We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Hotel website
5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Special Offer
Lutsen Resort Romance Pac
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 351: English reviews
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Lutsen Sea Villas are awesome. We've been going there about once a year for about 10 years. We've been there for our 10th anniversary, 40 and 45th birthdays, we've done thanksgiving up there, and many other special occasions. We do most of our own cooking there, which we enjoy. If you want fancy, this is not for you. That... More 

Helpful?
Thank labounty1
DC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I am sitting in my humid, 80-degree Lutsen's room right now with the windows open, listening to the roar of traffic on the nearby highway, praying for a breeze to give some relief. There is no air conditioning here - a detail that they failed to mention when I booked this overpriced dump for $220/night. I will never return.

Helpful?
Thank Slooey
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for an overly warm night. We experienced several days of abnormally warm weather during your stay. Our location on the shore of Lake Superior has provided a cooling effect for many decades that has traditionally made air conditioning unnecessary for the resort. Again, I apologize that you were uncomfortable in your room. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Sea Villas: G1, View and location get a 4 due to being an end unit and lake view. The condo gets a 2 at best. Dark, dingy, dirty and smelled like wet dog. Poorly maintained. Don't think this place has been really cleaned in a long time. Needs a DEEP cleaning, including carpet and furniture cleaning. Stayed in July, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler072016
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the location and found the view of the Lake to be pleasing. That is certainly one of the aspects of those units that our guests seek. As soon as I received your comments I asked our quality control manager to examine the unit and she will... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Sea Villas. They are a couple of miles from the resort. It was very relaxing. The resort has a nice variety of all inclusive activities, we did the kayaking which was so fun! You don't have to worry about the chilly waters of Lake Superior, we went to Lake Cribo which was amazing, The kids loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This resort has a lot of good things going for it. The location is great -- right on the lake, with a good, long beach which is great for bonfires. There are a lot of activities on site. There are a lot of activities nearby. They have a fine indoor pool. I did not try it, but I heard from... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCllano
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful Lutsen resort on Lake Superior. Highlights include lake shore access- swimming, skipping rocks,relaxing listening to the crashing waves, smores (although small charge for the chocolate/Graham crackers), pub restaurant- good food and drink selection plus AC, friendly staff. Cons- no AC in the Poplar Condos, bugs by the water (not the resorts fault) and no fitness center. Overall great trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marathontravel
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I and our 10 yr old son stayed in the main cabin. The location is nice and the view of Superior is spectacular. We enjoyed some of the amenities, including sea kayaking. And were able to enjoy the pool and beach grounds. The main cabin does have an old northern cabin feel. However, with that, the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank tvk73
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful old North Shore lodge built in the 1880's. The rooms are small which is expected in an older lodge like this but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were fine. Everything was very clean. The location is incredible. The lodge is right on the shore. The lodge also has an activities desk with information on... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbg74
Elk Grove Village IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely spot for a tranquil vacation. The villas are a great spot for couples or adults. It's 3 miles from the lodge, thus far away from the hustle at the lodge. Very quiet and we stayed with 2 dogs. Other people had their dogs as well, but there was no barking or noise. All you hear is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan6521
Carver, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were with a group of people. Some of us were in the condos, some of us were in the lodge. My husband and I had an economy room, not facing Lake Superior. We were pleased with the room overall. Clean and very comfortable. Rustic yet not too much. We really enjoyed the live bluegrass music on Saturday night down... More 

Helpful?
Thank myvacationl4088
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (152)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
7.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
19.4 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Price Range: $138 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay