Saturday issues.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
115Pete_F wrote a review Oct 9
Maplewood, Minnesota214 contributions111 helpful votes
+1
Where do I start? We entered the room with very dark stained walls unlike the light knotty pine shown on their website. One wall was actually painted black. Room was a little stuffy, so we opened the windows only to find one of the windows lacking a screen. Overhead light was obtrusive compared to the lamps on the sides of the bed which were very low wattage . I'm reminded of the movie '7' which had a very low lighting budget. I almost expected to find a dead body in the shadows. (See picture.) There were no wall decorations or a headboard on the bed which were also depicted on the website. Their was only one chair in the room so one person was relegated to sitting on the bed. Also there was no table or clock in the room. There was a space for a refrigerator but this space was used to store the window fan. There was a Nespresso machine in the room but no where to get a plain cup of coffee. The bed came with a fur covered pillow and some kind of fur thing across the bottom of the bed. I wondered how often they cleaned it. The bathroom sink handles turned the wrong way. The exhaust fan does not work and the bathtub drain was so slow there is no way to clean the tub. If two people are taking turns showering, the second person will undoubtedly be left to standing in ankle deep water of the first persons dirt. This was reported to the front desk but was not fixed during our stay. On the third night, we had a fly in the room. By morning we had three flies in the room. They provided our wake up call buzzing around our heads as soon as it became brighter outside. I don't know where they came from as we kept our screenless window closed. The room was relatively quiet from the inside but you could hear people in the hallway. With the window open, you would easily hear cars and trucks moving from the parking lots. All this for $320 a night for a king bed with lake view with mid week rates and senior discount. This includes a resort fee of $35 each night! My invoice indicated that this was a 'selected option' but I was told it was mandatory. Resort fees are just a scam. Currently, hotel resort fees can be viewed as illegal based on existing state consumer protection laws. If I can't waive the fee because I don't plan to use resort facilities other then my room, then why aren't they included in the room rate? The room amenities shown on the website include (believe it or not) bathroom amenities, bathtub/shower, and toilet, all listed as separate amenities. Luckily there is no fee for these amenities. Also, there is no housekeeping unless requested and the restaurant is not open for breakfast so you need to find breakfast off site. A broom in the room could be useful since the floors are uncarpeted and it's easy to carry sand or dirt from your shoes in to the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Maybe rooms in the back would be quieter but would lack lake views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kim D wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My 81 year old mom requested to come to the North Shore as she hasn’t been here before. We chose Lutsen Resort as my husband and I brought our children here and I remembered it as a beautiful resort with a trout stream running through it. My dad was an avid trout fisherman and I thought my mom would love the setting as it would bring back some memories of dad. We were notified that our room would be available after 4 pm. However, when we arrived just before 5, it still wasn’t ready. We were able to at least go to the restaurant. But, the menu did not offer food that an 81 year old would or could eat, and the prices were outrageous. We left and asked if there was somewhere else to go. We were told we would have to drive to get something to eat (we drove most of the day and mom was tired) This was the first and second disappointment with this resort. No room and lack of regular food in the restaurant When we were finally able to get into the condo room, it was sorry. A dirty towel, shoes socks, and a pile of sand were on the deck. The tub had hairs in it and the edges around the tub were quite dusty and dirty. The toilet bowl had scum in it and did not look like it was cleaned at all. The sink had dead bugs. I tried calling the front desk but no answer. I called and left a message, no response, I called the next morning, and was told the manager would contact me. They never did the entire stay. I had to track down the manager and this person was rude and dismissive towards my complaints. My mom wanted clean towels, we had to get them from housekeeping while they were cleaning another room. I asked about room cleaning on a regular basis and was told they do not do that due to Covid. And, staff does not empty garbage either. That is up to guests. So for the amount that guests pay for rooms is only for the view. Guests do not matter with this resort. And, guests are required to pay a resort fee that consist of no activities, just a pool. The game room for kids is smelly, dark, and outdated, The grounds need refreshing. The lodge needs paint and upkeep. The steps and path to the beach are not easy to navigate for elderly people. As for Covid as an excuse, don’t believe it. While we were there the resort hosted several large groups and weddings. The restaurant had large groups seated at one table and no masks. The management and owners are only concerned with their bottom line and not about guests. Take your business elsewhere. Stay at a resort that values guests and treats them with respect. This resort is not what it used to be. It is outdated, run down, rooms are not maintained, and management lacks good communication skills along with being discourteous to guests. One other thing. After returning from a day of sightseeing, my mom was tired. We tried to get into the condo but both of our keys were not working. I had to drive to the lodge for new keys. This happened the day after I complained to the manager. Quite coincidental this happened the next day. After this issue, mum mom refused to even go to the lodge. She was so disappointed with her stay at this resort as was I. Again, you will be happier staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from North Shore Resort Company, Marketing at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Irregardless of your stay, we hope you enjoyed the North Shore.
Read more
TravelAlotNYC wrote a review Aug 2021
New York16 contributions14 helpful votes
We recently stayed at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior for a wedding. Given its unique location in the North Shore of Minnesota and its history, the lodge is charming. We were booked in a Lakeside View King room in the main Lodge. Yet during our stay, I noticed a number of issues and many of the wedding guests also mentioned problems as well. Here are the positive aspects and improvement areas that I encountered. Positive Aspects 1. The Lodge has instituted a text message system to interact with guests. Before arrival, we were told that due to staff shortage, rooms would not be ready until 4p. I was able to text back our arrival time, and the room was ready by the time of check-in. Through the stay, I noticed that Tony who is one of two people at the front desk was the one responding most of the time to requests. She was very responsive. 2. The restaurant in the Lodge was very good. It had an expansive and interesting wine list, with the wines displayed cleverly from a see-through room in the middle of the dining room. The food was delicious and there was good service. Edward and Seth who seem to be running the place were welcoming and efficient. 3. The activities team consisting of Ben and Eric, who are new this year, were engaged and knowledgeable. We did a sea kayaking and a nature tour. Both activities were fun and enjoyable. Improvement areas 1. The owners have not made upgrades to the facilities. Our small room (approx. ~ 200 sq ft) was dark with one overhead fluorescent light and one window. The plastic screen did not keep out bugs, and the small fan was the only source of cooling. The room did not look like the pictures on the website. There was also no access to any of the seven Wifi servers in the lodge even though the room was directly above the lobby. The landline phone did not work so it was impossible to communicate with other guests. The plastic bathroom fixtures let out a high-pitched squeak when the hot water was running in the bath and leaked water in the toilet. This was not good value for money. 2. The owners are unable to hire and retain staff. The restaurant is closed for breakfast and lunch because there is not enough servers, but there is also no mini-refrigerator in the rooms to keep milk or other items. The number of outdoor activities is fewer than previous years since there are fewer staff. The rooms cannot be serviced during the entire stay because there is not enough housekeeping staff. It seems the owners are either unwilling to pay a higher wage to attract more staff, or are poor managers as many staff have left in the past few months as well. 3. The owners have not established a culture of service to customers. When we informed the Front Desk manager the problems with the Wifi and phone, we were met with apathy and indifference. Neither problem was fixed, and it seemed other guests had complained about these problems before. At the end of the stay, I requested a refund on my “Resort Fee” to acknowledge the problems with the Wifi and phone. Usually a high-service resort would honor this request and apologize for the inconvenience. In our case it would have been a refund of $80 out of a total bill of ~$1400 for a 4-night stay. I made the request two times without a response. On the third request, I received the following comment by text likely from the owner: “It was never suggested that there was going to be a refund however I will look into it”. The tone of the text message is not service-oriented. The Lodge is charging premium prices for the rooms, but it seems that the owners are not using the funds to satisfy guests or to keep the remaining staff from getting over- stretched and overworked. I would suggest looking at other places until the owners learn how to better serve customers and can fix their issues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
brimacjo wrote a review Aug 2021
Saint Paul, Minnesota2 contributions5 helpful votes
If you think that spending $700 a night guarantees some minimum standard of safety, comfort, condition or cleanliness think again. We arrived at 6.30 pm having been indicated that room was to be ready by 5.00pm. No call was received to suggest that arrival time would be delayed but room still being cleaned. Also there was no gesture such as bottle of wine or fruit as service recoveryUpon admittance we stated to boil water for tea but encrusted fat and food on burner started smoke setting off alarm. This could only be stopped by disconnecting. Dishwasher did not work despite management being aware of problem. Microwave oven worked intermittently. Remediation was having staff come to hand wash dishes and replace stove drip pans, which was done promptly. Serial number indicated mfg date was 1980. Oven of same vintage had two temperatures on and hot or off, perhaps suggesting calibration was not done properly. Screen door did not close properly thereby admitting flies. Shower door off track and leaked water. I am 5’8” and when in shower I looked directly at head. Stooping was necessary to shower. Curtains in bedroom badly brown stained perhaps to water damage. Not that it mattered as curtain rod broken so curtain could only be partially closed. All furniture, stairs, baseboards etc marred or chipped, upholstery stained and grimy. Carpet old and stained. We were in unit A1 which was managed by Lutsen but owned separately. It is clear however that Lutsen does not set standards at least insist that owners adhere to them. We skied at Lutsen in the 70s and 80s when it was in good condition. They apparently are not spending minimal amounts to maintain their brand or do not have needed minimum standards / quality inspections for owners to meet. Renters should then be told the unit does not meet minimum standards so they know that when renting. For similar properties we paid less, had better views and configurations /layouts, had a washer and dryer, and better appliances.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lutsen resort on lake superior hotel lutsen
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaLutsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Which popular attractions are close to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Nearby attractions include Oberg Mountain Loop (3.5 miles), Lutsen Mountains Ski & Summer Resort (1.9 miles), and Lutsen Lutheran Church (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lockport Marketplace and Deli, Fika Coffee, and Papa Charlie's Tavern & Stage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.